We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, solid 4 star hotel - disappointing location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Salzburg Central to your Saves list
Mercure Salzburg Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sterneckstrasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Dorint Salzburg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save
Ranked #42 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good, solid 4 star hotel - disappointing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

In Salzburg, it seems you have to pay an arm and a leg to stay in a decent hotel in the old town, so we opted for something a bit cheaper outside the old town. We had a Superior Double Room which was very good (slightly on the small side - so i suppose a Classic Room would be even smaller) - it was very clean, the bed was big and comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. We asked for a quiet room at the back with a view of the mountains and it was very pretty.

Be aware though, rooms at the front of the hotel are on a very busy main road, and on one side, rooms look out over a petrol station.

One of the two disappointing things was there was a lack of ambience in the hotel lobby. It was very quiet, no music, no atmospheric lighting - so it didn't feel all that welcoming (but the staff were friendly and helpful).

Second disappointing thing: location. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the river and old town, which we didn't mind as we had opted for a cheaper hotel. But the hotel is on a rather unpleasant main road, with characterless buildings - a shame as the rest of Salzburg is so beautiful.

Having said that, we had a pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel if you're looking for a cheaper, but decent option in Salzburg.

Room Tip: Choose a Superior Room at the minimum - and ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel, so you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guests from London,

thank you for the time for writing your review and give other guests a feedback of your stay in Salzburg. We appreciate your positive words. -
For all guests who are not keen on walking to the old district of Salzburg we can offer a direct bus line from the hotel to the city center.

We wish you a peaceful christmas time.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    310
    147
    44
    23
See reviews for
180
311
47
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The staff at reception were courteous, efficient, helpful and welcoming. The superior room we had was very large indeed and well equipped with everything spotlessly clean. The bathroom had a walk in shower and there was generous sitting room in the bedroom. Breakfast was great, wide selection of hot and cold food. Sure the hotel is a 15 minute walk from the city centre but with a bus stop just outside the front door and buses running every 10-15 minutes this was no problem. We would definitely stay here again and will look out for the same special deal we got on the accor hotel website. Best deals include breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

great to hear that we could make your stay comfortable and you had many enjoyable moments!
We will pass your feedback to our staff members, for them it is the most important honor for their job.

We are looking forward welcoming you in the Mercure Salzburg Central!

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We just spent a night at this hotel after exploring the old part of town and the Christmas markets. It is a nice, clean hotel with pleasant and informative staff. Our room was spacious, with a good sized bathroom and a comfy bed. Although wifi is free, we had trouble connecting. If we stood in the corner just right then it worked! Otherwise, no luck. There is also a water heater in the room with some teas and coffee to choose from. The hotel has a restaurant and a small bar, but we did not utilize either. If you are driving, there is underground parking for 11€ a day which we felt was reasonable. Now if you are looking for a hotel that is centrally located in the touristy part of Salzburg, this is not your place. It is across the river and about a 20 minute walk away. While it is not the most scenic area, we never felt unsafe while walking at night. There are a few restaurants near by if you decide to eat near the hotel. You will come across more the closer you get to the river. But be prepared. Saturday nights get very busy, and if you do not have reservations somewhere, you may be stuck making due with what you can find. At 9:30, we finally found a pizza place with space available that we would probably would not have chosen if we could have gotten in else where and it wasn't raining. If it is your first visit to Salzburg and you want the wow factor, stay in the historic part of town. But if you are like us and have been to this lovely city umerous times, this Mercure is a good choice. For less than 100€, we really enjoyed our stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guests from Carlsbad,

thank you for the time writing your positive review and impressions about your stay at the Mercure Salzburg Central.

We hope we can welcome you again at one of the Mercure Hotels the next time you visit Salzburg.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

To start with the worst, the receptionist was extremely terrible. I don't know about the others, but there is a thin guy wearing glasses who did not show any kind of hospitality or interest to the guests. Once entered the room, it was smelly. Decoration is not so bad. It is the first hotel were I could not find a safe (locker). The view is ruined by trees and other buildings.



Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guests from Dubai,

thank you for writing your impressions regarding your stay. We really feel sorry about the inconvience that have been caused for your upon check in and will discuss this with our staff accordingly.
In a certain room category we do not offer a locker in the rooms directly. But we would have been pleased to store everthing in our safety deposit boxes at the front desk for you.

We hope Accor can welcome you in one of their properties again.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in nov 2013. About 15 mins by tram from Central station. Can do that walking in case of no luggage. Also about 20 minutes walk from old town.

Rooms are big , clean. Has coffee and tea in room. No bath tub. Hotel has free wifi but our room did not have strong signals. Maybe rooms from x01 series had this problem as they were in the corner.

Didn't use the breakfast so cannot comment. Charges were euro 15 per person. But read comments from others about it not being great. Rooms also has a minibar but better to get the drinks from the nearby store as beer etc is very cheap in the store. We bought the beer from store at 65 cents which were charged euro 3.50 in the minibar.

The beds are extra soft and maybe not suitable for some people.

They have a small bar at the reception. Restaurant also at ground floor. Didn't look crowded or much people.

Though had paid 100% in advance and had given credit card only for deposit yet they charged me again when checking out. Had to spend much time on proving about the payment done and trying to recover the charges. The staff could not figure out the issue and that was a letdown. Took about 2 hours before mistake was accepted and reversed.

Think may not repeat the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear guests from India,

thank you for your feedback on your stay in the Mercure Salzburg Central in November.

We regret that there has been an issue about the payment details on check out. We are sorry for the inconvinience we have caused you at the end of your stay.

The standard rooms in the hotel still have bath tubs if this is required for the guests.
Although guests may use the direct bus transportation from the station to the hotel if they have a lot of luggage.

We hope Accor can welcome you again in one of their properties.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Salzburg Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg Central

Address: Sterneckstrasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Dorint Salzburg)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#29 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg Central 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel offering 139 rooms. The Mercure Hotel Salzburg Kapuzinerberg is located in the north east of Salzburg, only 1.5 kilometres from the historic town centre and only 8 kilometres from the international airport. The hotel features a lounge bar, one restaurant, 6 meeting rooms, a parking garage, a sauna, steam bath and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Salzburg Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg Kapuzinerberg Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg Kapuzinerberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salzburg Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.