We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, safe convenient location and excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mozart

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mozart to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mozart
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Franz-Josef-Strasse 27, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Quiet, safe convenient location and excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Given its location, the size of rooms, generous breakfast and overall quality, we thought felt that the Hotel Mozart represented great value for money.
THE SITUATION OF THE HOTEL
Hotel Mozart is set on a quite, broad, flat street about 200 meters from the Salzburg pedestrian zone. This mostly residential neighbourhood felt quiet and safe. The short walk to the pedestrian zone sets you on the path to most of the major finds in Salzburg, including Mozart's house and the old town across the river. Once you hit the pedestrian zone, you have no trouble finding plenty of nice restaurants, bars and fancy shops to keep you fed, watered and well amused.
FINDING HOTEL MOZART
If you arrive by car, you won't have any difficulty finding this hotel. The situation of Hotel Mozart, lying as it does on the border between the new and old town, means that you don't have to follow windy, narrow streets to get there. This is not necessarily true of all addresses in Salzburg which, from personal experience, can be very tricky to navigate by car. Once you arrive at the hotel, the quiet street frontage makes for easy transfer of bags, with free parking behind the hotel sealing the deal. As well, secure, underground parking is available close by.
HOTEL AND ROOM
We enjoyed the simplicity of this four star hotel. The foyer is uncluttered, meaning you walk straight to the lift to access your room.
There is also a sitting room across from the foyer, which is a perfect meeting spot before touring Salzburg.
We were well pleased with our well-appointed corner room on the fourth floor and its large bay window. Come morning, it was lovely looking over Salzburg from our "eagle's lair". Our large room seemed more like a junior suite, what with its comfy couch and table. The bathroom was nicely appointed and offered all that we needed for our stay.
WELCOME
We were welcomed on arrival with a smile and efficient check-in. Everyone at Hotel Mozart made us feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble as they answered all our questions about nearby Sound of Music sites!
BREAKFAST
Hotel Mozart provides a generous breakfast, which is all that you need in Salzburg given the extensive range of restaurants and cafes within easy reach. The simply, fresh and tasty breakfast was served with a smile on the ground floor.
RECOMMENDATION
We recommend this hotel because it is conveniently located, clean, tidy and great value for money. Families, as well as couples, will feel at home in this hotel.

Room Tip: Drivers will find a useful map of the hotel on the website. Take the exit from Salzburg Nord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    249
    57
    14
    4
See reviews for
129
288
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Passau
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to Salzburg, Austria. What a beautiful city! Our experience was enhanced by the extremely helpful and accommodating staff at Hotel Mozart. Upon our arrival we received a warm and friendly greeting by the concierge who provided us with a plethora of information about Salzburg, including dining and concert recommendations. He also assisted us with reserving seats at a St. Peter's Mozart piano concert, which was truly amazing!

We stayed in Room 403 and enjoyed our corner view as well as the ability to open the windows and enjoy the crisp fresh air. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room, which included a small sitting area. The bathroom was nice, with a shower/tub, which we prefer to the stall showers. The room was very clean and comfortable and was perfect for our one-night stay.

We stayed on a Saturday night so the local bar down the street was a bit loud. We didn't mind, though, as city sounds don't really bother us. We would recommend keeping that in mind, though, if you're especially sensitive to noise and like to keep the windows open at night. We would also recommend bringing your own toiletries. This wasn't really an issue for us, though, as we always bring our own when travelling.

We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel, which had something for everyone (12 Euros each) before heading to town to explore the sites. Old Town is walking distance from the hotel. Other options include riding the bus or taking a taxi to the sites. Should you have any questions the concierge is more than happy to assist you. The concierge also accommodated our request to store our luggage by the front desk while we enjoyed a few more hours in Salzburg. We also received a free CD at check-out, a very thoughtful and memorable parting gift.

We fell in love with Salzburg and plan on returning and enjoying additional stays at the Hotel Mozart.

