We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Salzburg Central to your Saves list
Mercure Salzburg Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sterneckstrasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Dorint Salzburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Was here on a vacation of 5 countries. Very nice place. Seems more for business meeting type.. Walking distance to the shops. Very friendly employees. Breakfast was great!! But no other meals this time of year. On a very busy street. Lots of sirens at night..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    272
    129
    38
    23
See reviews for
163
277
42
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

This middle of the road hotel is great value for seeing Salzburg, and for an American in a car, has the advanatge of a secure garage (EUR11 per night). It is about a 10 minute walk from the Mirabelle gardens, and 15 minutes to the old town across the river. Advantages are parking, relatively inexpensive rates, and the best breakfast I had in three weeks in Europe - gorgonzola cheese, and champagne included on Sat and Sun. Served by waiter in posh uniforms, in a posh dining room.

The rest of the hotel could do with some maintenance - our air conditioner leaked so the carpet was wet, but the rooms are totally quiet. Oh and the fitness center was out of action too!

There are a couple of reasonable restaurants within a 5 minute walk, an italian and an indian. Otherwise, you do need to go into town to eat. But if your goal is to see old town without spending a fortune, and to have your car under your hotel rather than in a public garage half a mile away, as is necessary if you do stay in the pedestrianized area, this is a good base.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

I stayed in the Mecure Kapuzinerberg for three nights in August 2008.

I was impressed with this hotel. I was large, with comfortable rooms and good facilities. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was a well-stocked buffet and included both traditional continential breakfast items and a few hot items.

As other reviewers have stated, this hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the Altstadt and the Mirabellgarten. We didn't have any issue with this. The walk is pleasent and the neighbourhood is safe.

If I were to return to Salzburg, I would happily book this Mecure again.

  • Liked — Fantastic breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Mercure for three nights while in Salzburg.

The hotel itself was what one would expect from a Mercure -- clean and comfortable, though not luxurious (although we were not looking for, or expecting, luxury). The staff were pleasant, though not notably friendly. Our room was comfortable, although slightly dated in furnishings and decor.

Unfortunately, the location of the hotel was not particularly central; although I suppose the location of the hotel explains why it was one of the more affordable options in Salzburg. It is a good 20-minute walk from the train station, and also about 20 minutes from the tourist area of Salzburg.

The hotel itself is situated in what appeared to be an industry/business area; there were a few car dealerships and similar businesses in the neighbourhood. One feature that we did appreciate was that there was a Spar supermarket just down the street, which we used to pick up water and snacks.

Overall, our stay was pleasant, and it did not break the bank in Salzburg!

  • Liked — Supermarket close by.
  • Disliked — Train station and tourist areas quite far.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

We met a friend from Berlin - and stayed from Tuesday through Friday the week before Easter last month. We purchased a Salzburg tourist pass at the little bookstore in the terminal and hopped on public transit from the airport (bus #2 just out the door). The bus dropped us off just a door or two from the hotel.

As you can see from the photo, the hotel is a bit dated in style...however it was clean and the staff was pleasant & helpful. We were there to see Salzburg and spent little time in the hotel. The breakfast buffet (included in our room rate) was good and plentiful. A great start to the day. Although it's not in the Old Town area, we caught the bus (using our tourist pass) and were wherever we wanted to go in short order.

We went out to some clubs and a concert or two at night - if it got too late, we grabbed a taxi...reasonable in cost and easy.

Our friend paid for his room - and said he felt it was quite reasonable. Ours was part of a larger air hotel and rail package we bought for Salzburg, Vienna and Budapest - which also was quite well priced. All of us said we would stay at the Mercure Salzburg Kapuzinerberg again.

  • Liked — Price, convenience to public transit, clean and good breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — Our favorite location would be in the heart of a walkable area
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

Rooms are big and bright with nice view. Furnishing is modern, beds good quality, bathroom big, well equiped. Cleanliness very good.
Prices in bar and restaurant very steep but plenty of restaurnats nearby so not a problem.
Lobby and reception area very old fashioned (typical for Austria tho) and not much character. Staff polite and friendly, ready to help and give advice,
This hotel is standard Mercure quality and is a great place to stay (as most Mercure hotels). Location is very good, onky 10 minuts walk to the old town.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Liked — Room size, furnishing and decor
  • Disliked — Lobby and prices in restaurant
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
378 helpful votes 378 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

I think previous reviewers are not famiiar with the Mecure brand, as this hotel was very much a typical Mecure hotel ie comfortable, clean, formulaic hotel. If you want a value for money hotel with no surprises (good or bad) then this is a decent option. Rooms were large with great views towards the Kapuzinerberg hill. The walk into old town (abound Mozart's birthplace) was about 15/20 minutes through the new town. We were there in the middle of the Winter, so you really didn't want to do this walk more than a couple of times each day ie once in the morning and back again in the evening. There are plenty of other hotel options closer to the pictureesque old town, but you need to be prepared to pay more.

Salzburg and the sorrounding mountains were absolutely picture-perfect and with the great Markets and mulled wine, Christmas doesn't get better than this!

  • Liked — large, comfortable room for the money
  • Disliked — Location was a bit far from the old town
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Salzburg Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg Central

Address: Sterneckstrasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Dorint Salzburg)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#19 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#25 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg Central 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel offering 139 rooms. The Mercure Hotel Salzburg Kapuzinerberg is located in the north east of Salzburg, only 1.5 kilometres from the historic town centre and only 8 kilometres from the international airport. The hotel features a lounge bar, one restaurant, 6 meeting rooms, a parking garage, a sauna, steam bath and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Salzburg Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg Kapuzinerberg Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg Kapuzinerberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salzburg Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.