We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel with a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bristol Hotel Salzburg to your Saves list
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice hotel with a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel Bristol Salzburg. The location was convenient for us, 5-10 minutes to get over the pedestrian bridge into the old town where most of the attractions and sites were. For the price, room was very nice, very big and comfortable. Room was quaint and amenities were good. The hotel actually had air conditioning, which may seem like a minor point, but coming from a week of travel through Germany where AC was non-existent and temperatures were high, that was a definite plus too. Breakfast is included.

Staff was courteous and we had a pleasant stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    79
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
77
228
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed there over the May 5/6 weekend. Was given a nice sized room (by European standards)overlooking Makartplatz. This is my second visit to Salzburg and the central location of the hotel and the very helpful staff made all the difference. My first trip was with a tour group and we stayed at a hotel near the train station. Bristol is practically next door to the Mirabel gardens, so you can visit first thing in the morning before the tour groups arrive. Also within walking distance of the main tourist attractions like Hohensalzburg, Residenz palace, museum of modern art, the various churches. There is a bus stop close to the hotel where using the Salzburg card, one can take a bus to Hellbrun palace and the cable car to Untersberg.
The front desk staff was very helpful in booking my train ticket to Vienna. staff at the bar and restaurant were equally service-oriented.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Bristol for a weekend getaway. The room rates were reasonable for the type of hotel this is. Very nice and very romantic rooms. The doors the rooms were pretty cool, as I believe they were the original doors when this was a palace. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Very comfortable king bed! You are across the street from the Mozart family home and across the river from the old part of town. Great spot if you want quiet at nice. Also has A/C

Room Tip: They are all good rooms. Cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Five star location, suite, breakfast, deal and service.
Only complaint would be lingering smoke smell in suite
from air-conditioning.

Room Tip: Any Suite in hotel on second floor. Normal rooms looked to be very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

From the time we touched down in Salzburg airport we were amazed by the view of the mountains looming in the distance. Salzburg was the first stop in Austria and the cab ride to the hotel was smooth as well.

The hotel was perfectly situated near the old town and just in front of the bridge connecting you to old town. From the time we checked in, Frau made us feel very welcome. She explained the facilities of the hotel to us and even showed us the room. It opens up to the view of the fortress and the cathedrals. We loved the room and it was a very spacious room ( especially after our bad experience in Kensington hotel in London). Service is wonderful and I couldn't ask for a better area to stay in. Away from the bustle of the tourists in old town and yet close enough.

Every night we look out to sparkling Salzburg and I am glad I chose this hotel. The front desk manager Florian recommended Wilder Mann restauran to us and fd and atmosphere is fantastic.

Overall the location, service, bed, size of the room and personality of Salzburg reflected in the hotel, will let us remember Salzburg forever.

Thank you Frau and Florian for the superb service and smiles everyday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed at The Bristol at the end of April with my mum as she was treating me for my 40th birthday pressie. I had seen previous reviews on TA and thought the hotel looked amazing, well the previous people had not been wrong. From the moment we stepped in the door, we were treated like VIP's. Christine on reception greeted us and gave us a quick history of the hotel, talked through where we were on the map, and the places to see and how to walk there. We also asked her about booking a Sound of Music Tour (our main reason for being in Salzburg), and she said that she could that for us and have the tickets ready that evening for us.
We were shown to our room, which was lovely. We had a superior double which was large enough for both of us. The only criticism we had was the lack of tea and coffee facilities, something us Brits miss when we are away from home. However we did have two complimentary bottles of champagne and some chocolates, I am guessing for my birthday, which was lovely.
Breakfast was a grand affair and I, like others, have put a photo on here of the breakfast as it was a sight every morning. we had everything we could possibly want, and were set for the day. The staff at breakfast were attentive without being overpowering, and the variety of food was superb.
As we were leaving, I asked to see a Suite, just in case I ever fancy taking my husband back for a weekend. We were shown one of the recently renovated ones, and it was gorgeous, well worth the money.
In all, The Bristol was all we expected and more. The staff couldn't have been friendlier, and it was really nice to stay in a family run hotel in the middle of a beautiful city.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor looking out onto the square. The view was fantastic but the bells from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We recently spent three nights in this delightful Salzburg hotel. Ideal location, comfortable rooms and very friendly, helpful staff. The service was excellent in every way. We were also delighted to find the continuing of the old fashioned custom of leaving our shoes outside the room to be returned beautifully polished by morning! Such an unexpected treat. Having stayed at other hotels in Salzburg, this will be the one we return to from now on. Look no further!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#5 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.