Room Tip: Wi-fi is available in the front lobby and I believe the first 2 floors of the hotel. We stayed on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The word "value" is what repeatedly comes to mind when reviewing this hotel. Every aspect of our stay was at a level where we felt that we were getting a good deal. The staff at this hotel was great - the front desk was very friendly and gave us maps and recommended dining options. The room itself was tidy and my wife loved that they played "The Sound of Music" on tv every evening. Our room was just above the lobby and with a view down the street. The furnishings are simple, not luxury by any means, and there is not much to see out the window but you shouldn't be shut up in your hotel room anyway! Unlike other reviewers, we had no issues with logging on to the WIFI from our room. The hotel's location in town is away from the craziness of the tourist traffic, but a very short walk to all the big sites. It is especially convenient to Mirabell Palace. We even walked to and from the train station with full luggage (although it is a bit of a haul).
I'd definitely stay here again if I ever have the pleasure of visiting Salzburg again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

No. 1 for us, it IS non-smoking. Breakfast was a bit odd (what and how they serve) and the Internet connection was awful (pretty much only worked in the sitting room downstairs). The staff was very, very helpful - - making reservations for dinner and suggesting walking tours. The rooms were not tiny, big enough but very clean. Decent bathrooms. It was August so it was a bit stifling and opening the windows made for some sleepless nights (noisy outside). Awesome location. Would go back. Wish they had air conditioning, but the balcony was nice. Good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The service at this hotel was great - the staff on the front desk were really friendly and helpful, even printing some of my trip vouchers out for me. I also appreciated the map of the city and a map with restaurant suggestions. The Hotel is very close to the town and easy to walk into the Old Town as well as close to the station which is handy. Rooms were also a reasonable size.

Breakfast at €12 was, in my opinion, too expensive - it was fine but nothing special (cold continental). I ended up going to the local Spar on a couple of mornings for croissants and juice. I missed not having a kettle in my room (but this seems fairly common in Austria) and the wifi was really poor...for a city where finding internet cafes is challenging I really missed having this in my hotel.

Despite the negatives, I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 days staying in this hotel. Overall a nice quaint place.
Pros: a central enough location, everything you need or want to see in Salzburg is within 15 min walking distance. Stellar service and advice from the front desk staff - Bruno and René, excellent suggestions for local food, transportation, things to do and "how to" advice. Room size was larger than normal almost had a living room combined with the bedroom part (#303 in the corner). Heated floor in bathroom and toilet. Private parking available in the back of the hotel. WiFi available in public areas (lobby).

Cons: This corner room on the 3rd floor supposedly had soundproof windows, but they were not. The room was too cold with the heater on full blast so much that we need to ask for a space heater (which was brought up promptly). Outside weather was -3C to -5C. No WiFi in the rooms and lobby WiFi was as slow as regular 3G speed if not worse. No coffee maker or even a tea kettle in the room and breakfast was offered at €12 per person. No complimentary coffee or tea in the lobby either. The cleaning staff did not honor the sign outside the door that says "Do Not Disturb" and went in to clean the room anyway, major invasion of privacy. Hotel parking is offered but at €15 per day.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yass, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our family stayed in a triple room for five nights over the Christmas period. We found the receptions staff to be very efficient, giving us a good overview of Salzburg upon our arrival. However efforts to get our room refridgerator to work proved fruitless after notifying staff numerous times. The room was very comfortable, although quite small for a family of three. Fairly normal for European hotel rooms. Breakfast each morning in the dining room had a good variety of both hot and cold food, with the wait staff being friendly and upbeat first thing in the morning. The hotel has WiFi access in the downstairs sitting room, although it would be good to have WiFi access in your own room. The reception staff assisted in booking a salt mine tour (recommended) and tried to get us tickets to a Christmas concert in Mirabell Palace. Unfortunately it was already fully booked. The hotel is well positioned in a quiet neighbourhood, within easy walking distance to the Old Town and other centrally located attractions. On our departure it was an easy 15 minute walk with luggage to the main train station. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants an intimate, well positioned hotel and wishes to steer clear of large soulless hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mozart

Address: Franz-Josef-Strasse 27, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mozart 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in four-star luxury in Salzburg and look forward to lovely days in the cosy (70 beds) Hotel Mozart with its many appealing advantages. The rooms are furnished to the four-star standard with loving taste and style. Partial W-LAN Internet access, internet terminal in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mozart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mozart Hotel Salzburg
Top Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Top Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mozart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.