We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Save Saved
You added ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Yellowknife
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great hotel, great location. Very clean and well appointed. Spacious with rooftop saunas. Very friendly staff. All in all an excellent value and would definetely stay here again. Didnt try the restaurant but it looked good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    216
    60
    18
    9
See reviews for
100
181
13
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked this hotel for it's location close to the station and ended up not catching a train but driving. There is parking at 6E per day which is great and if you do catch the train it is very close to the station. We were able to easily get into town and the taxi to get in was about 5E or so but you could walk if you had the time and the energy.

Our room was shabby but quaint in a weird way. One of the main issues we had was there were two beds in the room but no room for two suitcases. So we had to trip over one and place it on top of the bed when we were not in the room. When in the room it was awkward as there was no room for the suitcase. The other major issue was the heat of the room. Seriously hot. We tried adjusting the temperature of the room to cooler but nothing happened. We had to have the window open but it was a very small window and didn't want to stay open. There was tea and coffee making in the room.

When we reported the heating issue to the staff they admitted they the controls were broken and they couldn't turn the heater off. They offered us another room but as we were only there one more night, we had better things to do that pack up our gear and switch rooms so we persevered with the hot room.

Breakfast was a serious disappointment and absolutely NOT worth 12E each. being allergic to dairy I expected a selection of other foods as we had for the other 3 weeks of our trip all over Europe. This was not the case. There was only a couple of poor quality meats, some rather odd scrambled eggs, no bacon. To be honest, you could pretty much eat anywhere else and be happier with the value than here.

I must say though, the staff were lovely and helpful. They really were. Credit where credit is due. they gave us maps, made a couple of phone calls for us and were good to deal with. WiFi is free and works fine.

The hotel could do with a spruce up though, from what we saw it is a little dated but you do get a nice family sort of feel to it.

Room Tip: Make sure the heating and cooling works in your room. Eat breakfast in town or at the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I were travelling around by train and wanted a hotel close to the station while within walking distance of the main city sights. However, we did not wish to compromise on the quality of the hotel experience. So trusting other Trip Advisor reviewers we selected this one. It met our requirements perfectly.

The room was nicely furnished with a good bathroom, was a very good size, and most importantly spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet was good, and the staff helpful and pleasant. I do not feel I can actually justify giving a score of 5 but it is certainly worth 4+

As for the location - really close to the station and easy to find, but with no noise. It is a very short way along the road on which the hotel is situated to the nearest point of the river, alongside which it was a really pleasant stroll into the heart of the city.

We also really enjoyed dinner in the associated (but operated completely separately, as one of the receptionists was at pains to point out) restaurant. So much so on our first night that we booked a table there for each of our further 2 nights stay and really enjoyed each meal. The waitresses were amazing in their cheerfulness and how they coped with the workload. The restaurant was an added bonus as we like to eat early and be close to our hotel after our meal so that it is easy to get back - not a problem when it is on the premises and opens early!

We really enjoyed our stay here and are very happy to recommend it. We would certainly stay here again if we were visiting Salzburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baia Mare, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed for one night - young couple, without children. The hotel is situated on the border of the tourist area, which means you can visit everything of interest on foot. Very convenient. They offer private parking -worth 6 eur/day. The breakfast was a bit disappointing - the quality of the products (cheeses and hams) was way below 4 stars... definitely not worth 12 eur/person!

Room Tip: the rooms with a wiew to the inner courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

More than lived up to the rave reviews - great location close to the railway station, shops and restaurants and not too far from the Old Town. Superb service - our online travel agent had included something on out itinerary that the hotel does not normally offer for free, and the desk staff gave us the inclusion with no pushback and then dealt with the travel agent directly, instead of giving us any kind of runaround. Wonderful room - spacious, clean and well-appointed. Breakfast was great, and we even dined at the hotel's restaurant on a couple of nights. Any request to the front desk was handled quickly and with great friendliness.

Room Tip: Superior room was inexpensive and extremely comfortable. Back of hotel faces quiet courtyard and pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during our Germany/Austria tour, we arrived by train from Koblenz and the hotel is easy to find being a short 5/10 mins walk from Hbf, Check in ok ,room was the biggest we had while we were away , and furniture was more traditional in style, also this was the only hotel that provided tea/coffee making facilities. Bathroom was large, but toilet was in funny location behind the door. We did not have breakfast so cannot comment as to its value/standard.
The hotel is a good walk into the town and the full selection of bars/restaurants, although we did have a drink in the hotel beer garden which was nice.
This was a clean, very nice traditional hotel that by Salzburg prices was very good value for money, if you are arriving and leaving by train as we were then this also provides a very good location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The most conveniently located hotel of our trip as it's a 5 min walk from the train station and only a 15 min walk from the town centre. The double room was clean and very tidy with all the facilities you would expect. Unusually, the air-con broke in our room and we were upgraded rather than simply moved. The same occurrence again and not only were we upgraded to a suite, but sparkling wine and a note were left in the room for us. Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel, who you felt wanted to look after you and you were not an inconvenience.
We also chose the hotel for the spa facilities which are very much Turkish steam baths so might not be to everyone's taste. The breakfast has the best selection of food, but for €8 make sure you go there hungry!!
Overall very good hotel, accommodating and helpful staff, and great location for experiencing Salzburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Address: St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#19 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hirschen", for generations owned by the same family, is a traiditional, constantly improved and renovated quality 4-stars-hotel, ideally situated, with a choice of spacious and charming rooms, all airconditined, a beautiful (free) sauna-complex, a traditional, cosy and locally popular organic restaurant with moderate rates and a large beergarden as well as a large parking place. (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Hotel Salzburg
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.