We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, in a park setting, yet close to the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castellani Parkhotel

Save Saved
You added Castellani Parkhotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Castellani Parkhotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alpenstrasse 6, Salzburg A-5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, in a park setting, yet close to the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Went there on a business trip. This is a hotel to recommend for its great location: it is just on the southern edge of the old town, in a residential area, surrounded by a park, emerged into a very peaceful surrounding. There are public bus lines two minutes walk from the hotel, and it takes two stops to the centre of the old town. A walk to the centre takes about 10-15 minutes through the new University building park.
The hotel has two wings, the old one and the new one - we were in the new one. The rooms have the so-called French balcony, i.e. door-height windows with a fence, which makes them well-lit. They all overlook trees of the little park that surrounds the hotel. The design is rather cozy, beds comfy, two armchairs and a coffee table, working table, ironing board. Bathroom is spacious enough, with bath-tub. All is impeccably clean, and room service very helpful and professional. An extra point: a piece of Mozart-Kugel chocolate on the pillow in the evening.
Breakfast is lovely for the possibility to eat on park terrace. There is all to choose from, plus some vegetables. The staff is very polite and professional, but a smile or two wouldn't hurt them, particularly during breakfast.
A very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    80
    31
    14
    5
See reviews for
27
63
12
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Nice and simple hotel with a Mozart portrait wrapped chocolate on your pillow.
Good food from the restaurant as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Manager at Castellani Parkhotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear guest,
dear Soodye,

thank you for choosing the Castellani Parkhotel for your stay in Salzburg and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the small gifts like the Mozart chocolate on the pillow.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.
Best regards from Salzburg,

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager & Castellani Parkhotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Great hotel, very friendly staff, easy acces to the old town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Hotel is on a busy street about 15 minute walk into town. Rooms a bit on the small size but nice size bathrooms, hugh tub! The somke from the bar and lobby areas made it's way to the fourth floor rooms, they need better ventilation. Because of that problem I do not recommend this property for non-smokers. But for those that don't mind the smoke it's a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Manager at Castellani Parkhotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear terri d,
thank you for choosing the Castellani Parkhotel for your stay in Salzburg and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the spacious bathroom.
We are very sorry that you were disturbed by the smoke in the lobby. We do apologize for your inconvenience! Our rooms are divided in smoking and non smoking rooms, to offer non smokers the amenities of a smoke free room. Furthermore we are working on a non-smoking solution in order to provide a comfortable atmosphere for all our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.
Best regards from Salzburg,

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager & Castellani Parkhotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The outside of the building was romantically historic and inside, we had a juliet balcony. However, the lifts were very small and internet only available in the lobby. Only stayed one night. Breakfast was ample but could the selection could have been better. The location is a little outside the centre of Salzburg but as we were on a tour, we did not have to worry about finding dinner as it was organized for us. There are also a couple of lovely buildings on site, including a delightful chapel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Manager at Castellani Parkhotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Aussiesinice,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and for giving us your valuable feedback. We thank you for having chosen the Castellani Parkhotel for your stay in Salzburg. Further we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel amenities like our charming chapel from the 16th century as well as your suite. Please notice that we offer WiFi for free in the entire hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you again!

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This hotel is listed at four stars, but that would be more in a European system. I was impressed though - a large spacious lobby, a nice library/reading area and lounge was very useful throughout my visit. I read other reviews that talked about how smokey the lobby/lounge can be, and they were true. Being a non-smoker from Canada, it was too much for me to hang out there. The rooms were basic, but nice. Comfortable beds, and a good sized bathroom. Hallways were quiet. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the old town - I enjoyed the walk, making as much as possible along the river - it's nice to be away from the crowds. Plus I managed to get a superb rate on expedia.ca, so the value was really good.

Room Tip: If staying in the front section, the second floor and fourth floors have the larger windows for view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Manager at Castellani Parkhotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for choosing the Castellani Parkhotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It is our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your room, the spacious bathroom and our hotel amenities.
Nevertheless ,we are very sorry that you were disturbed by the smoke in the lobby. We do apologize for your inconvenience! Our rooms are divided in smoking and non smoking rooms, to offer non smokers the amenities of a smoke free room.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Best regards from Salzburg,

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager & Castellani Parkhotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviano, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

A friend and I recently stayed at the Castellani Parkhotel for a quick overnight trip to Salzburg for the Christmas market. The hotel was very easy to find and a straight shot from the autobahn, which was a relief after dealing with a non-functioning GPS. We arrived somewhat early (11:30 a.m.) and fully expected to be told that we couldn't check in yet. However, that was not the case at all. The staff got us checked in quickly and were very friendly and courteous. I was impressed immediately with how helpful they were! The lobby in the hotel was beautifully decorated and the room was just as lovely. The room had everything we needed, including a ironing board and iron, safe and tv. The room only had a LAN available for the Internet but the lobby and other public areas had free wifi. There's a nice little bar in the lobby area where we had a quick nightcap. Breakfast the next morning was fabulous. It was your basic European continental breakfast but there was much to choose from. Finally, the hotel is located an easy 15 minute walk from where the Christmas market is held. I would definitely stay at the Castellani again.

Room Tip: If you need a double room with two separate beds (as opposed to one large double bed), you can make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castellani Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castellani Parkhotel

Also Known As:
Castellani Parkhotel Hotel
Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg
Castellani Parkhotel Hotel Salzburg
Address: Alpenstrasse 6, Salzburg A-5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#29 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castellani Parkhotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Castellani Parkhotel stands out for its location near the city centre of Salzburg and its excellent accessibility. It provides unique atmosphere and combines classic elegance and modern architecture, creating an elegant and luxurious style of living. The spacious hotel park with 400-year-old linden tree and a baroque wedding chapel forms the heart of this city hotel. The Restaurant serves regional dishes and international delicacies, accompanied by selected wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Castellani Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castellani Parkhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.