We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel, but location somewhat remote” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castellani Parkhotel

Save Saved
You added Castellani Parkhotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castellani Parkhotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alpenstrasse 6, Salzburg A-5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Cologne, Germany
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“decent hotel, but location somewhat remote”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the Castellani hotel and was overall quite satisfied: the room was quiet and equipped with everything I expected (incl. among other things an iron+ironing board, minibar, free wifi, flat screen TV, radio with CD player, a shoehorn,plastic slippers, ...)
The breakfast was rich, the staff friendly, the room and the hotel was very clean. Service and equipment are adequate for a four-star hotel.


Some reviews report that the lobby or rooms are smoky. I am a non-smoker and did not notice any such problems, but these may be because there were no smokers in the hotel at the time I stayed there. At least, I did not notice any smokers.

The hotel is surrounded by a small park and located on what seems to be one of Salzburg's main artery roads. As mentioned earlier, the room was very quiet, however, as it was located towards the park side.

The main drawback of this hotel is that it is located somewhat at the outskirts of the city centre and is not very well connected to the old town by public transport. A public bus goes to the centre about every 10 to 15 minutes, but to get to the bus stop you have to cross a busy road and there is no pedestrian crossing very close to the hotel. The bus ride to the city centre takes about 5 to 15 minutes, depending on where you want to go. Best way to get to centre is with taxi. To walk, you will need about 15 minutes to the beginning of the centre and about 30 minutes to Festspielhaus/Getreidegasse.

The heating system worked well, but temperature was difficult to regulate. I had set the temperature at 15 degrees, but I felt it was much warmer, so decided to open the window to cool the room (my stay was early December).

I would probably stay here again. Reasonably priced hotels in the city centre are difficult to find in Salzburg, so the Castellani overall seems a good choice to me.

Room Tip: request a room in the "new wing," which is towards the park, i.e. not to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    83
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
30
70
15
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyong, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Had a great stay here and the staff were very helpful and friendly, great room in quiet part of the hotel and a garden view.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Manager at Castellani Parkhotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Castellani Parkhotel and sharing your feedback with other travellers. It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our high service level and the hotel amenities.

We would be glad to welcome you again!

Kind regards from Salzburg,

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I had no problem with the Castellani except that the walk to the old town was more like half an hour than the 15 minutes I was told by our guide. However, there is a streetcar less than a block from the hotel which goes directly to the old town. My room was very quiet; the bathroom was small but adequate. I appreciated the free internet use in the lobby (one computer). Breakfast buffet was good. "The Marriage of Figaro" at the Salzburg Marionette Theatre added to my enjoyment of the city, even though the person manning the hotel desk told us that it was with "real" people (maybe a language miscommunication).

Room Tip: The location is not particularly noisy. My room faced the back and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Castellani Parkhotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you very much for choosing the Castellani Parkhotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It is our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the wide range of food and beverages of our newly renovated buffet breakfast area and that you were satisfied with our hotel amenities.
Regarding the location, we would like to point out that we aim to provide a quiet location for our guests from where they can easily reach the historic city center within a distance of 1,5 km. Additionally, public transport is available if needed.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Kind regards from Salzburg,

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Staff was rude and if they didn't know the answer to a question they just made up one. Rooms were stifling hot--I had to be moved and the next room smelled musty. They brought me a fan that didn't work and then finally brought one that worked. By the time the ordeal was over, it was 1:00am. The only thing I can say nice about this hotel was they had a nice little bar area which included outdoor seating. Of course our group had to go to the bar because no one came to our table for 20 minutes. Not many good options with the breakfast buffet and temperature of food was no appropriate for the items. The location was no convenient to anything.

Room Tip: Make sure it is clean and ask about temperature. There might be some nice rooms but the two I had w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Castellani Parkhotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear guest,

first of all, we want to thank you for your feedback which is highly appreciated. However, we dearly regret that you encountered problems with our staff members. Our employees always aim to offer the best possible service for our guests. We apologize for any inconveniences which occurred during your stay. Please be assured that our highest goal is to always satisfy our guests.

Regarding your complaint about the room temperature: there are only a few very hot and humid days in Salzburg which may have caused the extreme hotness. Usually, our rooms are tempered very well.

Dear guest, it would be pleasure to welcome you back in order to completely re-establish your opinion about our house.

With best regards from Salzburg


Gerhard Seidl
General Manager Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

We just got back from a beautiful weekend in Salzburg and though we loved our visit, the hotel left much to be desired. We booked a family room as we were traveling with our two children. Though the staff was very friendly and helpful and spoke great English, the lobby was continuously filled with smoke from the bar off the lobby. We had requested a non smoking room however our room was right off the stairwell/elevator so it was constantly coming into our room. Not really pleasant when traveling with small children.

