We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salzburg cuisine at its finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant from Hotel Goldene Ente

Restaurant from Hotel Goldene Ente
Goldgasse 10 | A - 5020, Salzburg, Austria
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 442 restaurants in Salzburg
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Incredible traditional restaurant with austrian cuisine. The old fashion way of serving and type of food. Very good atmosphere, nice location
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Salzburg cuisine at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The kind of savory meaty goodness that make you forget it's 20oF outside. We had to wait about 20 mins for a table, the beer definitely made seem like only 5 mins

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    83
    87
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Local flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The cruise director of our Viking River Cruise suggested the Golden Duck. It was a little hard to find, but what a find it was. It was quite crowded so we shared a table with a couple from England which was delightful. Their local cuisine was great and so was the conversation. We loved the atmosphere of this truly local Austrian restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Goulash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went here for a quick meal as we were only passing through Salzburg. Found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Goulash was amazing. Kids had schnitzels which were OK - though would have preferred them thinner. Definitely would go back if ever in Salzburg.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Three visits in 3 days - cant be bad?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We visited this restaurant 3 times - once to eat & twice to try the beer (it seemed to be the only place open after 10pm on a Sunday!) The waiter remembered us & what we'd had to drink on the 2nd & 3rd time - made us feel very welcome.
For the eating trip, we had to share a table (it was that busy) - but 4 of us on a table for 8 was fine - we each had our corner. The turkey schnitzel (local) was lovely & the Vegeterian spinach dumplings were great (they were huge! Kermit would be jealous!) All the beers were yum - would highly recommend the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Enjoyed our meal here, food was good and tasty. Our request for a gluten free meal obviously confused the wait staff, she recommended a totally unsuitable dish, but we got there in the end. Dining room is cute with atmospheric nooks and crannies.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant from Hotel Goldene Ente also viewed

Salzburg, Austrian Alps
Salzburg, Austrian Alps
 
Salzburg, Austrian Alps
 

Been to Restaurant from Hotel Goldene Ente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant from Hotel Goldene Ente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.