We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Wernbacher

Cafe Wernbacher
Franz-Josef-Strasse 5, Salzburg 5020, Austria
+43(0)662 881099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 472 Restaurants in Salzburg
Cuisines: Austrian, Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The Real Deal......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I’ve lived and worked in Europe and was very pleasantly surprised with a recent visit to Café Wernbacher while vacationing with my spouse in Salzburg. We popped in for a late dinner and had a genuine European café experience.

Limited menu, but all the offerings were terrific, excellent service, and a genuine café culture with lots and lots of regulars stopping by and carrying on conversations all around us. You could tell some of these conversations had been going on for years by the sound of it!

Staff was friendly, happy to see us, and the place was not choked with tourists. It’s not fancy but quite elegant and refined in a European fashion. Highly Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    32
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Typical Austrian food in great location by Mirabell palace.
First time we tried this place I ordered mushrooms in a cream sauce with dumplings. The meal was delicious however after you've eaten the dumplings there's a lot of sauce left over, would have been nice to have more dumplings to mop it up with. Second time I had the chicken burger which came with the most amazing chips accompanied by a ....... dip. For dessert I ordered the lemon sorbet with prosecco......I definitely recommend this, it was so delicious, I wanted to order another one. The third time we visited the service was not the best, granted there were only two staff members serving tables and there was a lot of customers. I ordered the beefburger. When it arrived it was still red inside so I sent it back. When it returned the rest of my party had already finished eating there food.
If this had of been the first time I'd visited the restaurant it would have put me right off it, luckily I know the food is really good here and the previous two times I'd visited the service was just excellent so it might have just been a blip.

Definitely one of the nicest restaurants this side of the river in Salzburg. Prices are also reasonable because it's not in the old town so doesn't typically cater for tourists, it's more of a locals place with only a few tourist.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a late dinner here after the Marionette show. Even though the kitchen was due to close ten minutes after our arrival the food was prepared fresh and was delicious. The service was excellent!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Service with a Smile (well, for two out of three visits)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Good restaurant. Ate here several 3 times during a 7 night stop over. Can recommend the Goulash and Corn Fed Chicken Rissotto.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly place with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

After a few breakfasts in Salzburg already this week we stumbled upon this lively cafe with a lovely outside seating area. As others say the service is friendly an attentive. We. Both each had a set breakfast and experience the delicious "two boiled eggs in a glass" which we were surprised to see was exactly that. Two eggs, though I would say they were beautifully poached eggs with a few chopped chives in a glass bowl. What a great breakfast idea. The coffee here is good also. We liked the ambience (in the context) and location so much we returned for dinner last night too. Veal schnitzel was good and the GAB goulash an experience as it comes with a fried egg and a frankfurter. Clearly lots of eggs to be had here. I finished with some fresh mint tea which made a light change from all the beer and excellent coffee on offer in this town. We have a few more days here and will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Wernbacher also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Cafe Wernbacher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Wernbacher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.