We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and luxury in Salzburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bristol Hotel Salzburg to your Saves list
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Style and luxury in Salzburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed in the Bristol for the Salzburg Christmas Market. Wholeheartedly recommend both. We stayed in a deluxe room (240) which was large, airy, quiet (although overlooking the square) and well equipped. Staff very attentive and professional, every request was met promptly, efficiently and pleasantly. Breakfast buffet very well stocked, specific dishes (eg omelette) quickly cooked to order. Conveniently close to the Old Town and Christmas market. Also close to the Sacher Hotel, where you can have a hot chocolate with rum or brandy and a slice of the legendary Sacher Torte (yum! ).

Room Tip: Room 240 is great, large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    80
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
80
233
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I cannot praise this Hotel more highly.From the moment we arrived the staff were most attentive,the reception gave us plenty of local information and a tour of the Hotel we were also given a voucher towards a meal in the restaurant.
The rooms are traditionally decorated spacious and comfortable and well equipped bathrooms, plenty drawer and hanging space.
The hotel is very convenient for visiting the city Centre which is an easy walk away.
The food in the restaurant is excellent although a little expensive, the inclusive breakfast was superb

Room Tip: We were with friends and had superior rooms but I imagine all rooms would be high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Bristol for two nights in mid-November, and share the enthusiasm of other reviewers for the quality of the rooms, the breakfast and the convenient location. It is a relatively easy 15 minute walk from the main train station. We agree with all of the positive comments raised previously, and would like to add two other points. First, we were extremely impressed by the staff, particularly Nicole who was incredibly helpful and cheerful. Would also like to separately recommend the restaurant Nabucco which is only a 15-20 miunute walk through the Old Town and the tunnel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I made the choice to book the Bristol hotel because of the Trip-advisor reviews, which gave this hotel a 5 star rating.
It is a centrally, well placed hotel. Walking distance to the hop on hop off bus, walking distance from the old town and to most restaurants
The hotel Bristols Polo restaurant absolutely fantastic. Herr PETER the best maitre D, helpful and his service wonderful. The food, the Goose, the best we ever had. They also made the Salzburg special dessert (nockerel ?) and it was fantastic.

Christine at the front desk the most helpful and kind person we have met in along time and she made our stay wonderful. The rest of the staff also very helpful.

The jnr suite where we stayed ( we had an upgrade) was very spacious and nicely decorated.
Thank you Bristol hotel for a wonderful stay in a beautiful place that we enjoyed

The Mozart concert and dinner can be highly recommended too.

Room Tip: The quite rooms have no view, but we can not have it all Street facing rooms have a beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Bristol Hotel is the perfect time machine to transport you to the elegance of 18th century Salzburg. Its old-world gilt is exactly why you came to Salzburg in the first place – so it wouldn’t be right to stay in someplace sleek and modern. You are here for velvet draperies, a claw foot tub, a chandelier over your bed, and carved oak doors that open with a key that looks like a prop from “The Secret Garden.” The beautiful hotel delivers - perfectly capturing the frozen-in-time feeling of the city.

• The lush velvet elevator is trip! The lobby is tiny – not really for lingering or people watching. Our safe was broken and so we left valuables in lock boxes behind the concierge in true “Grand Hotel” style.

• The Nice turn-down service including Mozart themed chocolates.

• We only stayed one night so did not have an extraordinary amount of staff interaction – but all seemed reasonably friendly and helpful

• Salzburg is just a tiny pocket of a city – so you are close to everything. No need to fret about staying on the other side of the river. You can be in the pedestrian “Old Town” in five minutes. We easily walked to the Hotel from the train station – which is definitely doable – maybe only 15 minutes.

• The Hotel is adjacent to the beautiful Mirabell Gardens on one side. The green park in front of the hotel houses a sweet little outdoor bar. You are directly across from The Mozart House – which has a very good information rich audio guide.

• For nearby dining we loved this place Zum fidelen Affen (The Funky Monkey) delicious food, fun atmosphere – not too stuffy. Great service and great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in a suite here for three nights in September 2012. It was the nicest room in which I have ever stayed: the suite was the size of an apartment; the furnishings, rugs and hardwood floors were classy; the bathroom was the size of a regular hotel room. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Best of all, the view of the castle was breathtaking! The complimentary breakfast provided every possible option and was of extremely high quality. The location of the hotel is great--within walking distance of all of the sights. I highly recommend the hotel and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Booked the Bristol Hotel for 2 nights. This hotel lives up to everything it claims. The check in was friendly and efficient. We were given two options for our car; valet or self park, we chose valet for convenience. The rooms were very well appointed and comfortable with a nice spacious bathroom. We were most impressed by the attention to little details. Right next to the elevators there is a small mirror that is replaced every evening by like-sized sign wishing guest a good night in several languages. The breakfast was lavish.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, seekda GmbH, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.