We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castellani Parkhotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Castellani Parkhotel to your Saves list
Castellani Parkhotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alpenstrasse 6, Salzburg A-5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
United States
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“OK Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a two night stay at Catellani. We were three adults .We were fortunate to get a room like a suite with two separate rooms. Very inconvenient to use the ironing table. Could not pull out the ironing table and the screws came out loose. Thought it would get fixed when the maid saw it and would report it. But stayed the same. Could not even remove the iron to iron the closes on bed.
Breakfast was average. Very crowded during breakfast times. Staff were overwhelmed and looked stressed out. Not very helpful during breakfast.
Overall it was an ok stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Manager at Castellani Parkhotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Dear bizlee,

First of all we want to thank you to give feedback to our hotel.

We are happy that you were satisfied with the room you had. We feel sorry about the problems with the ironing table. From this time on our staff will be more attentive to such things.

We regret that our staff was stressed out because of that many clients. We apologize for this and will optimize processes.

Just a few guests take their time to rate a hotel and just because of these guests we can improve our service.

We would be more than glad to welcome you again in our Hotel in order to convince you of our service.


Yours Sincerely,

General Manager
Gerhard Seid & Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    107
    45
    18
    7
See reviews for
38
91
18
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hotel room broken into due to faulty lock. Stayed two weeks with family in two rooms - someone knew our movements very well by end of stay and took advantage. Still traumatized. Hotel manager could have refunded about 900 ( or was it 600) euro by accessing hotel's insurance as all our money stolen. They were really scum about it all. Kept postponing it (the claim) to wait us out, knowing we had to leave the country. If we were residents, we could have appeared in court, but without witnesses to appear, hotel knew we had no case!
One family member who spoke german stayed another 2 months in Austria, but it wasn't long enough. Hotel procrastinated and they did it well.
Yes, I'm talking about you, as you are still the 'manager'!
Based on what we've read in other reviews, not much has changed.
We had Austrian legal representation, so found out about the standard hotel insurance all hotels are required to have to compensate guests who have money stolen from their rooms. Like I said, we were treated like an inconvenience, not like humans.
Hotel reception staff even sent the police ( with their fingerprinting equipment and other forensic tools) away, saying the did not know of any break in!!!!!
We had even told the staff we were expecting the police. They told the police we were out - a complete lie. We were on the top floor, waiting.
We had a hard time not touching anything until the police had a chance to return another time. How utterly slack is that??
Really rude staff who even had the temerity to lie to the police!
How could you? Shame on you!
I mean, really, imagine not admitting they had thieves accessing hotel guest's rooms? To the police, or even hiding it all from other guests, yes the did their best job hushing it all up.
Sad, sad, irresponsible and totally unprofessional.
Our worst holiday stay EVER.
Could nEVER recommend any of this hotel chain. Management like that is bred from the top down.
And their insurance would have covered it all anyway.
Completely unethical.
I'm happy to be contacted to verify all of this statement. Even took videos of the broken door latch and all the rest.
Will post video later, and photos when we have time.
Hotel management like this gives all a bad smell.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Manager at Castellani Parkhotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Traveller,
Dear Mrs S S,

Thank you very much, that you took time to rate our hotel.

We are sincerely sorry, that you gained such bad experience in your hotel in Salzburg. We would like to inform you that we provide our staff with best practice security trainings to ensure best security possible to our hotel rooms and as well as to our hotel guests.

Unfortunately we have to inform you, that we did not host any Australian guests during your stated period, where you and your family visited the city Salzburg. We also have no records of a theft or damaged doors. Would it be possible, that you mixed our hotel with another one?

Once again, we are deeply sorry for the unpleasant incident you experienced. However, we would be more than happy to welcome you in near future as our guest in the Castellani Parkhotel, in order to show you the real friendly Austrian hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager
Gerhard Seidl & the Castellani Parkhotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel rooms were small but clean and nice. The full length windows opened and allowed a cool breeze to come in. The hotel was quite a walk to the center of town, but a bus stops nearby. The buffet breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The outlook of the hotel (especially on the official photos) is very nice, but inside it is far-far behind of the quality reflected by the price of the hotel...
The rooms are very small, the furniture is very-very cheap, for 2-300 USD/night the "Ikea quality" furniture from 1980 is unacceptable.
The style of the bathroom is also a time lapse to the past, the TV in the room was purchased at least 15 years and has only german speaking channels...
Meanwhile he breakfast is excellent.
----------
If you arrive with children, keep them away from the horror paintings of the lobby area. What is the role of this horror exhibition, dear Hotel Management????

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Manager at Castellani Parkhotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest,
dear ArthurSmith66

Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your thoughts in this feedback with us.

