We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mozart

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mozart to your Saves list
Hotel Mozart
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Franz-Josef-Strasse 27, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 days staying in this hotel. Overall a nice quaint place.
Pros: a central enough location, everything you need or want to see in Salzburg is within 15 min walking distance. Stellar service and advice from the front desk staff - Bruno and René, excellent suggestions for local food, transportation, things to do and "how to" advice. Room size was larger than normal almost had a living room combined with the bedroom part (#303 in the corner). Heated floor in bathroom and toilet. Private parking available in the back of the hotel. WiFi available in public areas (lobby).

Cons: This corner room on the 3rd floor supposedly had soundproof windows, but they were not. The room was too cold with the heater on full blast so much that we need to ask for a space heater (which was brought up promptly). Outside weather was -3C to -5C. No WiFi in the rooms and lobby WiFi was as slow as regular 3G speed if not worse. No coffee maker or even a tea kettle in the room and breakfast was offered at €12 per person. No complimentary coffee or tea in the lobby either. The cleaning staff did not honor the sign outside the door that says "Do Not Disturb" and went in to clean the room anyway, major invasion of privacy. Hotel parking is offered but at €15 per day.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    283
    68
    20
    5
See reviews for
153
353
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yass, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our family stayed in a triple room for five nights over the Christmas period. We found the receptions staff to be very efficient, giving us a good overview of Salzburg upon our arrival. However efforts to get our room refridgerator to work proved fruitless after notifying staff numerous times. The room was very comfortable, although quite small for a family of three. Fairly normal for European hotel rooms. Breakfast each morning in the dining room had a good variety of both hot and cold food, with the wait staff being friendly and upbeat first thing in the morning. The hotel has WiFi access in the downstairs sitting room, although it would be good to have WiFi access in your own room. The reception staff assisted in booking a salt mine tour (recommended) and tried to get us tickets to a Christmas concert in Mirabell Palace. Unfortunately it was already fully booked. The hotel is well positioned in a quiet neighbourhood, within easy walking distance to the Old Town and other centrally located attractions. On our departure it was an easy 15 minute walk with luggage to the main train station. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants an intimate, well positioned hotel and wishes to steer clear of large soulless hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've just come back from a quick getaway to Salzburg and I opted to stay at the Hotel Mozart based on some strong recommendations on here and also in several guidebooks. I wasn't disappointed. This is a really lovely hotel in a great location for all that Salzburg has to offer and i think its great value for money. I had a single room which was a nice size with a single bed and a very ample bathroom. It was freezing cold in Salzburg during my stay, but the hotel and my room were really snug which was great. You don't get breakfast included in the room price, but it is on offer each morning for around €12. I opted to go out and try some of the local cafes myself so can't comment on the breakfast personally.
The location of the hotel is good, close to the Mirabell Palace and gardens and a short walk down pretty Linzergasse and across the bridge into the Old Town. There are lots of nice places to eat nearby including Alter Fuchs on Linzergasse and Fingerlos cafe on the same street as the hotel, Franz-Joseph Strasse.I think the staff here are also worth a mention.Everyone I came into contact with was really friendly and welcoming making for a very pleasant stay indeed.
I'm hoping to go back to Salzburg over the next couple of years for the Salzburg Festival and when I do make it back this will be my first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Second time in Salzberg and very happy with my choice of hotel - a quiet location with everything you need as a base to go exploring this fine city. Beds were comfortable, so too the bath and the breakfast was a good start to the day.

