We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met all my needs, easy walk to the train and everything else.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen to your Saves list
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Met all my needs, easy walk to the train and everything else.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Achat met all my needs for my 24 stay in Salzburg. Was a 5 minute walk from the train station and a 20 minute walk to all the main sites of the city. I enjoyed not being in the crowded tourist area, which I think this is a good thing. The room itself, while not fancy, was spacious and met all my needs. I was surprised there was a little hallway between the bathroom and bedroom. The bathroom was remodeled and nice. I slept well and just enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    232
    63
    16
    8
See reviews for
120
207
20
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The room is very big and very comfortable. It is located about 5 minutes away from the train station. You can get your Salzburg card at the hotel reception as well. The staff is also willing to help you with directions to the places of interest.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very comfortable stay. I booked the standard double room and requested a high floor. I was given the highest, the fourth floor, and with a shower. The room was very spacious and if counted there's about 4 rooms: the toilet room,
Shower room, closet/desk room, and bedroom! I travelled just by myself and this was a very satisfying stay. Everything is clean and the bed is comfortable. Wifi worked fine. You just have to keep entering the code when you return to the hotel. I did not try the breakfast. It costs 12€ though and it's a buffet. The location is pretty fair and only a 5 minute walk to Mirabell gardens. The staff was very informative and helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend staying here if you come to Salzburg for a visit. Also, you should look into purchasing the Salzburg from the front desk! I got my money's worth. Only minor issue with my room was it was close to the elevator and late at night I could hear people talking through the walls or walking but it did not last long. I would still stay again in the same room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed only one night at this hotel in July and were very impressed. Compared to some other hotels we have stayed at, the value for the price was really excellent. Our room had a sitting area with couch and TV as well as a proper king sized bed instead of the two singles put together that feature at some hotels. Wifi worked well, as did air conditioning. The staff was very helpful and the location is perfect for walking around town and arriving by train. We would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Ideal hotel for us for our week in Salzburg. Quarter of a hour stroll down to the old town and a variety of ways including through the Mirabell Gardens or along the river. Big room with three chairs, wardrobe and desk, plus decent sized fridge (there was an option to make it a mini bar but we used it for our own purchases) and very large bathroom/wet room, which included great shower and hairdryer. Could have done with non slip bath but that's another story!
Staff were polite and responsive but not over fussy. The rooms were kept clean though we never saw a maid and though we tended to return and leave the hotel several times through the day were always treated kindly. I found it too late to use but as we left discovered a room off the general lounge we had not used, that contained a working internet set up complete with switched on and connected printer. Quiet (double windows in all rooms), convenient (a stroll into town plus a supermarket opposite), spacious and very reasonable. We did not check out the breakfast or dinner.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back overlooking the car park and never heard a thing. the front rooms overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near the Railway station (roll your luggage to the hotel) and it is even closer using the back street. Walking into the old town centre is just 15 min. Most of this walk is through the pretty gardens of the Mirabell Palace and across the pedestrian bridge. From the outside I had expected less but I was pleasantly surprised once inside the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were clean, spacious and modern. The room had air conditioning, a bonus in the summer heat. Near the reception there is a lounge and computer area on an upper floor a sauna and fitness room. Breakfast was in a nice dining room decorated traditional Austrian style. The hotel runs also its Restaurant. The buffet breakfast had a good selection of choices. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in May, with family in two rooms. The hotel was well positioned for the station (about 5 minutes) and the old town was only a 15 minutes steady walk away. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were very comfortable, with very good housekeeping. Breakfast was well priced with an excellent selection of both hot and cold food, served buffet style. We hadn't planned to have breakfast in the hotel, but after having it the first morning, it made the start of the day so much easier.

Room Tip: Rooms looked fairly consistent, and although overlooking a very busy road, we found the double glazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Address: St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hirschen", for generations owned by the same family, is a traiditional, constantly improved and renovated quality 4-stars-hotel, ideally situated, with a choice of spacious and charming rooms, all airconditined, a beautiful (free) sauna-complex, a traditional, cosy and locally popular organic restaurant with moderate rates and a large beergarden as well as a large parking place. (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Hotel Salzburg
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.