We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel by river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Salzburg

Save Saved
You added Motel One Salzburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Motel One Salzburg
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Alpenstrasse 92-94, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel by river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Nice hotel by river and within walking distance of the tourist sights. Staff were very helpful and wlling to assist. Breakfast was very comprehensive. There are slight issues with parking but overall a delightful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    87
    26
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
84
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed two nights at Motel One. The room was very clean and the service was pretty good. The view was just beautiful as my room was on the 3rd floor. Although the hotel is quite far from downtown Salzburg, it is located right across from the main bus stop which takes you around 15 minutes or maybe a bit more to reach Mirabellplatz ( bus number 3 takes you from the main train station Salzburg Hbf to the hotel and from the hotel to the main attractions in the city). The
Wifi was OK but as other reviewers said it seemed to go in and out every few hours. Breakfast was decent, it included several kinds of cheese, ham, croissant, and jam, though no fried or scarmbled eggs. The front desk and the bar is open 24/7.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed one night here while visiting Salzburg. The location is great, with a large grocery store next door. No need to buy the breakfast, just walk next door and save some money. Free street parking was not a problem as it can be in some cities.

Rooms were small but adequate, good bed and linens. Beware, there is no phone or clock in the rooms. You can get a clock from the front desk, but I guess most people use there cell phones these days. The wifi was okay, but seemed to go in and out randomly.

Front desk staff was very nice and helpful with advice on restaurants, parking, etc.

We stayed at the Motel One at Wein Westbahnhof we liked this so much for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Motel one is a great option for those looking for budget travel options. The rooms are minimalistic and clean and perfect for those that want value for the money. Although it is quite far from the Old Town tourist area and downtown Salzburg, the motel is conveniently located across the street from a main bus stop[ that will bring you directly to those locations within 10 minutes on the bus. You can get unlimited travel on the bus system for 24hrs for around 3-4 euros so it is still very convenient. There is a grocery store and Mcdonald's right next door to the motel which is convenient for those who want to grab a quick bite. Some negative points are here are no phones in the room so if you need something from front desk you have to go down to the lobby and the wifi cuts off from time to time which was a little inconvenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I can't complain about the room. I would probably rate it a "4". It was attractive with a nice view. However, I was extremely disappointed in the service. To begin with there was no phone in the room. That is not necessary except in the context of my experience. We had friends who were meeting us at the hotel. They live in Austria, so speak good German. We do not. We had been communicating via email as to when and where we would meet. They live in Linz and we had been traveling for 2 weeks in Germany and elsewhere. It was by pure luck that I checked my email on the morning of the day we were to meet and learned they would meet us later in the day at the hotel. In the email Tina mentioned that she had left a message with the hotel. When we returned later that day (knowing I had a message) I asked at the desk for the message. They searched all over and finally found it. It was a scrap of paper written in German. I asked what their method of delivering messages to guests was and they couldn't give me an answer. I asked again and added that most hotels have phones in their rooms to let guests know they have a message. I was informed that "none of the Motel One Hotels have phones in the room" and the young man continued by saying everyone has there own phone. I told him we did not and wondered just how he would let us know if our family had tried to contact us from the United States with a family emergency. Obviously, we had given our family the name and phone number of this hotel and fully expected that we would be contacted in case of an emergency. The man at the desk seemed uncaring about this glaring omission and reiterated that none of the Motel One Hotels had phones. It turned out that my young friend had left 3 messages and found the hotel non-responsive to her messages. She has lived in Austria for 20 years and even she found their attitude negative and unhelpful. I will make it a point never to stay in another Motel One, wherever they are located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

1) Check-in service~excellent.
2) Room (we had 421)~immaculate, hip, flat screen, shower, new/minimalist decor and a view of the river
3) Price~173.€ for 2 nights, parking and breakfast extra
4) Location~on the river, walkable to the old town, other sights...
5) Parking~7pm to 9am free next door in the public lot, 12€ per day at the hotel
6) Breakfast~all you can eat and drink; coffee, tea, juice, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt, breads, eggs, fruit salad. Great deal at 7.5€
I definitely would come back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rooms has a wonderful Salzach River view. Its so nice to watch sunrise and sunset from the rooms. It also has a fancy patio by the river. You can have drinks or breakfast there. Its location is also very good. 15 minutes to Altstadt by walking. Rooms are clean and commodious. Staff is helpful. Very near to bahnhof.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel One Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Salzburg

Address: Alpenstrasse 92-94, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Salzburg 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Motel One Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel One Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.