We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - let down by the restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bristol Hotel Salzburg to your Saves list
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel - let down by the restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Bristol is one of the great traditional and elegant hotels - location, service, decor are all top class. We also heard only good reports about the restaurant from friends who live in Salzburg but on the evening we had dinner at the restaurant it was badly let down by my main courses, Tafelspitz, a very typical and traditional Viennese dish. The meat was hard and absolutely inedible. An alternative was of course offered (but I declined).
I'm sure this was a one-off but on this occassion the overall rating is 'very good' rather than 'excellent'.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have probably better views (and double windows keep the noise out from the Markat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    79
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
77
229
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Bristol Hotel to celebrate my husband's 50th Birthday. Our room was on the third floor with a beautiful view over the city. The decor of the room and the furniture was of a very high standard. Breakfast was lovely with a wide range of food and drink available. We had dinner in the hotel on a couple of occasions - the restaurant was highly impressive and the food marvellous. The service from all the hotel staff was very impressive and professional. The location was perfect - only a 5 minute walk into the heart of the Old Town.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bristol hotel and will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Room 368 or any room at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eggplantgirl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Clean and excellently located hotel. Right outside the Mirabell Gardens and a 2-5 minute walk across the bridge into the old town; only a 10-15 minute walk or 5 minute taxi from the train station. Lavish breakfast buffet spread (with hot and cold items) included in room rate. Very helpful front desk staff. Decor very formal and old fashioned. Very large bathroom.

A bit overpriced (our package was for a superior room for 2 nights, with breakfast, for 470 Euros), but a pleasant enough place to stay.

My only real complaint is that we had requested a room with a view because we were celebrating our 5-year wedding anniversary. When we arrived, they placed us in a room with no view, facing the street, on the 1st floor and didn't even acknowledge the request for a view. When I asked, they said all the rooms with views were full. I realize that they can't honor every room request, but to have our 5-year wedding anniversary ignored, particularly after reading all the reviews below about how amazing the views out of other rooms were and how they honored other guests' requests for a view, and after paying the price we did, it did sting a bit -- we felt a bit taken advantage of. The room they gave us was called the "Russian Room", which they claimed was their nicest room on the first floor. To us, it was smaller than we expected and was a bit tacky in decor (gold trim paint, "Russian" themed with some Russian writing on the wall and pictures of old Russians). I was surprised that it was categorized as a superior room. It also had carpet; we peeked into the adjacent room when the door was open while the maid was cleaning and saw that it had much more lovely hardwood floors.

Another reviewer below had commented that the overall decor was more Liberace than Mozart, and I'd have to say I agree with that statement.

Nonetheless, a pleasant enough place to stay, just with a room that was somewhat less nice than we'd hoped for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were on a rail holiday in Austria ,Switzerland and Germany recently. This hotel was the type of hotel you always hope for but rarely seem to get. It was elegant, friendly , perfectly situated and the food excellent.The staff all went that little bit further to make our stay memorable. A big thank you from us.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the square, opposite Mozart's house on the first floor - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hard to add to what has already been said about Hotel Bristol but can confirm that it is excellent in all respects: it was a real treat to stay here. The lady who met us at the front desk was quite remarkably helpful, warm and welcoming. She really did us a huge favour by warning us of imminent rain and explaining that if we wanted to go up to the fort and walk though the forest that we would need to go immediately - she was exactly right, we went straight away and avoided being totally drenched. She recalled our exact booking and specific requests and explained how she'd acted on them - my jaw nearly hit the floor. Furnishings a wonderful example of old-world style. I had the best meal I've ever eaten in Europe at the restaurant downstairs. Honestly, this place is a treat. The only issue was a buzzing in the wall (electrical? plumbing?) which I noticed because I battle with noise but it was minor and totally eclipsed by the rest of the excellent experience. Brilliantly located. Fabulous breakfast in stunning breakfast room. Stay here if you possibly can.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have balconies in some cases and a lovely outlook - stunning, and I suspect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, HI
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a very charming hotel, just a short walk to all the Old Town sights and Plaz's.

First of all, the rooms are more than spacious, they are just huge! Bathroom, also huge! Big double doors to enter, double doors also to the bath, the accommodations make you feel like royalty. Big double windows open out (for us) onto Marketplaz, with a nice view of the city churches & steeples.

The staff is very helpful, in fact the front desk even assisted us with tours and transport. Handy umbrellas by the door (a plus for us, since we did not haul ours!), fresh fruit in the room and in the lobby.

A lovely breakfast is included, the coffee is fantastic, a complete assortment of breakfast foods, plus they will make you eggs to order (always a plus for me). The staff is professional, but also interacts warmly when engaged.

We had a lovely 3 night stay, and would highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: We loved our Jr. Suite overlooking Marketplaz with a great view of the city's churches & ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hotel Bristol is fantastic. The staff is incredibly welcoming and very helpful with tips re restaurants, sights and shopping. You cannot beat the location, right across the street from Mozart's house. While the town of Salzburg is picture perfect, Hotel Bristol is located in a quieter neighborhood and in easy walking distance from the city center across the bridge. The hotel's breakfast is terrific with a bit of everything, and the Sketch bar is the perfect place for a pre-dinner or late night cocktail.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#5 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.