We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hellbrunn Castle (Schloss Hellbrun)

Hellbrunn Castle (Schloss Hellbrun)
Furstenweg, 37 | Hellbrun, Salzburg, Austria
0662-820-372
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #10 of 75 attractions in Salzburg
Type: Castles, Architectural Buildings
Attraction Details
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We rented bikes from the Old city and rode all the way to Hellbrun Castle were we had a beautiful picnic and later we got wet at the different playgrounds they had.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    194
    46
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice castle but not big”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This castle is not at all big and has may be 5 or 6 rooms in total. This was a summer residence. This palace was good for the fact that it is next to the trick fountains. Check my trick fountains review for more about it.

There are different language audio guides available at the entrance and the total tour time including trick fountains would be 1 hour.

It is 6km from the city and in a pleasant place

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a must see for all visitors to Salzburg. The 'trick fountains' are great fun.The gardens and lakes are so beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Funpark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I've been here twice - once by myself and once with my wife, and I really enjoyed it both times. Amazing mechanical machinery that runs the surprising water fountains. Nearly impossible not to get wet, but well worth it. It's set outside of Salzburg in a park setting with hiking trails.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Guaranteed laughs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The 250 bus on the return from Untersburg passes by Hellbrun, with the bus stop clearly announced and having the advantage of being the exact same stop to get the return to Salzburg as its a circular route. We, two adults, visited as we were near, it was hot and we had a Salzburg card. It is really good that the bus and entry is included in the card. The visit to the trick fountains is great fun, you do get a little wet (some more than a little) but on a sunny day it was great, a chance for grown ups to 'play' have fun and laugh. If you don't laugh I recommend you stay at home! The engineering involved at the time it was made makes it more astounding. The grounds are beautiful, you could easily spend a day, picnic, park etc and the Sound of Music gazebo.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hellbrunn Castle (Schloss Hellbrun) also viewed

 
Salzburg, Austrian Alps
Salzburg, Austrian Alps
 

Been to Hellbrunn Castle (Schloss Hellbrun)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellbrunn Castle (Schloss Hellbrun), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.