We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short holyday but really relaxing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen to your Saves list
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Bolzano-Italia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Short holyday but really relaxing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

20 minutes by walk from city center, booked a premium room and got a superbe junior suite!!!!! Cosy place, great service and helpfull staff! We spent an our in the SPA, with lot of saunas.
A great place to stay in Salzburg!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    241
    69
    16
    8
See reviews for
128
218
20
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my bf just last week. We got a nice surprise when we entered the room. The room is so spacious and the bathroom is also v big with space for 2 sinks and one dressing table. Room is v clean. Wifi was v strong too, with no interruptions during our 1 night stay there.

Staff was v helpful, giving us city map and letting us know where we can find food etc. Location was v gd too, around 5 mins from the train station.

On the day of check out, as our train is only at 1.45pm in the afternoon, we requested for late checkout at 12.45pm (normal check out time is 12pm) and the staff allowed it :) this gives us time to have a packed lunch in our hotel room before the train ride. If not, we would be rushing out for lunch and rushing back again to collect our luggages. :)

Would definitely stay here again if we were to come to Salzburg again. :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great hotel, great location. Very clean and well appointed. Spacious with rooftop saunas. Very friendly staff. All in all an excellent value and would definetely stay here again. Didnt try the restaurant but it looked good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked this hotel for it's location close to the station and ended up not catching a train but driving. There is parking at 6E per day which is great and if you do catch the train it is very close to the station. We were able to easily get into town and the taxi to get in was about 5E or so but you could walk if you had the time and the energy.

Our room was shabby but quaint in a weird way. One of the main issues we had was there were two beds in the room but no room for two suitcases. So we had to trip over one and place it on top of the bed when we were not in the room. When in the room it was awkward as there was no room for the suitcase. The other major issue was the heat of the room. Seriously hot. We tried adjusting the temperature of the room to cooler but nothing happened. We had to have the window open but it was a very small window and didn't want to stay open. There was tea and coffee making in the room.

When we reported the heating issue to the staff they admitted they the controls were broken and they couldn't turn the heater off. They offered us another room but as we were only there one more night, we had better things to do that pack up our gear and switch rooms so we persevered with the hot room.

Breakfast was a serious disappointment and absolutely NOT worth 12E each. being allergic to dairy I expected a selection of other foods as we had for the other 3 weeks of our trip all over Europe. This was not the case. There was only a couple of poor quality meats, some rather odd scrambled eggs, no bacon. To be honest, you could pretty much eat anywhere else and be happier with the value than here.

I must say though, the staff were lovely and helpful. They really were. Credit where credit is due. they gave us maps, made a couple of phone calls for us and were good to deal with. WiFi is free and works fine.

The hotel could do with a spruce up though, from what we saw it is a little dated but you do get a nice family sort of feel to it.

Room Tip: Make sure the heating and cooling works in your room. Eat breakfast in town or at the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I were travelling around by train and wanted a hotel close to the station while within walking distance of the main city sights. However, we did not wish to compromise on the quality of the hotel experience. So trusting other Trip Advisor reviewers we selected this one. It met our requirements perfectly.

The room was nicely furnished with a good bathroom, was a very good size, and most importantly spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet was good, and the staff helpful and pleasant. I do not feel I can actually justify giving a score of 5 but it is certainly worth 4+

As for the location - really close to the station and easy to find, but with no noise. It is a very short way along the road on which the hotel is situated to the nearest point of the river, alongside which it was a really pleasant stroll into the heart of the city.

We also really enjoyed dinner in the associated (but operated completely separately, as one of the receptionists was at pains to point out) restaurant. So much so on our first night that we booked a table there for each of our further 2 nights stay and really enjoyed each meal. The waitresses were amazing in their cheerfulness and how they coped with the workload. The restaurant was an added bonus as we like to eat early and be close to our hotel after our meal so that it is easy to get back - not a problem when it is on the premises and opens early!

We really enjoyed our stay here and are very happy to recommend it. We would certainly stay here again if we were visiting Salzburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baia Mare, Romania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed for one night - young couple, without children. The hotel is situated on the border of the tourist area, which means you can visit everything of interest on foot. Very convenient. They offer private parking -worth 6 eur/day. The breakfast was a bit disappointing - the quality of the products (cheeses and hams) was way below 4 stars... definitely not worth 12 eur/person!

Room Tip: the rooms with a wiew to the inner courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

More than lived up to the rave reviews - great location close to the railway station, shops and restaurants and not too far from the Old Town. Superb service - our online travel agent had included something on out itinerary that the hotel does not normally offer for free, and the desk staff gave us the inclusion with no pushback and then dealt with the travel agent directly, instead of giving us any kind of runaround. Wonderful room - spacious, clean and well-appointed. Breakfast was great, and we even dined at the hotel's restaurant on a couple of nights. Any request to the front desk was handled quickly and with great friendliness.

Room Tip: Superior room was inexpensive and extremely comfortable. Back of hotel faces quiet courtyard and pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Address: St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hirschen", for generations owned by the same family, is a traiditional, constantly improved and renovated quality 4-stars-hotel, ideally situated, with a choice of spacious and charming rooms, all airconditined, a beautiful (free) sauna-complex, a traditional, cosy and locally popular organic restaurant with moderate rates and a large beergarden as well as a large parking place. (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Hotel Salzburg
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.