We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In heart of city center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elefant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elefant to your Saves list
Hotel Elefant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigmund Haffner Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg A-5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“In heart of city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We loved Salzburg and the hotel and its location. Thanks to Google Earth for helping us short-list it as it's close to al in-city attractions and also very close to bus stops that take you to other around-Salzburg attractions like Berchtesgaden.
We were pleasantly surprized when we were greeted by the cab driver in Hindi and found that he is a Pakistani settled in Salzburg 20 years before. He loved the city and told us how Austria values an individual irrespective of where he originates from. He istantly gave an example when a police came to the cab to talk to him and talked very politely. There was some celebration going on near the hotel because Salzburg team had won some soccer match. The police normally weren't allowing anyone drive thru' the area due to the celebrations but since we were tourists with luggage we were allowed.
The hotel is right into the city center with few tens of restaurants within 5 minutes walk. The building is 700 years old and we couldn't believe the same. The staff was very helpful and spoke good English. We were greeted by a thin, tall man at Reception who informed us that our room was already ready. Room was not very big but sufficient and clean. The hotel has a restaurant on ground floor but we didn't try it, but we had breakfast all 3 days which was very good with fresh fruits, cereals, eggs and bakery items as usual. The staff at the restaurant was smiling and welcoming and cleaned tables real fast. There is free internet too on the same first floor where we could browse and finalize our site seeing details for our next destination, Paris.
The hotel has many shops around it and a typical city center hustle/bustle. I liked it that way since wanted to see the people and culture closely.
The other day there was a lady at the Reception who guided us on our way to Berchtesgaden and helped with weather conditions too. We had one day for Berchtesgaden, another for Konigsee and last day for local site-seeing which was luckily Museum day with all museums free for all. Among all we liked Museum of natural history the best.
Berchtesgaden (Eagle's Nest and Konigsee lake) and Wolfgangsee are anyway most beautiful sites we had been to.
Overall it was great trip to Salzburg and definitely the hotel has played a major role in making it that way.
We had just one day for city center
We spent

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    213
    53
    14
    3
See reviews for
109
336
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

The Hotel Elefant is perfectely located in Salzburg, but you may have a little trouble finding it at first if you arrive by car. Then the staff happily wisk your car away, and bring it back when you depart. Our room was nice and freshly redecorated. The staff was very friendly. It really is aperfect place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

A great find. Wonderful location in the old town. Large room with good cross-ventilation. No need to use public transport. Started with very helpful front desk. We had a great room with plenty of space. Yes, you hear the church bells ringing but then you are in an old eclesastical city. Great breakfast in a well appointed breakfast room. old hotel with lovely touches like artwork and antique furniture.

If you are not up to dealing with the bollard, code you have To enter and the off site undergroung parking, then do not drive. Driving is not for the faint hearted.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed two nights at the Elefant on a recent road trip through Austria. The hotel is located in a pedestrian zone, but it is allowed to drive in to unload and reload the car. The hotel offers reduced rate parking in a nearby garage. The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful with every question. The breakfast was superb. The room was clean. The location is perfect, two minutes from Mozart's birthplace and the City Hall, five minutes from St. Peter's and the Dom, only a few minutes in the other direction to the river. Salzburg is a wonderful city for walking, anyway...very compact and easy to get around. The only problem that we had at all at the hotel was with the air conditioning, which was defective on the day we arrived. However, the staff provided us with a circulating fan, and the AC was repaired the next day. The hotel has a restaurant in the ground floor, with a few tables outside. Here also, we were quite pleased with the food and service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and love the central location to everything. We took a 20 minute trip on bus 8 from the airport to bus stop Rathaus and walked 5 minutes to the hotel. It was so easy. Look for the elephant sign. Front desk had 2 awesome helpful people who answered all our questions and then some. It’s a small hotel with a tiny elevator but the location is superb. The average size room had a cramped bathroom with no conditioner. Double windows help keep the noise out and we slept fine. Breakfast buffet was simple with hot and cold items. Maria Von Trapp even stayed here. There is a check written by her next to the breakfast area. We loved everything about Salzburg and highly recommend this hotel for its central location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royal palm beach, florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

The hotel was in an absolute excellent location. walking distance to just about every major attraction in Salzburg. We spent 2 nights at 117 Euor's per booking on line directly with the hotel. Our room as requested was quiet and was an inner room.
The breakfast was excellent and staff were very helpful. I'd definately stay here again if i went back to Salzburg.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Small boutique hotel in perfect location with very good breakfast. Clean and pleasant.. Staff helpful. Room size good but not large. A great price for what you get.. Be aware that if you drive to hotel it will look like you cannot drive in area of the hotel. You can drive in this otherwise pedestrian area to get to and from hotel. Go very slow and expect a frown or two from walkers. Just smile and creep along. Then you must park off site and wak back - about 10 minutes - but easy. Reception gives you great little map and clear instruction. It is not a big deal considering you get in return this great little hotel on a tiny lane in the heart of old Salzburg, just aeound the corner from Mozarts chidhood home.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Address: Sigmund Haffner Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg A-5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an age over 750 years, the Hotel Elefant is one of Salzburg's oldest and most traditional hotels. It is situated down a quiet lane off the world-famous Getreidegasse. A look at the history of this building shows that over the past 500 years the hotel's purpose was, and still is, to serve its guests according to the best in Austrian tradition. Lodging in this hotel offers you style and comfort and you will quickly feel at home as a guest of this house. Family-Run Hotel: The Hotel Elefant is run now by the 4th generation of family Mayr. All our employees have been working with us for a long time, so you can be assured to have best quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elefant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.