We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very no frills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Imlauer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Imlauer to your Saves list
Hotel Imlauer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rainerstrasse 14, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 136 Hotels in Salzburg
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good location, very no frills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The hotel is definitely older. Location is great, easy walk to/from the train station as well as to/from the old town. Room we were in was huge and a suite, I think we may have been upgraded. But it was quite dated. At least it was clean and other than one light and the TV remote, everything was in working order. We only stayed 2 nights so it was fine. Definitely a 2 -2.5 star hotel, I think many sites rate it higher which is misleading.
Breakfast was decent but like the room, nothing special. We got a bit delayed waiting for a huge tour group to eat one morning but no big deal since we were not on a tight schedule at all. Something to be wary of if you are on a schedule.
If you just want somewhere crash for a couple of nights when visiting Salzburg, the hotel is fine. Just don't expect a whole lot and definitely make sure you get a decent rate (I think we paid around 100 Euro per night or a bit less). Otherwise, you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    235
    85
    36
    8
See reviews for
97
176
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Reception were polite, although not quite well informed. We asked to see the room first and were shown another, similar to it because ours was not ready yet; 5 minutes later we confirmed we take it and were given the key to our actual room(which was apparently ready the whole time). Room was very small and could do with some renovation. There is no WiFi in rooms, the remote control of the TV didn't work. The mattress was hard and my back hurt in the morning. A group of sockets worked only if the light in the corridor was on (?!) and I found out in the morning when I discovered that my cell phone hadn't been charged and couldn't use it that day.
Overall, the hotel is dated and overpriced. The only advantage is the location, close to train and bus station and a decent walk from all major attractions.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The hotel's advantage is definitely its vicinity to the station, 5 to 10 minutes and you are there. Apart from that its offer is average to below average. Upon our arrival we were offered a room for EUR 130, even though their online price stated EUR 87. After several minutes we were eventually offered the same price. The hotel is rated 4-stars but looks kinda dated and more like a 2-star. Instead of the enquiried double room we only got a very narrow twin room which was overall clean (the shower curtain was rather stained though) but only offered the most basic commodities. Breakfast was optionally and charged at EUR 20 a person, an offer which we passed on.

Overall (especially for the station related location) probably okay for one night, but for what it offers by far overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights. The accommodations were satisfactory without any exceptional features. Staff were knowledgeable and polite, the room was adequately equipped and clean. The restaurant, open to the public, provided a comprehensive buffet breakfast at additional charge. The hotel is about half a mile from the bus and rail stations, and a mile from bridges to the Old Town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

The hotel was decent. They have a restaurant, not sure if it was good or not. Breakfast is extra. If you have a car, you can go out and get something to eat. The location is not in the most ideal part of the city, but definitely not dangerous. With some walking or driving around, you can find some eateries that you might like or want. Fairly close to the highway and train station. There is a fee for parking in their parking lot, but you can easily park on the street adjacent to the hotel if any spaces are available. You would have to leave by 9am.

The hotel room is quite tiny, but efficient. If you don't mind twin beds, the price is OK. The noise from the trains operating in the early morning can be somewhat annoying. The floors outside of the rooms are of smooth tile, so the echo from other guestroom doors being closed could be heard and those with shoes that make noise (heels), good luck! You can hear it all. The rooms itself are carpeted. Nothing fancy here if you want a short stay that won't cost an arm and leg.

Room Tip: A room away from the side street of the hotel might help with the noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We arrived to Salzburg by train and departed by train so proximity to train station was important. The hotel offers a very good value for your money. It is clean, functional, everything works, the staff was pleasant and helpful, free internet, very good breakfast. We walked to the old city every day, did not use taxis or public transportation. I would stay there again. For this particular stay we were not interested in luxury and extra comfort. Clean and pleasant accommodations including a good breakfast was our main concern. The hotel lived up to my expectations and more.

Room Tip: We chose the smallest room, two twin beds, rather smallish but it worked out great for us. We paid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Everything went as expected. The hotel is located surprisingly close to the train station, which made my connection to Munich very convenient. Also convenient is the closeness of the Maribel Palace (5 minutes) and the meeting point to Panorama Tours and Gray Line Tours (big bus tour companies). Not so convenient is the distance to the center of the tourist area. It's a generally flat 20-25 minute walk to the edge of the tourist area. The room was basic and clean. I was facing the train station and tracks and it was still quiet as long as the window was closed. Overall, the hotel came as expected from a Best Western.

Room Tip: May want to ask to get away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Altstadt
0.0 mi away
Hotel Markus Sittikus
Hotel Markus Sittikus
#57 of 136 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#23 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#19 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#72 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imlauer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imlauer

Address: Rainerstrasse 14, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imlauer 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the city you will find the BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Hotel Salzburg. This welcoming Salzburg city hotel awaits its guests with numerous comforts. It also delights its guests with its perfect location close to all the places of interest in the city of Mozart. Convenient for transportation, easy to reach and so close to the places of interest in the old town of Salzburg. The Hotel in the city center is the first choice for your Salzburg holiday. A total of 50 rooms, suites and apartments guarantee you a luxury hotel stay in Salzburg, the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Imlauer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stieglbrau
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western
Best Western Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Imlauer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.