We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Save Saved
You added Bristol Hotel Salzburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Northeast PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Lovely hotel in a convenient location. Easy walk to so many places. Room was beautiful and extremely clean. Had to lock door from outside when leaving which was unusual. Great views from the balcony. Bathroom was beautiful and had full amenities. The desk staff were friendly, professional and consistently helpful. A good selection of food at breakfast with a very sweet lady attending. Dinner was impressive. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    69
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
71
209
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of a 5 week holiday.
The service in this family owned hotel was faultless-the front desk,the concierge,the barman in the comfortable Sketch Bar and especially Larisa in the restaurant and bar. All the staff were happy and worked well together. The breakfast was the best we encountered on our whole trip.
This was not an inexpensive hotel- we had a junior suite- but it suited our needs in a difficult personal week.
We ate every night in the hotel restaurant. The food was fine but not memorable. The service was impeccable. We ate there because we were just too lazy and disinclined to go out. If the food was improved I think the restaurant would be full every night.The location was perfect just over the pedestrian bridge from the old city making it perfect for drivers.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Beautiful hotel in an excellent location (across from the Mozart house and museum). Extremely helpful staff. We stayed in the suite know as The View for good reason: views of the principal sights of the City from three balconies in three directions. Highly recommended

Room Tip: The View is the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very helpfull staff. Good location comfortable relaxing
Wifi present and strong
Clise to everything
I like staff there very much they try to help in everything feel like at home they are so freindly
Iwill go there afain and again if i go there

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This luxury hotel is everything you are searching for a wonderful holiday.
We stayed during the advent period and we had a great time thanks to the good position nearby the historical city centre, the beautiful and large room, the sumptuos breakfast and the good dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed for four nights, and we really liked the Bristol Hotel.

The key positives:
- great location, not just because it' s very central (Salzburg is a small city, so almost every hotel ends up being quite central...) but primarily because it' s quiet. Sleep quality is good (our room was on the rear side and on the 4th floor)
- rooms are nice and comfortable: we used 3 rooms, a superior double on the rear side, a standard double and a single on the front (nice view from the 4th floor). All with nice decoration, appropriate size and comfortably equipped
- staff is friendly and always willing to help. Housekeeping was super fast and the rooms were done after the breakfast (which was very good)

Areas with improvement potential:
- no gym
- the restaurant "polo lounge" is not in an inviting setting: no windows, decoration a bit too colored, small area... We did not stay for dinners, so we can not judge the quality of the food

All in all much more positives than issues, so definitely an hotel we can recommend (value for money also ok)

Room Tip: Rear side if you like it quiet, front side for nice view (4th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed here with my elderly mother, booked the cheapest rooms since we splurged in Vienna. Was very pleasantly surprised by what we got - yes the beds were European singles but perfectly comfortable, and the rooms felt spacious (high ceilings were a plus). We had adjoining rooms with a theme - Romeo &Julia (not a typo!) - and they were elegantly decorated and super clean. Julia was more "feminine" with a canopy over bed, white bathroom, whereas mine had black marble in bathroom and a separate larger luggage/mini bar area. After 20 + years as a road warrior I was expecting something much more basic. Also could get a continental breakfast in room for 3.5 euros if you didn't want buffet downstairs. Service was super-friendly - staff who delivered breakfast were eager to know if we needed more hot water etc. And when we left and were at train station, the night porter (who we hadn't even met) recognised us, came over and offered any help. Very nice! Location was convemient and nearby Mirabell Gardens beautiful. Only downside other than the 7am church bells pealing (can't blame the Bristol for that!) was that the combined shower & bath was too high for my mother to step into safely.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the 2nd or 3rd floor (forgot which) & had high ceilings - worth asking for if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#5 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.