We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen to your Saves list
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We visited Salzburg last October and we stayed at ACHAT Plaza. We had a wonderful time. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean,tidy and spacious. Coffee and tea was provided to make in rooms which was a great comfort after an early flight in.
Breakfast was excellent.
The hotel is not very far from city centre. We walked to and from the hotel in all days of our stay. we would go definetely there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    218
    62
    16
    8
See reviews for
114
199
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Staff were friendly, everything was well presented, and the rooms were lovely - much bigger and more stylish than I'd anticipated. It's in a great location for the train station, but there's not that much else around except a C&A & Subway. Reception gave us a map with directions to town though, which wasn't too far. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayreuth, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great location since it's about three blocks from the main train station and 15 mins from the city center where all the tourist attractions are. Many places to eat around the restaurant which open until late. Room was big enough and bathroom was spacious and very good equipped. Convenient little fridge in the room and a water kettle to make tea. There is a busy street but the double windows keep all the noise out. Would come again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

very clean, friendly reception staff, nice lounge area that you can relax in. Rooms were lovely. it is less that 5 minute walk to Salzburg train station, but about 30 minutes walk into the old town. Warning not much is open in Salzburg on a Sunday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I chose this hotel because it was close to the train station. It was very roomy, quiet, and had friendly staff. The only downside was that I couldn't control the thermostat in the room that I was in and so it was a bit warm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed there druing a weekend trip and we loved the place. Its easy to find and park your car just behind the hotel for 6€ a day. Walking distance to the center and all other sights. The rooms are nice and clean. You can also use the sauna and fitness on the top floor. Breakfast and stuff was also good. The only thing is, if you like to sleep with open window, you better take a room to the backside, cause the road is very noisy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Trip: Inter-railing with family

Staff: Friendly enough

Price: reasonable mid range hotel

Hotel Facilities: restaurant downstairs

Room: double, facing rear. Was clean, roomy, tv, desk, couch, side tables

Wifi: dropped out a bit but ok. No skypeing possible

Breakfast: Costs extra from the room. It was average/good, selection of breads, meats,
cheeses, yoghurts, fruits etc… not too expensive

Bed: comfortable, doubles are two singles pushed together, this seems to be pretty standard through some parts of Europe

Bathroom: bath, shower. Clean, shower was good

Towels: nice

Location: This is a very short ( less than 10 minutes) walk from the centre of town and only 3 minutes from the main train station. We found the location very convenient. Shopping complex across the road as well.

Tea/coffee: available in room

Best thing: you can bring wine upstairs from the bar downstairs

Worst thing: you can ask reception to play the movie the Sound of Music and it will play in your room, this is a nice idea if you like the movie and want to recognise some of the sights around town where it was filmed but the start of the movie skipped pretty bad, then it was in the wrong language, then it was stuck on the "directors commentary" version, I called downstairs to have the settings adjusted 3 times and they got quite short with me in the end and hung up on me, I gave up and watched the directors commentary version. You'll quickly learn that everyone in the world loves the Sound of Music except the Austrians!

Room Tip: The road out front is quite busy, rooms may be noisy but I'm not sure. My room facing the car pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Address: St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hirschen", for generations owned by the same family, is a traiditional, constantly improved and renovated quality 4-stars-hotel, ideally situated, with a choice of spacious and charming rooms, all airconditined, a beautiful (free) sauna-complex, a traditional, cosy and locally popular organic restaurant with moderate rates and a large beergarden as well as a large parking place. (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Hotel Salzburg
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.