We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Dame” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bristol Hotel Salzburg to your Saves list
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
The World
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Grand Old Dame”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Yes, she is no longer young, she has a few wrinkles and some of her costume jewelry resembles plastic rhinestones (the breakfast room is truly awful in it's glitz trying for elegance). But if you just squint your eyes a bit, the Bristol is also a fun trip back in time, to, say, 1890 when she undoubtedly was a beautiful and curvaceous young thing. She features wonderful high ceilings throughout, big old-fashioned twin double doors on the rooms with real keys rather than key cards, and a magnificent exterior facade that says old money. Sure, maybe a 5-star hotel should be a bit "slicker," but our suite was about a third what we paid for similar space in Munich, and in a way, was more fun.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    80
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
81
237
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you want to immerse yourself in the whole Salzburg experience, you couldn't find a better hotel than the Bristol. The hotel is oozing in charm and character and the location is perfect. The room was cozy and well furnished with amazing views of the church, Mozart's home and the snow covered peaks in the distance. The staff were friendly and able to help with last minute tour bookings. The buffet breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room and offered pretty much everything you could need to set you up for a days sightseeing. Just two observations (not criticisms) 1) my partner and I are both gym enthusiasts and the hotel could benefit from an arrangement with a local gym as there were no facilities in the hotel (although you could say that a day waking around Salzburg is exercise enough) and 2) for those if you that want to sleep in, ask for a room away from the church as the bells start ringing from 7am (I, however, found it a perfect wake up call). I would definitely recommend the hotel Bristol to anyone visiting Salzburg.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have just come back from a 3 nights stay at the Bristol Hotel for my husband's birthday from 13th - 16th November. We arrived early and expected to leave our luggage with reception and then come back later and check in. However, our room was ready and the staff checked us in immediately, politely and efficiently. We were in room 485 which was on the top floor, had a beautiful balcony overlooking Mozart's house and Holy Trinity church. The balcony on our arrival had beautiful window boxes with red blooming flowers which were changed during our stay to gorgeous smelling pine garlands. Every member of staff we encountered was polite, efficient and knowledgeable. A special thanks goes to Frau Maier as she both checked us in and out and helped us daily with her outstanding local knowledge. Breakfast was a wonderful buffet of both hot and cold food. If I was being really really picky, the only thing I could say could improve things would be to have tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, and also maybe a tiny chocolate to be left on the pillow at turndown. Overall a fantastic staff and we cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham WA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I won't repeat the positive comments already described on this site about the location, the high level of service, and the comfort and attractiveness of the rooms. We share in their praise. This is a hotel a cut above.

We were at the hotel for 5 nights and enjoyed the stay in a junior suite on the 3rd floor which was quite large with a pleasant sitting area. The two large windows provided a view of the fort on the hill and a small park outside. The room was very quiet. We were not disturbed by noise inside the hotel at all. The bathroom was very large with 2 sinks. The bathrobes were large enough for us, two tall people, which is a rarity for most hotels. They were very comfortable. There was turndown service: not the cursory "leave a chocolate" level of effort, but a complete servicing of the room to restore it to like check-in condition.

The bar/lounge area was several rooms with various sitting arrangements. It was a very pleasant relaxing place, and the service was impeccable. Our only complaint with the hotel is the restaurant. We only went there once as we were put off by the quality of the food and wouldn't return. There are so many restaurants in the area that, it doesn't matter much about the hotel restaurant unless it was a very bad weather evening. Still for a hotel as perfect as this, it should have a perfect restaurant as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is an old hotel with a lot of charm and spotlessly clean. The front desk was very pleasant and helpful. It"s located away from the tourist area, but only a short walk away. There's a gorgeous, huge garden next to the hotel. The breakfast was included in the rate and was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent 1 night in Salzburg at the Bristol Hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and enthusiastically. It is a beautiful hotel with an awesome location, close to Old Salzburg. The check-in process went well and the concierge was very helpful in providing us with information for our quick stay in Salzburg. We asked her about the Sound of Music tour and she gave us information on different tours. Once we decided on which tour to take, she booked it for us immediately. We appreciated the help. The room was beautiful with a great view of Old Town Salzburg. We didn't dine that evening at the restaurant because the TA reviews weren't that great. We did, however, have a complimentary breakfast the next morning at the hotel. It was one of the best breakfasts we ate during our 2 week tour of Europe. Since we had to check out but were planning on visiting Salzburg for the entire day, the hotel attendant was kind enough to store all of our luggage and allow us to keep our car at the hotel for no extra charge. I loved the Bristol Hotel and will stay there again when I return to the beautiful city of Salzburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Bristol is one of the great traditional and elegant hotels - location, service, decor are all top class. We also heard only good reports about the restaurant from friends who live in Salzburg but on the evening we had dinner at the restaurant it was badly let down by my main courses, Tafelspitz, a very typical and traditional Viennese dish. The meat was hard and absolutely inedible. An alternative was of course offered (but I declined).
I'm sure this was a one-off but on this occassion the overall rating is 'very good' rather than 'excellent'.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have probably better views (and double windows keep the noise out from the Markat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, seekda GmbH, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.