Our hotel combines “modern with classic” and shows a little bit of the history of Salzburg. We have new and modern elements in our lobby and in our hotel part “Parkhotel” and the main building “Herrenhaus” stands for classic and the tradition of Salzburg.

The paintings in our lobby shows the actors of “Everyman”, which is the most popular event here in Salzburg at the festival in August.

We are sorry that we did not convince you with our high quality standards in our modern and also classic hotel near the Salzburg city centre.

Nevertheless we are happy that you liked our extensive breakfast offer.

Dear guest, we would be honored to welcoming you back at our hotel.
Best regards from Salzburg,

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager & Castellani Parkhotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a nice place to stay. The rooms are very clean and are a nice size. Found the staff to be very helpful. The grounds are well maintained. The location of the hotel makes is easy to access the different sites you may want to visit in Salzburg. The breakfast buffet provides a nice selection of food,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Manager at Castellani Parkhotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,
dear John L

thank you very much for choosing the Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It is our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel! Thank you for mentioning our great buffet breakfast and the near distance to the old town of Salzburg!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg.
Best regards from Salzburg,

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager & Castellani Parkhotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I recently booked my group from America at Castellani Parkhotel and this hotel exceeded my expectations 100 times more! The hotel staff was professional and courteous; the check-in was smooth and stress-free; and the rooms were all top-notch. I think this is one of the best hotels and best deals in Salzburg for individual travelers or for groups. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and everyone in my group loved it. The location is a bit out from the Old Town however, if you buy the Salzburg Card you can ride the city's handy tram buses for free and they take you right downtown within a few minutes. Plus, the Salzburg Card gets you in for free or discounted prices to numerous tourist venues such as the Mozart homes and the Fortress. In addition, the Panorama Tours will pick up groups staying at this hotel versus having to go to their meeting point. The décor at this hotel is "Ikea-chic" and the rooms are very clean with all the amenities a typical traveler could want. I want to particularly thank Svetlana and the others working at the reception desk; Robert Korn, our funny and kind waiter in the restaurant; and all the porters for their hard, good work. This is a fine hotel and more people should realize it and stay here in Salzburg!

Room Tip: Buy the Salzburg Card to travel stress-free on tram bus #3 to any part of the inner city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Manager at Castellani Parkhotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
dear LBTravelDesign

thank you very much for choosing the Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It is our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our service like our variety at our buffet breakfast and our hotel staff – especially our reception desk and our waiter Robert Korn in our Fine Dining Restaurant SALIERI! And it is so great that you say “...this is one of the best hotels and best deals in Salzburg for individual travelers or for groups.” Thank you for your very kind feedback – we are happy that we made you happy!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg.

Best regards from Salzburg,

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager & Castellani Parkhotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here as part of a railway tour and it was the worst of the four hotels we stayed in. The room was very nice. Unfortunately the hotel decided that they couldn't offer our party a choice of menu (despite the fact that this was not the travel firm's expectations of the hotels they booked). This meant that we had to take what was put on the table (more like the food you used to get in an old fashioned British boarding house years ago!!!). Unfortunately we weren't impressed by breakfast either - there didn't seem to be anyone keeping an eye on the dishes to fill them up when they were empty - and nobody around to ask. The waiter in the dining room never smiled and to get a second cup of coffee was almost an impossibility despite numerous requests. He certainly didn't have his eye on what people wanted. Despite a complaint by our tour operator's representative, the second time we had dinner there, we were again told there was to be no choice - that did it for us - despite having paid as part of the package for a meal at the hotel - we went into Salzburg and paid for a meal there of our choice!!!! Some of our group actually ate at the hotel on our free night in Salzburg and said that the food was actually very good and the service and presentation was excellent and they couldn't understand why all the food and service couldn't be the same. The first night too the dining room was so noisy that most of our party were unable to talk to one another. All in all I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody and hopefully the company we went with will consider not using it in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Manager at Castellani Parkhotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,
dear derbyshiretwo

thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Salzburg and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are continuously proofing our services and our standards for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel to convince you of our changes concerning your feedback.

Best regards from Salzburg,

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager & Castellani Parkhotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castellani Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castellani Parkhotel

Address: Alpenstrasse 6, Salzburg A-5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#34 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castellani Parkhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Castellani Parkhotel stands out for its location near the city centre of Salzburg and its excellent accessibility. It provides unique atmosphere and combines classic elegance and modern architecture, creating an elegant and luxurious style of living. The spacious hotel park with 400-year-old linden tree and a baroque wedding chapel forms the heart of this city hotel. The Restaurant serves regional dishes and international delicacies, accompanied by selected wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Castellani Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg
Castellani Parkhotel Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castellani Parkhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.