We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the nicer side of average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Save Saved
You added ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“On the nicer side of average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We had rented a car, and found the hotel quite easily as it is on a fairly major intersection. We weren't sure about parking, and parked on the street at first, but were told to move to the lot for 6 euros a day to avoid a ticket. We noticed a cute little patio area out in the back parking lot to sit outside, although we didn't use it.

The young man who checked us in didn't seem to know much about the area- the parking thing for instance. We weren't offered maps or things to do either, so we were glad to have our own materials ready to go.

Our room was pretty nice- new looking laminate flooring, a huge bathroom with tub and double sink, sitting chair and table. There was a kettle and tea and coffee (much appreciated!) and standard pricey mini-bar. Hint to the wise- there is a Bolla(?) across the street, and a gas station down the street- buy your own snacks and drinks and save money (the gas station has some single serve wines for only 2 euros). Even though we faced the main street, the double windows cut out all the street noise, and it was nice an quiet.

We had breakfast in the hotel one morning- didn't really find it worth the 14 euros each, but it was convenient. Don't expect anyone to take notice of you, because they won't. It was kind of honour system- if we hadn't told the staff at checkout that we had had breakfast, they wouldn't have known.

Location- we thought it was in a great location. Only about a 15 minute walk to Mirabelle palace, half hour to the old side of the city, very close to the rail station, and on bus routes. There is a bank machine and aforementioned grocery store and petrol station nearby. Even though the area seemed a little dodgy the first night, we found it very safe, quiet and clean, even walking into old town at night. If you leave the hotel front doors and turn right, you can walk to the river trail and take the lovely river trail all the way to the old part of town. It takes a bit longer, but it is a very pretty walk, and would also be great for runners or people who have rented bikes.

All in all, we thought this was a nice place, and we'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    217
    60
    18
    9
See reviews for
100
181
14
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leonberg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I was a little nervous since I payed for the rooms in advance in order to have such a great rate. ACHAT did NOT disappoint :) There were yummy local chocolates on the pillow and the desk clerk was dressed in a traditional dirndl--cute for me as a touristy tourist. I am only sad that I did not get a photo with her... Complimentary mineral water in the room (not in the fridge) as well as a kettle for coffee and tea (also provided). Day staff very knowledgeable about where things are and local attractions. Evening guy was a little bewildered when I asked for a baby bed but he called up to the room to tell me he would work on it. Though the guy could not get me a baby bed for the first night (I had not requested one in advance), he left mention for the morning staff and one was brought into the room while we were out for the day. Bathrooms were very clean and spacious. The family room we booked for our accompanying family had a separate room for the adults and children. The hotel is located near the main train and bus station (5 min walk), laundry services about a 10 minute walk away (in the cinema complex), and about 15-20 minute walk from the Altstadt. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Room Tip: Booked online with Venere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caruaru, PE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a week completely alone. It was a great experience!!! The hotel is near Mirabell Palace and in walking distance to Mozart's bithplace and the most important tourist attractions. The hall and the rooms are very cozy and charming, staff are gentle and helpful, and speak English very well. My single room was really warm, which was great because the temperature outside was incredibly low for the beginning of july. the bathroom was big and nice. When I arrived at the hotel, there was a Mirabell chocolate on my pillow. Loved it! I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011 via mobile

The Achat was very comfortable and clean. The bed was comfortable and the large shower was more typical of American size showers, which was great after the smaller showers of our previous travels. The walls were a bit thin, but overall it was great.

We opted for the breakfast, which was awesome and a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The hotel is closed to the train station, if you travel by train, I strongly recommend this hotel. The room is large and comfortable with free drinking water, coffee facility and free wifi internet. Bathroom is large and clean. The hotel is generous, they provide free drinking water and tea at the fitness center and apples at the lobby. I love Mozart chocolate on our pillows and the 'Sound of Music' on TV. It may be a bit far from the old town but it is very convenient to take a bus. Almost all buses passing near the hotel go to the old town and they come very often. You can save a lot of money from it's location but it is almost as convenient as staying in the old town. I love Salzburg, it's a lovely city. There are many things so see and the people here is very nice. I'd love to come back and definitely want to stay at this hotel again. It is the best hotel in our 2 weeks trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

The staff at Reception was selective in her treatment of guests. When we checked in, she did not bother to give us a map of the city or orientate us. We had to ask before she (with an impersonal and superficial smile) said anything about the local attractions. However, we witnessed her change in manner when she checked in European guests. Even when the couple was uninterested, the Receptionist was extremely earnest in providing a map of the city, plus a presentation of the various local attractions worth visiting! The furniture in the room was archaic and spooky. It looked like a set from a horror movie. The room was crammed and the bathroom was small and not very clean. I can't understand how the hotel got a 4-star rating!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I got a great price on the hotel from their website. If you are arriving by train it is a great choice since it's only 2 blocks from the train station. The bathroom were great, but the sleeping area was tight and the beds and pillows terrible. The walk to the historic area was about 15 minutes which is okay, but you can find closer hotels. Be leery of using the buses at night since they do not stop near the hotel after a certain time. The area around the hotel is sketchy, so I would not venture out if traveling alone. Overall it was a good deal and I would consider staying there again. Watch out for the charges, we did not eat breakfast and they tried to charge us anyway. Luckily this was taken off the bill with no problems.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Address: St Julien Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hirschen", for generations owned by the same family, is a traiditional, constantly improved and renovated quality 4-stars-hotel, ideally situated, with a choice of spacious and charming rooms, all airconditined, a beautiful (free) sauna-complex, a traditional, cosy and locally popular organic restaurant with moderate rates and a large beergarden as well as a large parking place. (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Hotel Salzburg
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.