We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable hotel in Salzburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rainerstrasse 14, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
argentina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable hotel in Salzburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed two night in this nice hotel. Everything was right. Food, accomodation, frindly environment, etc. In general Best Wetern hotels in Europe is a good choice!!!

Room Tip: Ask the bell boy, he will tell you the truth,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    209
    72
    35
    9
See reviews for
78
134
32
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Not bad at all the food is great and very rich .
The room is quiet nice a bit small but not noisy at all.
The hotel is well situated regarding the city center.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The hotel is definitely older. Location is great, easy walk to/from the train station as well as to/from the old town. Room we were in was huge and a suite, I think we may have been upgraded. But it was quite dated. At least it was clean and other than one light and the TV remote, everything was in working order. We only stayed 2 nights so it was fine. Definitely a 2 -2.5 star hotel, I think many sites rate it higher which is misleading.
Breakfast was decent but like the room, nothing special. We got a bit delayed waiting for a huge tour group to eat one morning but no big deal since we were not on a tight schedule at all. Something to be wary of if you are on a schedule.
If you just want somewhere crash for a couple of nights when visiting Salzburg, the hotel is fine. Just don't expect a whole lot and definitely make sure you get a decent rate (I think we paid around 100 Euro per night or a bit less). Otherwise, you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Reception were polite, although not quite well informed. We asked to see the room first and were shown another, similar to it because ours was not ready yet; 5 minutes later we confirmed we take it and were given the key to our actual room(which was apparently ready the whole time). Room was very small and could do with some renovation. There is no WiFi in rooms, the remote control of the TV didn't work. The mattress was hard and my back hurt in the morning. A group of sockets worked only if the light in the corridor was on (?!) and I found out in the morning when I discovered that my cell phone hadn't been charged and couldn't use it that day.
Overall, the hotel is dated and overpriced. The only advantage is the location, close to train and bus station and a decent walk from all major attractions.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The hotel's advantage is definitely its vicinity to the station, 5 to 10 minutes and you are there. Apart from that its offer is average to below average. Upon our arrival we were offered a room for EUR 130, even though their online price stated EUR 87. After several minutes we were eventually offered the same price. The hotel is rated 4-stars but looks kinda dated and more like a 2-star. Instead of the enquiried double room we only got a very narrow twin room which was overall clean (the shower curtain was rather stained though) but only offered the most basic commodities. Breakfast was optionally and charged at EUR 20 a person, an offer which we passed on.

Overall (especially for the station related location) probably okay for one night, but for what it offers by far overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights. The accommodations were satisfactory without any exceptional features. Staff were knowledgeable and polite, the room was adequately equipped and clean. The restaurant, open to the public, provided a comprehensive buffet breakfast at additional charge. The hotel is about half a mile from the bus and rail stations, and a mile from bridges to the Old Town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

The hotel was decent. They have a restaurant, not sure if it was good or not. Breakfast is extra. If you have a car, you can go out and get something to eat. The location is not in the most ideal part of the city, but definitely not dangerous. With some walking or driving around, you can find some eateries that you might like or want. Fairly close to the highway and train station. There is a fee for parking in their parking lot, but you can easily park on the street adjacent to the hotel if any spaces are available. You would have to leave by 9am.

The hotel room is quite tiny, but efficient. If you don't mind twin beds, the price is OK. The noise from the trains operating in the early morning can be somewhat annoying. The floors outside of the rooms are of smooth tile, so the echo from other guestroom doors being closed could be heard and those with shoes that make noise (heels), good luck! You can hear it all. The rooms itself are carpeted. Nothing fancy here if you want a short stay that won't cost an arm and leg.

Room Tip: A room away from the side street of the hotel might help with the noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau

Address: Rainerstrasse 14, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the city; short walk to all the historic sights & the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stieglbrau
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western
Best Western Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Stieglbrau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.