We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Salzburg City to your Saves list
NH Salzburg City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Franz-Josef-Strasse 26 | Altstadt, Salzburg A-5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #38 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Nice hotel, very helpful and knowledgeable staff. They recommended a wonderful place for breakfast and provided other helpful tips. The room was somewhat on the smaller side, but it was nice and clean and so was the bathroom.

The service was friendly, and to repeat, quite helpful whenever asked for anything. And there is a Dominican guy who works there who was extremely helpful, making sure we had a cab at 3:30 in the morning. I lost count on how many languages he could speak. Just call him Big Papi !

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    362
    140
    41
    21
See reviews for
145
362
36
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

I made a reservation through NH hotels homepage. Everything was just OK. We arrived by car and got the parking ticket for a nearby garage at the reception. As we arrived around 2pm the room wasn't ready yet, but we stored our luggage in the hotel's store room. We've got a nicely arranged room, enough spacious and clean. The breakfast was very rich (various breads, cheeses, salami, eggs, jams, fruits, salmon, yoghourt, corn flakes, teas, stabdard & espresso coffee,...). We also used a sauna which is very small (3 people max), but were lucky to be there alone. The location is perfect: easily accessible by car but actually in the city centre. There are plenty of shops nearby on the Linzer Strasse.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

We spent 2 nights in Salzburg, but only one night at the NH, and we were sad to leave.
This was the most modern hotel on our whole trip. We loved the large bed, and luxurious bedding. We also appreciated the air conditioning... it made for a restful night in Salzburg.
We were able to walk from the main train station (10-15 minutes) with no problem.
The front desk was very helpful, even directing us (via public transit) to the Red Bulls soccer stadium for a match between division rivals! They also recommended a great restaurant nearby, Alter Fuchs, for a nice patio lunch!
We got a great rate on priceline, but they were booked solid for the second night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

We booked this hotel last minute for one nights stay from Vienna by phone as we hadn't intended to stop in Salzburg on our train journey from Vienna to Venice. So glad we did. Salzburg is so charming, beautiful and clean. Really loved this city, such warm and friendly people. Wish we could have had more time here.
Reception staff were most welcoming and were well presented. It was our first experience of an NH hotel. Our room was very clean and comfortable. As time was short in Salburg, we booked a city and river cruise at reception on arrival and were off within and hour and a half after arriving. Our tour guide was excellent a young girl dressed in traditional costume (unfortunately I can't remember her name) A tour of the city and river cruise is a must do in Salzburg. We went on many river cruises on our 6 week tour of europe and we really enjoyed the river cruise in Salzburg. It was one of the best, the scenery is spectacular. We had a nice meal at the hotel restaurant. This hotel is in a very good location in a quiet part of town but with easy walking to most tourist attractions.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

The NH is really a big and elegant hotel situated in the downtown area of Salzurg area. It is a good starting point for a tour in the city.
The room we had was very elegant, clean and big as also the bathroom. The breakfast was amazing with a lot of things to eat.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Very pleased to stay here for 6 nights following recommendations on Tripadvisor.
Efficient booking directly with the hotel: we asked for room 503, which we were given (making a welcome change from 3 recent experiences of being "bounced" from other hotels booked through booking.com.)
Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent location - fairly quiet and on the edge of the old town, 5 minutes' brisk walk to the river. Good breakfast buffet - a variety of fresh food each morning. Pleasant, modern, reasonably large room with a great view.
Only minus points being that a little more noise came through from next door (possibly because of interconnecting doors) than we would have liked but, hey, it was "The Sound of Music." And a strange reluctance to replace the soap without writing a pleading note to the room cleaner!
Would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

This hotel was so different from all those we had stayed in during our three week trip through Germany/Austria. Most of our accommodations had been older and cozier. Needless to say, the NH Hotel was the exact opposite. It's a newer, hip, trendy hotel chain located mostly in larger cities. At first, I wasn't sure if I would enjoy it as much, but it didn't take long to adjust to the quality of this fine hotel. My husband and I enjoyed the convenience of the upscale hotel bar. Austria had their first snowfall of the year and we watched the flakes fall with a lovely glass of wine.

It was conveniently located and travel to and from different sights was easy. We loved walking around the old city and hiked up to the fortress as well as the Modern Art Museum. We enjoyed the city so much, we extended our stay in the Salzburg area (and took the "Sound of Music" tour from Bob's Tours!) As a vegan, it was great to know that two delicious vegetarian restaurants were within a stones throw of this hotel (Heart of Joy and Spicy Spices). I highly recommend both whether or not you are vegetarian. It was a wonderful break from the traditional German/Austrian food that most restaurants serve.

All in all, it was a great hotel to wrap up our trip and get us ready for "re-entry" into the real world. They had two computer terminals with printers in their lobby for guests and a luxurious breakfast buffet ($16 euro). It is also a convention-type hotel so the bar and lobby was often crowded with convention attendees.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NH Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Salzburg City

Address: Franz-Josef-Strasse 26 | Altstadt, Salzburg A-5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#26 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#27 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#28 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Salzburg City offers guests an ideal location in the heart of the celebrated city of Salzburg, providing modern comfort and top-quality service in an elegant environment as the recognized hallmarks of this distinguished hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, NHHotels, Odigeo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your NH Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Nh Hotel Salzburg
Nh Hotels Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Salzburg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.