We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute wonderful hotel with wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Save Saved
You added Bristol Hotel Salzburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An absolute wonderful hotel with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have just come back from a 3 nights stay at the Bristol Hotel for my husband's birthday from 13th - 16th November. We arrived early and expected to leave our luggage with reception and then come back later and check in. However, our room was ready and the staff checked us in immediately, politely and efficiently. We were in room 485 which was on the top floor, had a beautiful balcony overlooking Mozart's house and Holy Trinity church. The balcony on our arrival had beautiful window boxes with red blooming flowers which were changed during our stay to gorgeous smelling pine garlands. Every member of staff we encountered was polite, efficient and knowledgeable. A special thanks goes to Frau Maier as she both checked us in and out and helped us daily with her outstanding local knowledge. Breakfast was a wonderful buffet of both hot and cold food. If I was being really really picky, the only thing I could say could improve things would be to have tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, and also maybe a tiny chocolate to be left on the pillow at turndown. Overall a fantastic staff and we cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    69
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
71
208
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham WA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I won't repeat the positive comments already described on this site about the location, the high level of service, and the comfort and attractiveness of the rooms. We share in their praise. This is a hotel a cut above.

We were at the hotel for 5 nights and enjoyed the stay in a junior suite on the 3rd floor which was quite large with a pleasant sitting area. The two large windows provided a view of the fort on the hill and a small park outside. The room was very quiet. We were not disturbed by noise inside the hotel at all. The bathroom was very large with 2 sinks. The bathrobes were large enough for us, two tall people, which is a rarity for most hotels. They were very comfortable. There was turndown service: not the cursory "leave a chocolate" level of effort, but a complete servicing of the room to restore it to like check-in condition.

The bar/lounge area was several rooms with various sitting arrangements. It was a very pleasant relaxing place, and the service was impeccable. Our only complaint with the hotel is the restaurant. We only went there once as we were put off by the quality of the food and wouldn't return. There are so many restaurants in the area that, it doesn't matter much about the hotel restaurant unless it was a very bad weather evening. Still for a hotel as perfect as this, it should have a perfect restaurant as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is an old hotel with a lot of charm and spotlessly clean. The front desk was very pleasant and helpful. It"s located away from the tourist area, but only a short walk away. There's a gorgeous, huge garden next to the hotel. The breakfast was included in the rate and was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent 1 night in Salzburg at the Bristol Hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and enthusiastically. It is a beautiful hotel with an awesome location, close to Old Salzburg. The check-in process went well and the concierge was very helpful in providing us with information for our quick stay in Salzburg. We asked her about the Sound of Music tour and she gave us information on different tours. Once we decided on which tour to take, she booked it for us immediately. We appreciated the help. The room was beautiful with a great view of Old Town Salzburg. We didn't dine that evening at the restaurant because the TA reviews weren't that great. We did, however, have a complimentary breakfast the next morning at the hotel. It was one of the best breakfasts we ate during our 2 week tour of Europe. Since we had to check out but were planning on visiting Salzburg for the entire day, the hotel attendant was kind enough to store all of our luggage and allow us to keep our car at the hotel for no extra charge. I loved the Bristol Hotel and will stay there again when I return to the beautiful city of Salzburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Bristol is one of the great traditional and elegant hotels - location, service, decor are all top class. We also heard only good reports about the restaurant from friends who live in Salzburg but on the evening we had dinner at the restaurant it was badly let down by my main courses, Tafelspitz, a very typical and traditional Viennese dish. The meat was hard and absolutely inedible. An alternative was of course offered (but I declined).
I'm sure this was a one-off but on this occassion the overall rating is 'very good' rather than 'excellent'.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have probably better views (and double windows keep the noise out from the Markat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Bristol Hotel to celebrate my husband's 50th Birthday. Our room was on the third floor with a beautiful view over the city. The decor of the room and the furniture was of a very high standard. Breakfast was lovely with a wide range of food and drink available. We had dinner in the hotel on a couple of occasions - the restaurant was highly impressive and the food marvellous. The service from all the hotel staff was very impressive and professional. The location was perfect - only a 5 minute walk into the heart of the Old Town.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bristol hotel and will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Room 368 or any room at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eggplantgirl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Clean and excellently located hotel. Right outside the Mirabell Gardens and a 2-5 minute walk across the bridge into the old town; only a 10-15 minute walk or 5 minute taxi from the train station. Lavish breakfast buffet spread (with hot and cold items) included in room rate. Very helpful front desk staff. Decor very formal and old fashioned. Very large bathroom.

A bit overpriced (our package was for a superior room for 2 nights, with breakfast, for 470 Euros), but a pleasant enough place to stay.

My only real complaint is that we had requested a room with a view because we were celebrating our 5-year wedding anniversary. When we arrived, they placed us in a room with no view, facing the street, on the 1st floor and didn't even acknowledge the request for a view. When I asked, they said all the rooms with views were full. I realize that they can't honor every room request, but to have our 5-year wedding anniversary ignored, particularly after reading all the reviews below about how amazing the views out of other rooms were and how they honored other guests' requests for a view, and after paying the price we did, it did sting a bit -- we felt a bit taken advantage of. The room they gave us was called the "Russian Room", which they claimed was their nicest room on the first floor. To us, it was smaller than we expected and was a bit tacky in decor (gold trim paint, "Russian" themed with some Russian writing on the wall and pictures of old Russians). I was surprised that it was categorized as a superior room. It also had carpet; we peeked into the adjacent room when the door was open while the maid was cleaning and saw that it had much more lovely hardwood floors.

Another reviewer below had commented that the overall decor was more Liberace than Mozart, and I'd have to say I agree with that statement.

Nonetheless, a pleasant enough place to stay, just with a room that was somewhat less nice than we'd hoped for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#5 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.