We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankfully we didn't pay for this” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Salzburg Museum

Salzburg Museum
Mozartplatz 1 | Postfach 10, Salzburg 5010, Austria
+43(0)662 6208080
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$112*
and up
Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District...
Ranked #39 of 96 Attractions in Salzburg
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Thankfully we didn't pay for this”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was included as part of the Salzburg card. Since it was Monday the museum was closed but the Panorama was open. But seemingly they were in the process of tearing down an exhibit or something since there was only the painting and lots of empty exhibit areas. I can't believe they were still charging people for that.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    30
    13
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Panorama had gone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went in to see the painted panorama, but found out that it had been replaced with a temporary (and prolonged) exhibition on the von Trapp family, which was somewhat of a rip-off, especially as the BBC had shown the real story in a documentary earlier this year and VT story has no real relevance to Salzburg culture and is barely to please US and Japanese tourists. Sad.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
149 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Panaroma Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

we paid for the Panorama Museum only as we wanted to see the exhibition about the real Von Trapp family which was interesting and different from the story told in the film.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great small museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Worth the time. Beautiful art and artifacts
Has won an award - interesting film stuff there. That's all I have to say to fill up this box!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
514 reviews 514 reviews
211 attraction reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Many interesting exhibits but poor audio guide”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were a bit disappointed with this museum. There is a lot to see and some excellent exhibits but the audio guide is so awful (monotone and far too detailed) that if you can manage more than a few minutes of it you are doing very well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salzburg Museum also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Salzburg Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salzburg Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.