We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old Lady in a charming town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bristol Hotel Salzburg to your Saves list
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
athens
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“An old Lady in a charming town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Nice stylish hotel a bit on the low side of the value for money scale. Friendly and helpful staff (one of the doormans however did not speak any English). Needs a bit of refreshing excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    83
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
84
245
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Beautiful old hotel. Rooms are huge. Felt like I was in a palace. Front desk staff and concierge were superb. Excellent restaurant. Huge selection on the breakfast buffet. Stayed here for 3 days and loved it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, Kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

It is only a 15 minute drive by taxi to the Bristol Hotel from Salzburg airport. The hotel is in the "new town" and opposite Mozart's family home. The river Salzach is only two or three minutes walk away and the whole of Salzburg is easily walked. The hotel is excellent. We could find no fault. Everywhere is sparkling glass and crystal. The room we were allocated, "the star room" (there were stars on the ceiling at night) was very comfortable. We were made to feel very welcome and the service was superb. Breakfast was in the most sparkling place I have ever been to with chandeliers and mirrors everywhere. A great range of foods was available and included was a cooked breakfast if you wanted it. One day I had eggs and bacon. Do remember that they cook it together i.e. eggs on top of the bacon. And there is fizz available if you want it! We chose a room looking over the square and had a great view of the castle. We were going to dine at the hotel one evening but we cancelled our booking because we did not feel that we had clothes suitable for the surroundings! But I am sure it would have been very nice. A safe is included and there is a mini bar. As with all continental hotels, there are no tea-making facilities. In all a great hotel and thoroughly recommended. If I did have to make any negative comment it would only be that there could have been more shelves (or drawers) in the room to complement the more than adequate hanging space in the wardrobe.

Room Tip: Either choose one with a great view or a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We originally were only going to stay here one night as we were staying in Munich, but loved the hotel so much we decided to stay another day. The staff and people were some of the nicest we have ever met in Europe and the rooms as well as the buffet in the morning was fantastic. Must stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in May 2011 in our travels through Austria and Switzerland. The hotel is beautiful and clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The valet parking was quick. The views we had from our room of Salzburg down-town were amazing!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas with our adult daughter and partner in two connecting rooms and had a fabulous time. The hotel has wonderful old world charm and the best service I have experienced in a long time. Everyone down to cleaners said a happy hello every time you saw them and the employees went out of their way to help with anything. It is still run by a family and that showed in all the details especially the Christmas Eve experience. Anyone in the hotel who chose to gathered in the bar area on Christmas Eve for a glass of Champagne and listened to a couple of great Christmas stories, non religious and presented beautifully by the family and staff. There was a small brass band who played music and carols and at the end we all sang silent night in our different languages as the live candles on the Christmas tree were lit by a staff member and small gifts were given to all the guests. It was a very moving 40 minutes or so and brought a group of hotel strangers together who were far away from home but still wanting to celebrate Christmas. We then all retired to the beautifully decorated dining room for a traditional Christmas meal. The owner of the hotel continued to serve alongside his staff and even at the Christmas breakfast the next morning he was there early to serve as well. It was a stand out example of leadership and humility. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

The Bristol exudes old world charm with a very traditional European clientele.The opposite of flashy. Excellent location. Generous rooms and well-appointed, modern bathrooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5024, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#8 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, seekda GmbH, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.