We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in salzburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elefant

Save Saved
You added Hotel Elefant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Elefant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigmund Haffner Gasse 4, Salzburg A-5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best hotel in salzburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights. Our superior room was more like a suite with a seperate lounge area. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. All the staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble. Location superb right in the middle of the old town. 12 Euro in a taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    171
    46
    10
    2
See reviews for
95
256
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

This is a little gem in the dead center of the Aldstadt in Salzburg. We stayed for two days, and the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming, very helpful. Room was comfy and the hotel felt almost like it was a large B&B. Bathroom was spacious with modern fixtures, beds were comfortable. The best thing about this hotel is the wonderful location, especially if you like to take early morning or late evening walks alone. I was able to walk up to the Hofburg at 8am in the snow...great experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Loved this hotel. It was steps away from everything.

This was our first time traveling with a baby and we were a little nervous, but the staff was great. During breakfast they brought out a high-chair (our son's first time using one and he loved it). The front desk girl was super-friendly. She always helped with the stroller (there were a few steps leading into the hotel). The breakfast was great. The room was beautiful with interesting (in a good way) decor and so much space for us to hang out once the baby was asleep.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Enjoyed our visit. Breakfast was wonderful. Staff was great. Location is perfect...truly enjoyed our visit. Value was good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

The staff here is extremely helpful. In particular, the concierge Iris went out of her way to direct us to the best activities in the city. When a cab driver didn't drop off a member of our group right in front of the hotel, Iris immediately called the company and demanded to know which drive had been responsible (apparently, the hotel has a contract w/ the company, and they are always supposed to let people off right in front). The breakfast buffet was excellent, and the service staff was helpful and friendly each morning. My wife was allergic to the down pillows and comforter, and the staff replaced her bed linens immediately after we reported the problem. The location of the hotel is very convenient for the Christmas markets. Overall, a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I stayed in this hotel to visit the Christmas Markets. It was in a superb location in the Old Town, with all the markets within walking distance. I had a compact single room which was fine, and my mother and sister shared a double room which was very spacious. The staff were fantastic - all spoke good English (my German is rusty) - and were very helpful no matter what the query. The only thing missing was tea trays (or even a kettle) - however this is hardly the end of the world! I would return again to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Hotel Elefant for three nights in November and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The location in the old town is second to none. The old town itself is absolutely gorgeous and a delight to walk around. The room was much bigger than expected and the bed was very comfortable. We found the staff at the hotel to be very helpful and friendly which made our stay even more enjoyable. The breakfast buffet was also lovely with a good range of both hot and cold food. Free wifi is also a bonus.

If we were to return to Salzburg we definitely be staying at the Hotel Elefant again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Address: Sigmund Haffner Gasse 4, Salzburg A-5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#13 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elefant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.