We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Imlauer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Imlauer to your Saves list
Hotel Imlauer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rainerstrasse 14, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 136 Hotels in Salzburg
Finland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“OK hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Chekin was fast and friendly.

Had a car and was able to park at hotel/restaurant parking space. Charge for parking was put to hotel bill.

Requested a quiet room and got one against backside of hotel. Still there was some noice from railroad traffic.

Room was fairly small but in good condition.

WIFI was free with acceptable speed.

Breakfast was standard Austrian/German, i.e. according to my standards it was very good ! Especially the waiters were extremely polite and service minded -> very good ! This kind of service level I cannot recall to have seen in a long time.

Hotel is located appr 10-15 mins from downtown. This is just fine as long as you are prepared to walk.

Checkout was fairly fast and again friendly.

All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    240
    87
    37
    8
See reviews for
101
179
35
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This place was great. Our room was a fantastic size and had a really large bathroom. It was a 10 minute walk to the old town. If you can get a deal with breakfast included go for it as it is expensive if you do not and there is a lot without around without walking. There is a outdoor car park out the back for 10 euro a day which is pretty good for the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I had a single on the top floor for 4 nights. It was comfortable, clean, a good size and very quiet. You have to ask reception if you want a kettle. I got a very good deal online, however if I had had to pay the normal full price I would have stayed elsewhere as I do think it is overpriced for what you get. The location is good, 5 minutes from the train station and about a 15 minute walk to the old town. There are also 2 excellent vegetarian friendly places to eat nearby. (The Heart of Joy Cafe and My Indigo)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

It's a pretty standard Best Western. We had two twin beds, which was ok for a few nights. Pretty small room, bathroom was nice enough. It's located right by the train station (you can see the trains out the window). It's across the river from the main part of town, but the walk isn't bad. You walk past Mirabell gardens, which are beautiful and worth seeing. There's an attached restaurant with a beer garden with pretty standard Austrian food. Free wifi. Didn't have breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wescosville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
468 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

This hotel is a good place to stay. It is a bit of a walk to the old city but close to the older part of the newer city. You can walk from the train station but public transportation is easier. Try to get a romm not over the street because of the noise. (No A/C, typical of Europe). The staff is nice and helpful. The restaurant is a great place to eat. We ate breakfast in the town. The rooms are clean and roomy enough.

Room Tip: Stay away from the front rooms over the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

It's 10-minute walk from the train station, less than 5 minutes from Mirabell Garden&Palace. The room size is compact but not too small, I would say it's worth the price. Restaurant here isn't recommended, it's mundane. Even though it claims to be 4-star hotel, there was no such a service. A lamp in my room wasn't working and they couldn't get it fixed within my 2-night stay and they didn't apologize or compensate any to us. The staffs weren't that bad though, they're friendly but not very professional. However, there wifi was incredibly good without charge.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

thought it would be anonymous business place but was well kept friendly and efficient with good restaurant

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Altstadt
0.0 mi away
Hotel Markus Sittikus
Hotel Markus Sittikus
#58 of 136 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#27 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#76 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#23 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imlauer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imlauer

Address: Rainerstrasse 14, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imlauer 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the city you will find the BEST WESTERN Hotel Imlauer Hotel Salzburg. This welcoming Salzburg city hotel awaits its guests with numerous comforts. It also delights its guests with its perfect location close to all the places of interest in the city of Mozart. Convenient for transportation, easy to reach and so close to the places of interest in the old town of Salzburg. The Hotel in the city center is the first choice for your Salzburg holiday. A total of 50 rooms, suites and apartments guarantee you a luxury hotel stay in Salzburg, the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Imlauer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stieglbrau
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western
Best Western Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Imlauer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.