We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be going back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Save Saved
You added ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 134 hotels in Salzburg
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Will be going back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Was expecting good things from the reviews I had already read but was still bowled over by it. The room (more like suite) was magnificent and the staff most welcoming and helpful. Was impressed by the staff wearing traditional costumes (still can't get my head round seeing an indian lady in a dirndl instead of a sari) until I realised everyone seemed to be wearing them the week we were there! Very close to the station and an easy bus ride from the Altstadt. I recommend the purchase of a Salzburg card for your stay - we covered the cost of a 48 hour card in the first 24 hours! These cards are readily available at reception.

We were only there for 3 days but, be assured, a return visit is already planned for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    202
    58
    15
    8
See reviews for
103
186
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The area is not the best one, rooms ok but old. Clean, quete , windows in the room locate hi, so you can't see what's going out when you are in the forthe floor. Strange. 15 minute walking to the old city and in the evening it's better to take taxi or tram back to the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is about 15mins walk from the old town, so really handy for accessing the main sights and attractions plus restaurants and shopping. Our room was lovely and spacious and over clean, a great base from which to explore Salzburg. I noticed others say it takes much longer to walk into town, we walk quite fast but even at an amble it shouldn't take more than half hour.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nice reception. Nice foyer. Nice bar and restaurant. Big room. Nice decor and very clean. Very clean throughout. Location great for train station. A bit of a walk to the old town which is the place to go. Nice walk in nice weather a bit of a pain in awful weather. Very good overall. Not sure what else you would need in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

First the positives: Close to train station. Staff polite and helpful storing our luggage before check- in, making restaurant reservations, helping with bus and taxi transportation, finding ATMs. Rooms spacious, and one of our 2 rooms had 2 showers. Parking lot available, although we didn't use it. Comfortable enough if it were considered an average or economy hotel. Negatives: Garbage bags still in the hallway from cleaning at 5 pm, not very welcoming! Breakfast not included in room rate. Neighborhood somewhat run down, not at all charming, with few good restaurants, bakeries nearby. Building and furnishings a bit simple and drab, interior maintained in ok condition, but decor in need of updating and repainting. Single beds were "fold outs," not real beds, which is ok for one extra smaller child, but not very nice when you're paying a rather expensive full price for a separate double room for young adults and neither bed is a real bed. Elevator is small and feels like a freight elevator. Hallways a bit more narrow and dark than in most hotels, utilitarian, not inviting. On this trip, the same money bought us more elegant rooms in better locations, with great breakfasts, in Munich and in another popular small town in Bavaria. This is definitely a 3 star hotel at best, and we're surprised it ever got 4 stars even when new. It's good enough in a pinch if you get a good price, and it's convenient to the train, but 4 stars is a misrepresentation. It was not good enough quality for the price we paid, so we would not stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days during 2013 February. A fair enough hotel close to salzburg railway station. Good and pleasant place to stay with staff speaking good English unlike most other part of Austria.

It has almost everything you need in a hotel room while you are on a trip to explore salzburg. There is a small little pub on the ground floor which serves good pork dishes and some good alcohol selections too.

Actually just 5 minutes walking distance to the railway station of Salzburg, located centrally. There are couple of other good restaurants and pubs at close walking distance. We went to some of these for dinner as we wanted to try out different places.

Overall, as mentioned above a good hotel provided you plan to spend a maximum time outside the hotel as there are very less to do at the hotel. Very friendly staff, would take good time to really explain whatever information you require.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

5 mins walking distance from Salzberg train station. There are direct trams to old town. The staff are helpful. The room come with living room, that exceeded my expectation, free Wi-fi. My wife was delighted to see the Mozart balls when she entered the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Address: St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hirschen", for generations owned by the same family, is a traiditional, constantly improved and renovated quality 4-stars-hotel, ideally situated, with a choice of spacious and charming rooms, all airconditined, a beautiful (free) sauna-complex, a traditional, cosy and locally popular organic restaurant with moderate rates and a large beergarden as well as a large parking place. (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Hotel Salzburg
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.