Room Tip: Found a great little bar just up the road too with tapas, schnaps and shisha-pipes (then it all went...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our first time in Salzburg, so a little unsure of our bearings exiting the airport. The information desk is to the right after coming out of customs. There you can get a city map and ask questions. The number 2 bus goes from directly opposite the exit just across the road, look for the large Green H. There is a ticket machine to the right along the walkway towards the stop and you can pay the driver also. It is 2 euros 30 per person for a single trip. The number 2 bus goes into the city and stops at the main railway and bus station and then on towards the hotel. It takes at least 30 mins. You need to get out at Wolf Dietrich Strasse, continue to walk up the road in the same direction as the bus goes and then after a minute you will be on Franz Josef Strasse, look to your left and you will see the hotel about 200 metres away. When you need to go back to the airport the stop is in Schrannengasse right in front of you as you exit the hotel doors, 1 min walk and they run every 20 minutes. Each street is one way so the bus goes up one out of the city and down the other into the city.
We were greeted very warmly at reception by Renee who I believe is the owner. We were given room 103, a short 2 flights of stairs or the lift. A very large bright room with plenty of space for the two of us. Large bathroom with a very good p0werful shower over the bath, hairdryer and small bottles of shampoo, no conditioner though so bear that in mind. There was also a shower gel dispenser in the shower area also. Floor in the main room was wood. We had a wardrobe with plenty of hangers, two small side cabinets with a very small drawer and one shelf. So if you have a lot of clothes that you normally put into drawers you may need to consider that. We slept very well all 3 nights and found the room just the right temperature. It was a double room with 2 beds together but worked well as you get your own duvet which is great not having to share and fight over it! Tap in our sink was cold water on the left and hot on the right opposite to what we were used to. No room safe but a small mini bar and a good flat screen TV.
Main reception staff were very knowledgeable and more than happy to give advice on trips. We had pre booked from the UK but it seems that the hotel can help you book from reception by making a quick call for you. It does seem that they have an arrangement with Panorama but there is another tour company that we used for the Salt Mine tour which was just as good booked through City Discovery online.
Breakfast was typical continental, cold meats and cheese, jams, cereal, pastries, bread and rolls, coffee, tea or hot chocolate. You could eat as much as you liked and they brought more if needed. The breakfast room was a lovely size with plenty of space and high ceilings. We found all the staff very friendly and their English far better than our attempts to speak German. The reception is 24 hours so no worries about getting back in and you hand your key in on going out, a real key not a credit card type.
Overall we found this hotel an excellent place to stay, it is four star and very comfortable and is in the new part of the city across the river. The pedestrian walkway through the small shops is about a 5 minute walk to the left of the hotel and we used this to get to the main bridge across the river. It has a variety of shops and eating places. You are within 10 minutes walk of the Old city and all the sights. We did not see everything on this trip as we only had 2 full days but we did do -

Restaurant M32 at the end of a 1 hour sightseeing city trip - we then walked across from here to
Fortress Hohensalzburg - this was a great walk about 30 mins
the main shopping street in the old city - very very expensive
Augustiner Bier Hall - twice, about a 20 min walk from the hotel
Walked around more than anything to see the city itself
Salt Mine trip - 4 hours - well worth it
Ate cake and sampled Austrain food

There are many other trips we could not do due to the time of year, although this time of year is very peaceful and tourists are very few in number which makes it easy to get on trips and walk around. The two trips we took there was only the 2 of us. We booked the trip as flights and hotel seperately and got 3 nights for £185 including breakfast for both of us, not each. Looking at the hotel prices this should have been £310, so a bargain! We booked via Octopus. Our flights with BA.

We we will definately be returning and will stay at the same hotel.

Room Tip: Room 103 was the only one that had a balcony and was on the corner of the hotel, hence why the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Wonderful small hotel. Comfortable good sized, well presented rooms, with all amenities. Comfortable lounge on the ground floor with free wifi. Great helpful and friendly staff. Close to everything, shops, restaurants, train station and a short walk to the old town. Had a great view to the mountains from our fifth floor room.

Room Tip: Ask for fifth floor room near the corner for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Easy to reach, walking distance from everything: die Festung, Haus der Natur, old city center, small restaurants and shopping area of course. Taxis are affordable. Parkplatz on site, not so cheap, better than paying fines. The hotel staff: polite, helpful, efficient. Breakfast: nice eating area, cozy, classic music, cold dishes, coffee served with a friendly smile attached. We had a large triple corner room, clean enough, could be a little warmer, walls too thin.
Alter Fuchs Restaurant in close vicinity: crowded, greasy food; better avoid it, even if you are starving or in a big hurry. 

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mozart

Address: Franz-Josef-Strasse 27, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mozart 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in four-star luxury in Salzburg and look forward to lovely days in the cosy (70 beds) Hotel Mozart with its many appealing advantages. The rooms are furnished to the four-star standard with loving taste and style. Partial W-LAN Internet access, internet terminal in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mozart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mozart Hotel Salzburg
Top Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Top Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mozart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.