We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elefant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elefant to your Saves list
Hotel Elefant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigmund Haffner Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg A-5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed in Room 501 on Thurs 26th July. Stefanie welcomed us efficiently and with excellent English. We were able to leave our bags whilst sightseeing and she told us our room would be ready at 1pm, despite official check-in of 3.30pm. Our room was a otal surprise, more like a suite complete with private balcony with chairs. The suite was spotlessly clean, well equipped and the air conditioning worked well. The bed was large and very comfortable.
Breakfast was served by friendly staff and there was plenty of choice on the buffet tables.
We do wish continental hotels in this price category would provide tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but this isn't specific to this hotel.
Location is perfect, I am "noise-sensitive", but I have never stayed in a city centre hotel that was this quiet, both inside and out.
The only teeny-tiny niggle was that the towels were very small and quite thin.
A lovely hotel with efficient, friendly staff. Don't hesitate to book.
Stefanie should receive a special Trip Advisor customer service award.

Room Tip: Ask for 501!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    197
    49
    11
    2
See reviews for
102
296
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kihei, HI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were specifically looking for a place that served Salzburg Nockerni. It takes 1/2 hour to prepare. We saw 4 being served besides ours. One order serves two adults. It is a very light egg custard dish with berries. We received excellent service and quite enjoyed the experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

It’s pretty hard to find a better, more central spot to stay than Hotel Elefant. Just off Gertreidegasse, you walk out the door and are moments from the center of buzzing Salzburg. I didn’t see any other hotels this close to the action. Yet the rooms (at least those facing away from the street) are entirely quiet and feel quite apart from the busy streets, allowing you to relax and rest peacefully after another long day. We liked the small apartment-like feel of it, with a little living room that’s apart from the bedroom, a separate entryway, and spacious bathroom facilities. Our room was a bit dark and could have used a bit more lighting capability. An extra bonus – the toilet paper conveniently doubles as sandpaper should you need it! The air conditioning worked very well. The included breakfast had all we needed – eggs, bacon, fruit, breads, cereals, juices, and without a doubt the most exquisite coffee I’ve had to date, provided in a delightful room adorned by paintings of monarchs and managed by pleasant staff.

Front desk staff is a bit perfunctory and cold, but we needed nothing from them except efficiency, and that we got. They arranged our taxi to the train station and were all over it the next morning when we came downstairs to make it happen.

Hotel Elefant is a bit expensive for what it is, but we were certainly very happy with the decision to stay here and with the service and room.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing away from the street -- you'll hear nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

After a rough night in another hotel, I moved around the corner to Hotel Elefant and couldn't have been happier. The room was far larger and more comfortable than any other hotel in which we stayed in Italy or Austria. The bathroom (and extra half-bath) was luxurious and clean. The bed was very comfortable, and the breakfast was larger than most European hotel's.

The hotel is located within blocks of all shopping and sights, but it was quite and felt like an oasis. I was delighted with my days at the Elefant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This historic yet very up to date hotel is located metres from main square, where Europes oldest coffee shop Cafe Tomaselli is located.
Great rooms, superb breakfast and good wifi.
Salzburg is a magical city and location is everything
They have quad rooms as well.
Very good restaurant downstairs is a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We choose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and a review in the travel section of our local newspaper. We had a car and were able to unload and load our luggage in front of the hotel and then park the car in a garage not too far away. The room was larger than we expected and very comfortable. Breakfast each morning was plentiful in a very pretty room and the breakfast staff were very friendly. The hotel was in a great location and we could walk everywhere from it. My luggage was lost the 3 days we were at the Hotel and finally showed up the night before we were to leave. The gentlemen at the front desk were always very helpful taking and relaying messages from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Visited this hotel for 2 nights in July with my wife and 2 children. I had been there 12 years ago. The hotel itself is located in the middle of the old city, you cannot find a better location (a bit difficult to access from the distant parking place with your luggages). I had a room with a bed for two and a hide a bed for the children. It was tight, so much that they had to remove tables the second day that they had left in the room. The beds (even the hide a bed) were prepared for the four of us. The room was clean, the furniture basic. I prefered to sleep in the hide a bed then in the real bed which was way too soft for me. The windows have a view of the small street in front of the hotel. The place is not too noisy at night and you can leave them open. The breakfast was good with eggs, cold meats, yogourts and excellent coffee. The lady in charge of the breakfast was friendly. The service at the reception was efficient but a bit cold and distant. The restaurant at the hotel (which is administered by a different owner) was good. This is a good address for Salzburg, the problem is I am not sure I like what Salzburg is becoming. If I had to return to Salzburg I would return there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Address: Sigmund Haffner Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg A-5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elefant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.