We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quality and close to the old city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rainerstrasse 14, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“good quality and close to the old city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights, the hotel was clean, comfortable, the room and bathroom were spacious. They served fresh and tasty meals at breakfast lunch and dinner. The hotel is about 10mins walk to the old town, very close to the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    192
    70
    34
    8
See reviews for
74
122
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Lovely, spacious and comfortable room, very clean with kettle, tea and coffee provided. Good location, short walk to town. We stayed here for four nights and did not hear any noise from trains even though hotel close to tracks. Breakfast was excellent, wide selection of good quality food. Really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Location is quite good, it was 10-15 mins walking to train station and main attraction.
The staff on the check-in desk is also helpful and friendly, they provide you free city maps.
We did ask the room with double bed but it seems to be two attached single beds instead of one double beds. The rest are fine, the bathroom is also spacious.
Just, don't be confused as there are 2 Best Western hotels side-by-side.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel Stieglbräu was't that bad. My husband and I stayed here in May of 2003 for 4 nights. Though location is about 10 minutes by foot from the train station, we didn't hear any train noise at at all. We actually asked for a double room but we got twin beds put together to form a double bed. Beds were quite hard which made it impossible for me to sleep soundly. Got aching shoulders after our first night. Standard rooms were quite small but spotlessly clean. There was energy-saving AC, hairdryer, minibar, complementary coffee with water boiler in the room, TV with very basic channels (which we didn't use that much). This was a 4-star hotel so I was just wondering why they don't provide sanitary bags (Hygienbeutel) in bathrooms. I hope they'll think about this in the future.

Reception was okay but a smile wouldn't hurt. Anyway, we got everything we needed from them. Safe is available only at the reception. Restaurant Stieglbräu serves good food and waiters are also very friendly. Just beware of the sample beer that comes with bread and dip they serve you at the beginning without ordering for it - we thought it was also complimentary since we didnt really ask for it - but you actually get charged 2.60 Euros for it. I asked why was that and the only answer we got from the manager was "It's restaurant custom." I found it quite annoying because we dont really drink beer and there they were charging us for an appetizer which we didn't really want :( Try settling this first before ordering anything from the restaurant.

We enjoyed Salzburg though the Hotel lacked a bit of warmth. I don't know if Hotels in Salzburg are really that expensive for what you get. We live in Switzerland and we get the same service for the price of a three-star hotel. We were also in Barcelona and stayed in a three-star hotel which had amenities like a five-star.

Try looking at other options first. If Stieglbräu is the cheapest option, then stay here - it's not bad. I would, however, look for another hotel in Salzburg, the next time we go there. We don't need to downgrade but for the same price, maybe we'll get more in other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We were worried about train noise being so close to the tracks... We asked for a room away from the tracks but of course they charge extra. In any case were assured the windows are 'sound proof'. I bet not one staff member has stayed overnight, as through the day with other ambient noise the trains blended into the background - but at night in the quiet they sounded as if they were rushing past your pillow - rooms not soundproof!!

But honestly - in the end, the train noise was the least of the noise issues this hotel has. We were on the 4th floor and had floating floorboards, as did our upstairs neighbours who, whenever they moved a chair, sent an almighty awful sound straight down to us, all hours early and late!!! Not to mention when either they, or either side neighbours showered, it sounded like a waterfall in the middle of the room...

Then on top of that, you can hear a pin drop from outside in the foyer, people entering and exiting rooms, all conversations, foot steps, people walking up and down stairs - room service bashing around!!!

Seriously most noisy hotel EVER!!!

Apart from noise though - perfect...
It's a shame.

I don't recommend this place if you like a nice sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the 1 nite and found it to be great.The room was spacious and clean,parking just around the corner and reasonably priced.Direct 10 minute walk into town,just turn left out of the door and just go straight,passing Mirabell Gardens on your right as you reach the centre.Was surprised to read reviews about noise from trains,maybe it was just our room,but we didn't hear a thing.Reception staff were very helpful and both check in and out quick and efficient.Found this hotel to be good value for money and would use again if staying in Salzburg.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in April 2013 and would recommend this hotel.
Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay, provided a free map of Salzburg and were very happy to look after our luggage after we had checked out.
The room was spacious and had a kettle provided with free tea and coffee. Great shower. Only negative was that the room was initially very warm, but we soon managed to sort that.
Breakfast was great and was available until 10am. Lots of food available - cereal, fruit, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, ham, cheese, breads - the full works!
An added bonus was that check out was 11am so no need to rush after breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau

Also Known As:
Best Western Stieglbrau
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western
Best Western Hotel Salzburg
Address: Rainerstrasse 14, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#38 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the city; short walk to all the historic sights & the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.