We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in Salzburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Graz
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in Salzburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Finding a good and reasonably priced hotel in Salzburg is a difficult task - especially in Summer or around Christmas. This hotel is a good compromise between price, distance to the city center, comfort and cleanness. It is not as stylish as other big hotel in Salzburg, but much cheaper and also gives you a little bit of special touch reminding of the old days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    199
    57
    17
    9
See reviews for
91
163
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Me and my wife stayed one night in Jan 2013 for a sightseeing weekend and found the hotel clean, helpful and overall a nice friendly stay. We booked a superior room and found it to be large, with plenty of bathroom space and a very good shower room. The bed was comfortable, however, the pillows were not so and there were no extras available in the room. The breakfast was good and plenty to choose from. The distance to the city centre is roughly a 15 minute walk, and if you make your way to the river and walk along the riverside, a very picturesque one when walking in to the city at night. Overall, a pleasant stay and we would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

stayed 4 nights last christmas, hotel is only 7 minutes (walking distance) from train station, 3 bus stops away from the old part of the town, clean rooms, helpful staff, great breakfast, hotel has a restaurant where you can have lunch or dinner with reasonable prices, cosy loby. i strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: rooms looking at the back yard are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent a night at the Hotel Zum Hirschen following our skiing holiday in the Tauern mountains. The Zum Hirschen is within easy walking distance from Salzburg's main train station; we had plenty of luggage and found it easy enough to walk. A very friendly receptionist greeted us and provided all important logistical information about the hotel as well as directions to the main sightseeing attractions in Salzburg's old town district.
The rooms were large and very clean; triple glazing ensured we did not hear the traffic on the St Julienstrasse at night. The hotel has an attached restaurant, we ate our dinner there and found the local dishes served their very acceptable.
To our surprise we found a Spa area on the top floor of the hotel, towels and bathrobes were provided free of charge.
In summary we would consider this hotel again on a similar occasion in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

2012, my wife and I stayed this hotel for one night.
Simply say, It has a good location (5 min to train station), good service and attitude front end help help desk.(really helpful), equipped with free WI-FI. Room is clean and moderate size for 2 of us. Definitely, we will visit this hotel in May this year again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice hotel with friendly service just a 5 minute walk from the central train station, and a good value for the price. Our room was very comfortable and a triple room had plenty of space and 3 twin beds. Staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast is additional but well worth it and the restaurant area is charming. They provide terrycloth robes on request. The sauna area is largely unattended but saunas come quickly up to fiery hot--Americans be advised you may discover you are not in Kansas anymore (nudity is the social norm, though not required--ask for extra towels at the front desk, along with your robe).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Having researched hotels in Salzburg for weeks, we settled upon the ACHAT as it was within our budget and the reviews on TA were very good.

We weren't disappointed with our stay. The hotel is very charming and has a very personal feel. We tend to stay at trendy modern hotels but couldn't find anything that suited within our budget in Salzburg, so this isn't the hotel for you if you're looking for ultra modern.

The reasons why this hotel dropped a star for me was firstly the location. It's a very pleasant 15-20 minutes walk away from the Old Town, but literally has NOWHERE nearby to go for a quick drink or a bite to eat on a cold night. Our room was lovely and clean, but not spotless. I do understand that a fully tiled bathroom and wooden floors are very difficult to keep clean, but there was fluff in corners and the odd hair (not ours) on the tiles in the bathroom. The breakfast was fabulous with a fantastic choice and beautifully prepared and fresh, but the breakfast room could have done with a little bit more atmosphere (maybe just a bit of quiet music playing in the background???).

Having said all of that, the staff were extremely pleasant at all times, and we thought that the hotel was very good value for money indeed. I would certainly consider staying at the ACHAT again, but probably only if I couldn't find a better deal nearer to town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Also Known As:
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Hotel Salzburg
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Salzburg
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Hotel
Address: St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hirschen", for generations owned by the same family, is a traiditional, constantly improved and renovated quality 4-stars-hotel, ideally situated, with a choice of spacious and charming rooms, all airconditined, a beautiful (free) sauna-complex, a traditional, cosy and locally popular organic restaurant with moderate rates and a large beergarden as well as a large parking place. (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen to your Saves list