We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bristol Hotel Salzburg to your Saves list
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We recently spent 5 nights in Salzburg, 3 of which we spent at the Bristol Hotel. We should have spent all 5 nights there as it is perfectly located, very charming, clean, and provided a lovely breakfast each morning. The staff was friendly and helpful. If we are fortunate enough to return to Salzburg some day we will for certain stay at the Bristol, an elegant hotel in the most charming city!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room at the front of the hotel overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    80
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
80
233
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We absolutely loved this hotel. For any reviewers who felt this hotel was "old," you are certainly entitled to your opinion. However, ummmmm, the hotel IS old because it's an historic property and nieither tired nor worn. in fact, we found the room design to be impressively modern but without sacrificing the elegance of this once former palace. The view from our room's window was worth the price of our hotel and more. The included breakfasts in the grand dining room were also a special part of the fabulous experience and we loved having late night drinks in the bar.

We also found the front desk to be warm and helpful. We loved that they allowed a relative of ours to park his car in front while waiting for us to come down from our room. It rained while we were visiting and thought it great that they had umbrellas for guest use at the front door.

Salzburg is magical and the Bristol was the perfect hotel to enhance the experience.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a view and wow, did we get one!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is great, very friendly staff, advised us for good tours and booked everything for us, the breakfast is great. The location of the hotel makes the stay in salzburg cosy, most of the attractions are walking distance. I felt that this hotel makes the vacation in salzburg very special.
Thanks and regards

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was truly a five star old world hotel that prides itself on being “different” then most other hotels. The service was impeccable and the staff is well trained to “take care” of its guests. Our rooms were designed with a “twist” and we were impressed with every aspect of the hotel, including the phenomenal breakfast which was included.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in late May 2014 for vacation. The location is central within walking distance to a lot of attractions. The old town is within 5 minutes walking (it is a part of the old town itself). Mirabell is right behind the hotel, The Salzburg State Theater is right next door.

The hotel building was old but I would expect the room would not be too old. Apparently the room need renovation. Breakfast is very good with a variety of food. Staff is kind and acceptable.

Good stay considering the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Bristol Hotel is well located and within walking distance of most destinations of interest. The Hotel itself is a bit old, and is suffering from an over-abundance of mirrors. In the breakfast room, in the hall, on the ceiling and most disconcerting, in the bathroom. The staff were helpful, aside from the porter who advised us to park our car across the street where we of course got a parking fine overnight. When questioned on it, he replied that a parking fine was cheaper than valet parking... WHAT?
The breakfasts are very good and staff attentive. Overall, ok, but for the price, they could do with updating the decor somewhat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have no negatives about this hotel. Room was spotless - staff very attentive - restaurant food great - wine list superb and the lobby bar very cozy. Great location also and we would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, seekda GmbH, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.