We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - we'll situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen to your Saves list
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - we'll situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Although a little pricey for November, we have nothing but compliments for the hotel and staff. The room was very comfortable; staff was courteous; and food was excellent. We'll situated near the main station, an excellent stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    232
    63
    16
    8
See reviews for
120
207
20
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great location - near to the station but a pleasant 7-10 minute walk into the old town (Alstadt). Welcoming with nice touches, clean and warm. Bikes can be hired for 12E a day - highly recommended! Spacious rooms and a range of saunas to choose from. The steam room was closed which was a shame but still a lovely experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel was completely average. Average rooms, average size, average location. It's about a 20 minute walk from the city centre, but mostly a nice walk along the river. It is close to the train station too. Breakfast was not included in our rate, so we did not try it. The hotel's charm comes only from the deer cushions, which are everywhere, but other than that there is nothing special about this hotel. For the price, I would stay somewhere closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano-Italia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

20 minutes by walk from city center, booked a premium room and got a superbe junior suite!!!!! Cosy place, great service and helpfull staff! We spent an our in the SPA, with lot of saunas.
A great place to stay in Salzburg!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my bf just last week. We got a nice surprise when we entered the room. The room is so spacious and the bathroom is also v big with space for 2 sinks and one dressing table. Room is v clean. Wifi was v strong too, with no interruptions during our 1 night stay there.

Staff was v helpful, giving us city map and letting us know where we can find food etc. Location was v gd too, around 5 mins from the train station.

On the day of check out, as our train is only at 1.45pm in the afternoon, we requested for late checkout at 12.45pm (normal check out time is 12pm) and the staff allowed it :) this gives us time to have a packed lunch in our hotel room before the train ride. If not, we would be rushing out for lunch and rushing back again to collect our luggages. :)

Would definitely stay here again if we were to come to Salzburg again. :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great hotel, great location. Very clean and well appointed. Spacious with rooftop saunas. Very friendly staff. All in all an excellent value and would definetely stay here again. Didnt try the restaurant but it looked good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked this hotel for it's location close to the station and ended up not catching a train but driving. There is parking at 6E per day which is great and if you do catch the train it is very close to the station. We were able to easily get into town and the taxi to get in was about 5E or so but you could walk if you had the time and the energy.

Our room was shabby but quaint in a weird way. One of the main issues we had was there were two beds in the room but no room for two suitcases. So we had to trip over one and place it on top of the bed when we were not in the room. When in the room it was awkward as there was no room for the suitcase. The other major issue was the heat of the room. Seriously hot. We tried adjusting the temperature of the room to cooler but nothing happened. We had to have the window open but it was a very small window and didn't want to stay open. There was tea and coffee making in the room.

When we reported the heating issue to the staff they admitted they the controls were broken and they couldn't turn the heater off. They offered us another room but as we were only there one more night, we had better things to do that pack up our gear and switch rooms so we persevered with the hot room.

Breakfast was a serious disappointment and absolutely NOT worth 12E each. being allergic to dairy I expected a selection of other foods as we had for the other 3 weeks of our trip all over Europe. This was not the case. There was only a couple of poor quality meats, some rather odd scrambled eggs, no bacon. To be honest, you could pretty much eat anywhere else and be happier with the value than here.

I must say though, the staff were lovely and helpful. They really were. Credit where credit is due. they gave us maps, made a couple of phone calls for us and were good to deal with. WiFi is free and works fine.

The hotel could do with a spruce up though, from what we saw it is a little dated but you do get a nice family sort of feel to it.

Room Tip: Make sure the heating and cooling works in your room. Eat breakfast in town or at the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Address: St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hirschen", for generations owned by the same family, is a traiditional, constantly improved and renovated quality 4-stars-hotel, ideally situated, with a choice of spacious and charming rooms, all airconditined, a beautiful (free) sauna-complex, a traditional, cosy and locally popular organic restaurant with moderate rates and a large beergarden as well as a large parking place. (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Hotel Salzburg
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.