We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel by river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel One Salzburg to your Saves list
Motel One Salzburg
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Alpenstrasse 92-94, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel by river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Nice hotel by river and within walking distance of the tourist sights. Staff were very helpful and wlling to assist. Breakfast was very comprehensive. There are slight issues with parking but overall a delightful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed two nights at Motel One. The room was very clean and the service was pretty good. The view was just beautiful as my room was on the 3rd floor. Although the hotel is quite far from downtown Salzburg, it is located right across from the main bus stop which takes you around 15 minutes or maybe a bit more to reach Mirabellplatz ( bus number 3 takes you from the main train station Salzburg Hbf to the hotel and from the hotel to the main attractions in the city). The
Wifi was OK but as other reviewers said it seemed to go in and out every few hours. Breakfast was decent, it included several kinds of cheese, ham, croissant, and jam, though no fried or scarmbled eggs. The front desk and the bar is open 24/7.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biba_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed one night here while visiting Salzburg. The location is great, with a large grocery store next door. No need to buy the breakfast, just walk next door and save some money. Free street parking was not a problem as it can be in some cities.

Rooms were small but adequate, good bed and linens. Beware, there is no phone or clock in the rooms. You can get a clock from the front desk, but I guess most people use there cell phones these days. The wifi was okay, but seemed to go in and out randomly.

Front desk staff was very nice and helpful with advice on restaurants, parking, etc.

We stayed at the Motel One at Wein Westbahnhof we liked this so much for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Motel one is a great option for those looking for budget travel options. The rooms are minimalistic and clean and perfect for those that want value for the money. Although it is quite far from the Old Town tourist area and downtown Salzburg, the motel is conveniently located across the street from a main bus stop[ that will bring you directly to those locations within 10 minutes on the bus. You can get unlimited travel on the bus system for 24hrs for around 3-4 euros so it is still very convenient. There is a grocery store and Mcdonald's right next door to the motel which is convenient for those who want to grab a quick bite. Some negative points are here are no phones in the room so if you need something from front desk you have to go down to the lobby and the wifi cuts off from time to time which was a little inconvenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I can't complain about the room. I would probably rate it a "4". It was attractive with a nice view. However, I was extremely disappointed in the service. To begin with there was no phone in the room. That is not necessary except in the context of my experience. We had friends who were meeting us at the hotel. They live in Austria, so speak good German. We do not. We had been communicating via email as to when and where we would meet. They live in Linz and we had been traveling for 2 weeks in Germany and elsewhere. It was by pure luck that I checked my email on the morning of the day we were to meet and learned they would meet us later in the day at the hotel. In the email Tina mentioned that she had left a message with the hotel. When we returned later that day (knowing I had a message) I asked at the desk for the message. They searched all over and finally found it. It was a scrap of paper written in German. I asked what their method of delivering messages to guests was and they couldn't give me an answer. I asked again and added that most hotels have phones in their rooms to let guests know they have a message. I was informed that "none of the Motel One Hotels have phones in the room" and the young man continued by saying everyone has there own phone. I told him we did not and wondered just how he would let us know if our family had tried to contact us from the United States with a family emergency. Obviously, we had given our family the name and phone number of this hotel and fully expected that we would be contacted in case of an emergency. The man at the desk seemed uncaring about this glaring omission and reiterated that none of the Motel One Hotels had phones. It turned out that my young friend had left 3 messages and found the hotel non-responsive to her messages. She has lived in Austria for 20 years and even she found their attitude negative and unhelpful. I will make it a point never to stay in another Motel One, wherever they are located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

1) Check-in service~excellent.
2) Room (we had 421)~immaculate, hip, flat screen, shower, new/minimalist decor and a view of the river
3) Price~173.€ for 2 nights, parking and breakfast extra
4) Location~on the river, walkable to the old town, other sights...
5) Parking~7pm to 9am free next door in the public lot, 12€ per day at the hotel
6) Breakfast~all you can eat and drink; coffee, tea, juice, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt, breads, eggs, fruit salad. Great deal at 7.5€
I definitely would come back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitanurseOxnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rooms has a wonderful Salzach River view. Its so nice to watch sunrise and sunset from the rooms. It also has a fancy patio by the river. You can have drinks or breakfast there. Its location is also very good. 15 minutes to Altstadt by walking. Rooms are clean and commodious. Staff is helpful. Very near to bahnhof.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clementinestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Motel One Salzburg Mirabell
Motel One Salzburg Mirabell
#21 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
2.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#17 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
2.1 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#33 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#45 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Salzburg

Address: Alpenstrasse 92-94, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Salzburg 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Motel One Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing