We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paul Stube

Paul Stube
Herrengasse 16, Salzburg 5020, Austria
066284 32 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 442 restaurants in Salzburg
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Very nice atmosphere (old stuff, wood), and good local food, however I am not a big fan of the smoking area just next door but it is like this everywhere in Austria.
Just a minus, we arrived at 9 PM in October and there was almost nothing to eat, just the choice between two dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    34
    21
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sulzburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had such a good time ended up going two nights in a row. My friend had the deer stew, said it was the best meal she has had in Austria so far. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Upstairs, Unmarked Door...good local Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

It was vey quiet the night we went to this restaurant, so we were able to pretty much select our seat. We ate out in the garden right under the fortress wall. The garden is decorated with colored strung lights and umbrellas.our food was local cuisine and ample servings. I see why people say you can share. I had the special traditional noodles with the bacon, my husband had the farmers pan of mixed meats, ham and bacon, potatoes and an egg. Bothe dishes were quite traditional, likely way too rich in calories, and quite reasonably priced.
When you get to the sign marking this restaurant, go I and up the stairs. It looks like you are in an apartment building. When you get to the top turn left and push open the unmarked door, and there you have it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived at this restaurant without a reservation around 7pm which was perfect timing since we got the last table and everyone who came in after us had to sit at the bar until that filled up and then people were turned away. I would suggest either having a reservation or showing up early. The food was outstanding. We started with a salad to share which was quite large with very fresh vegetables. We ordered the wiener schnitzel and a wild boar dish. Both were excellently prepared and tasty. The atmosphere was almost quiet compared to what I expected from the reviews but it was early and a Monday night. The restaurant was very smoky but it was still worth it. Even the bartender was smoking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“You must experience this in Salzburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Got this recommendation from our hosts at Hotel Weisse Taube and they were spot on. This is a great way to experience Salzburg with traditional food and great beers (and wine.) We were there in early September and were fortunate enough to be able to sit outside on the "patio" sitting above Salzburg. Make sure you get a reservation and you can enjoy an extended meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Stube also viewed

Salzburg, Austrian Alps
Salzburg, Austrian Alps
 
Salzburg, Austrian Alps
 

Been to Paul Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul Stube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.