The room itself, though clean, had considerably old dingy carpet that truly needed to be replaced. The furniture was decent though plain and minimal with the decor consisting off photographs illustrating death (opera characters portraying graphic pictures of death in our room as well as throughout thr lobby, breakfast area and hotel). As much as I appreciate the fine arts, this was a bit much. At least create a different and happier decor within the guest rooms.

Additionally, the bathroom is extremely small with hardly any counter space and a sink that did not allow you to place anything on or around it as it was quite narrow. thr hotel does have air conditioning however it feels more like a fan as it was still quite warm and we needed to open up the windows at night which made for alot of loud street noise as the hotel is located on a very busy street with lots of traffic. The location itself is about a 15 minute walk to town and though the walk is not bad and we typically enjoy walking the street into town is quite busy with narrow sidewalks.

The breakfast was good and offered a good variety of foods and even have a nice area outside to eat breakfast as well. Unfortuntately, the breakfast room (located directly under guestrooms on the left side of the hotel) is also used for parties/weddilaThered last night we were there was extremely annoying as music was blasting and people were yelling until early morning. We did call the reception, however they said there was nothing they could do. Common sense fo a business would be to put customers on the opposite side of thr building to minimize these disturbances as much as possible.

Therefore though it is not a horrible hotel, there are many annoying aspects that could make the stay much more inviting and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Geschäftsführer at Castellani Parkhotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Castellani Parkhotel and sharing your feedback concerning friendly and helpful staff with other travellers.

We are happy that you enjoyed the food and beverage variation of our newly renovated buffet breakfast area.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the disturbance from the wedding party.

We would also like to inform you that we are currently changing the carpet in all rooms.
Dear guest, we would be proud to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I quite liked this hotel. It was much cheaper than other nice hotels in Salzburg and was only a 15-20 min walk to the old town. The room was in the new annex (which is connected to the old building by a glass walkway). There was free internet receivable in the room.

Breakfast was pretty good (buffet) and was included. It was a little busy at the actual buffet area, but there was a decent selection of cold items, and some hot items. Avoid busy times.

The on-site restaurant had decent food but lacks atmosphere. We only ate here once. On the day of our check-out, after breakfast we returned to our room and our electronic lock was broken. We had to stand in the corridor for 20 minutes waiting on a maintenance man - it seemed the batteries had gone flat? We didn't get an apology for this which was disappointing.

The lobby is the thing that lets this hotel down. It's really a waiting area combined with the reception, but for some reason they also designate it as a bar. People sit smoking and drinking, and people would congregate here to stand in groups smoking. I realise that Austria does not yet have a ban on smoking indoors, but it's just too in your face here. Make another smoking area that isn't in the lobby (somewhere all guests HAVE to use) or just ask smokers to smoke outside!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Geschäftsführer at Castellani Parkhotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg for your stay.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food and beverage offer in our Restaurant Eschenbach and Fine Dining Restaurant Salieri. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience regarding our key card system.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Kind regards

Gerhard Seidl,
General Manager Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gstaad, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

When I stay in Salzburg, I stay at Castellani Parkhotel. Perfect price value. Nice, clean, modern and comfortable rooms. Very quite. Excellent service and friendly staff. The hotel has a big parking. Fair enough, the hotel is not very central located - but with a short walk (15 min.) you reach the Altstadt. I enjoyed a nice dinner at the hotelrestaurant - food, wine and ambiance everything was excellent ... except the host, first of all he thought he works at a fastfood restaurant - he don't really understand, that people would like to enjoy the dinner and are not keen to eat 3 courses withhin 30 minutes, maybe he just wanted to go home early.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Assistant, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Castellani Parkhotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg for your stay.

We are very grateful to hear that you like our hotel amenities and you enjoyed our fine dining restaurant! We will forward your comments on to our staff members of our restaurant.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Gerhard Seidl
General Manager Castellani Parkhotel & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castellani Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castellani Parkhotel

Address: Alpenstrasse 6, Salzburg A-5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castellani Parkhotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Castellani Parkhotel stands out for its location near the city centre of Salzburg and its excellent accessibility. It provides unique atmosphere and combines classic elegance and modern architecture, creating an elegant and luxurious style of living. The spacious hotel park with 400-year-old linden tree and a baroque wedding chapel forms the heart of this city hotel. The Restaurant serves regional dishes and international delicacies, accompanied by selected wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Castellani Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castellani Parkhotel Salzburg
Castellani Parkhotel Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castellani Parkhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.