We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bristol Hotel Salzburg to your Saves list
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“great hotel, very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

A classic and charming hotel,
centrally located within walking distance to the castle,
restaurants and all the other famous attractions in Salzburg.

We had a nice & charming room with all the expected amenities as well as a great view.
The staff is very friendly and professional.

I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    76
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
76
221
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Small family (2adults + 7 y/o) - stayed 3 nights - triple room - Christmas 2013

Huge room with plenty of storage space & room to move around
Beautiful view of the Castle & Church
Excellent Wifi coverage anywhere in the Hotel
Large buffet style breakfast
Helpful & friendly staff

Fantastic location - everything is within walking distance

A Christmas splurge for us but wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 night break at the Bristol and we have to say it was exemplary in every way. Old fashioned in the best possible way in that it was very evocative of Salzburg at the turn of the century. The rooms are good ( we had a superior room) and we had a great view over the city to the Fortress and the Unterbergen mountain. The bathrooms are spacious and modern.

We loved the bar area- so comfortable and relaxed and everything served so immaculately. Happy hour made our aperitifs very good value!

The breakfasts were superb- everything you could want including a glass of Sekt if you fancy one! I recommend ordering the cooked breakfast- lovely ham and eggs- although the cooked stuff already out was more than adequate.

The staff are so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The city is lovely but it was worth venturing on the very efficient bus/tram to the cable car to ascend the Unterbergen Mt for amazing views.
The hotel is perfectly situated in the new town opposite Mozart's house and next to the Gardens and 5 minutes from the river and the Old Town. Even better it's very close to our favourite restaurant, Zum Fidelen Affen! Fantastic!

All in all a special hotel especially if you can get one of their deals.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

One night here to see a little of Salzburg. The hotel is well located and oozes old fashioned service and charm as only an independent hotel can. All the staff are attentive and pleasant and the bar is particularly relaxing. Our room was large and a little tired but clean and the old fashioned decor added to the charm. I liked everything about the place and the receptionist could give masterclasses in customer service. So much better than the most of the big brands and with free WiFi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights recently (Over New Year).
This is a really good old-fashioned hotel but don't let the phrase 'Old Fashioned' lead you to think that this is an old, crumbling establishment with drafty rooms and peeling paint - Quite the reverse!
Everything is of high quality, especially the bathrooms. The whole place is extremely well preserved and maintained with all the technological detail one would expect from any 5 Star property (Free WiFi as well!)

Front desk, concierge, bar/restaurant and housekeeping staff are all very well trained and polite - No complaints.
This hotel would have got 5 stars from me if it had not been for two factors which I believe could be rectified quite easily:

a) Our double bed was two singles locked together and the 'join' was most uncomfortable. Further to this, we were given two single quilts - I asked for a large double one and was told that the hotel didn't have any. This obviously makes me think that Austrians don't really like to cuddle-up when they sleep together!
This phenomenon is obviously not new to me in this part of the world but it's the first time I have been unable to get a bigger duvet.

b) The Hotel bar is called, 'Sketch' (It has lots of cartoons and sketches on the walls). It is a very comfortable area but is far too-brightly lit for any atmosphere at all and is not the place where one would spend too long at the end of an evening. It has a piano which was not used during our stay. In fact, we got back from a restaurant one evening at about 11.00pm and as usual decided to get a nigh cap in Sketch. So flat and quiet was the bar that we actually took the drinks to bed with us!

We really enjoyed our stay and will certainly return one day - Hopefully to a full size quilt and a buzzing bar!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great stay at The Bristol after Xmas. A family run grand hotel so you get the luxury without the snootiness. Friendly staff throughout. Stayed in a big beautiful superior room or suite. Much better than the Sacher or Sheraton.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is quite charming. The rooms are very spacious. The staff revived my faith that friendly people and amazing service could be found in Austria. My only complaint was that at night there tended to be a lot of noise outside that the wk does did little to block.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.