We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Elefant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elefant

Save Saved
You added Hotel Elefant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elefant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigmund Haffner Gasse 4, Salzburg A-5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
La Mirada, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hotel Elefant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in mid July 2013. The desk staff was very helpful. We had a large room, by European standards on the 5th floor with a very good air conditioner. The location is excellent. We walked to all the sites and it was convenient to the bus stops also. The breakfast was quite good also. The only complaint I had was in the bathroom. There was only a very small stall shower with mount on the wall shampoos/body wash. The bathroom faucet had a sensor such as those in public restrooms which made washing up very awkward.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    175
    46
    12
    2
See reviews for
91
252
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The location of the Elefant is great, just around the corner from the Getreidegasse shopping area, close to the castle and other sites. The hotel is in a picturesque old building on a picturesque old street. The room was comfortable and reasonably quiet, especially with the air conditioning on to drown out what little noise there was.

The WiFi is free, but uses a clunky password scheme that was annoying to repeatedly log into, and the signal was weak in our room and in the breakfast room, the two places we wanted most to use WiFi.

The bathroom was small but clean, with good water pressure although the water temperature varied when (I'm guessing) someone in other rooms used their bathrooms.

The breakfast room was very pleasant and well-stocked. The staff was friendly and very helpful when arranging taxis and reservations. The restaurant, at which we ate twice, had good food, wine, and coffee, and was extremely convenient.

Despite my nitpicks, the Elefant is a good hotel in a great location. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

You will not be disappointed if you have the right expectations - it is a very basic hotel good for sleeping one night in. I would choose something else if I had to stay more than one night. It is best suited for people on a budget or students. On the plus side - good location and nice breakfast room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This Hotel was recommended to me by a friend and it did not disappoint.

It was our first family holiday with our toddler and staff were very helpful. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Though what stood out the most was the hotel location. Shops, restaurants and anything you need really, very easily accessible.

I highly recommend going during Xmas time as we did. The Xmas markets are an amazing experience and fortunately the markets are also located near the hotel.

All in all it was a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Staff is very friendly and nice. They are extremely helpful. It's a wonderful hotel. Nice, clean and comfortable. Excellent decoration. Location is central in old town. Excellent value, rate includes breakfast and wifi. Breakfast has number of selections and was wonderful. We enjoyed our stay, definitely come back and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksolt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had a great stay here. Great location in a beautiful town. Staff were friendly, room was spacious and clean. Sleep was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was great and breakfast room very nice. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again. Parking is a bit tricky as we found out, but we called the hotel and they walked us through the hole thing and made it very easy. You park in probably the coolest parking garage you will ever see (inside a rock cave), then walk about 5 minutes to the hotel (as no cars can go down the streets). Staff was great and were helpful, offered great suggestions and were just all around fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in Oct of 2012. Great location on a very pretty side street, very clean (of course small) hotel. Hotel staff very helpful. Good value for the money. Lots of shops and restaurants all around. Near the Hohensalburg Castle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Address: Sigmund Haffner Gasse 4, Salzburg A-5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elefant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.