We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Salzburg Central to your Saves list
Mercure Salzburg Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sterneckstrasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Dorint Salzburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Ansbach, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Conveniently located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The rooms were reasonably priced and the breakfast was really good. While the Hotel is not located all that close to the older part of the city, the location was close enough to find some decent restaurants and other things to see.
Parking wasn't too bad either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Karls200,

thank you for your positive words that we are happy to share with our staff!

We hope we can welcome you again in Salzburg

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    286
    134
    40
    23
See reviews for
167
293
43
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Mercure central is not, central that is! It's in the new part of the city, about half an hr walk to Old Town where main sightseeing area is. It's actually next to a petrol garage and lap dancing club!! It is tired and lacklustre. Tiny bar and unwelcoming seats in reception, utilitarian. Standard double room is adequate and basic. It was clean.
Most staff on reception were OK especially lady called Katy who went the extra mile to help us choose trips etc. Would recommend walking to a cafe for continental breakfast, it's a third the price of hotel breakfast (which was 15 euros each).
Not to be missed..........wonderful dinner and Mozart/Strauss concert in the castle with stunning views of the city. Best buy is the Saltzburg card for free entry into museums, castle etc plus free travel in city and nearby Hellbrun Palace with trick water fountains (very amusing).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Pauline,

thank you for your review regarding your stay. We will pass your feedback to Katy who will be very pleased to hear that she could make a row of good suggestions for your trip.
We are sorry to hear that the walking distance did not meet your expectations.
Salzburg is divided into an old and new part of town. The Mercure Salzburg Central is about 5 min to the Linzergasse and 15 min to the Staatsbrücke which is the start of the old part of the city. We have also a direct bus line next to the hotel that brings you directly to the sightseeing spots.

We hope Accor can welcome you again in one its properties.

Best regads,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with very comfortable rooms and a great breakfast, very close to the city and very charming city it is! The rooms are about 220 euro's per night but you get what you pay for!!! We would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Jeff,

great to hear that you have enjoyed the City as well as the Hotel! Thank you for your positive feedback on that.

We hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Mercure Salzburg Central is almost close enough to the historic center of Salzburg to be true to its name. While it is not in the boonies, it is still a good 20 minute hike to the historic centre. We believe this to be a hotel that is likely more suited to business travel and conventions than tourist travel. There’s no reason to believe that public transit isn’t as efficient in Salzburg as it is other European cities, but we didn’t investigate that option at all so I can’t speak to it. That all being said, on a warm day it is likely a very nice walk – in the rain, not so much.

If traveling by auto (as we were) the hotel is very easy to find, and access from the A1 is quite convenient – essentially only one turn after leaving the motorway. Parking at the hotel is available for a fee – I can’t remember the rate of the top of my head but 15 euros rings a bell. However, a limited number of free parking spots are available directly in front of the hotel within the white lines in front of the marked bus parking…if you’re lucky enough to get it. The hotel is surrounded by convenient amenities – not a lot of shopping, but a fuel station, market, and a few restaurants are all nearby.

The hotel was quite nice, a step above most other “Mercure” branded properties at which we have stayed. Although it is not a new building it appears to have been recently overhauled. The furniture was all modern and functional, the beds and pillows were comfortable, and the bathroom was modern. Overall we were quite pleased with the value of this property.

The tasty hot breakfast was to Mercure standards (which we believe to be generally higher than breakfasts served in other European hotels), with a very good selection of baking, cold cuts, cheese, fruit, cereals, and juices.

In general we were quite happy with our stay, and we consider the Mercure Salzburg Central to be quite good value.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the park was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guests from Canada,

thank you for your detailed review about your stay! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed Salzburg and the stay at the Mercure Hotel!

Hope we can be able to welcome you again in one of our properties.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We got a good deal for this hotel and thought we would have a bit of luxury in the middle of our 2month backpacking through Europe with our 10yo. Check in wasn't until 3pm and they wouldn't let you in early but the 2 mornings we were there the cleaning lady was knocking on our door at 8.30 in the morning. The first morning she came back 10min later knocking again. The day off check out you would think they would check with reception first or wait until check out time The room was nice enough but the internet was terrible, the worst of the whole holiday, even in the lobby it was so slow. Hotel was a bit of distance from anywhere but we were able to walk to train station and old city. There was also a couple of nice restaurants around the corner for a feed

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Salzburg Central. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your entire expectations.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We hope we can welcome you in the future again at one of an Accor Hotel.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We arrived to the hotel with higher exceptions, so maybe it's our fault to think that Mercure will be a better hotel.
The staff were great, very nice indeed.
But! The room was dated, pretty big though, very big bathroom.
The room had a very bad smell, some kind of air-freshener which the cleaning lady used everyday, and we opened wide the window to get rid of.
We got drinks for the bar on the house, very cool, although we were alone with the bartender.

Location - we walk VERY fast, and it took us 18 minutes to walk to the old city center, i.g the hotel is not centrally located, and from the main rail station it took us 10 minutes.

Overall, I would stay again becuase I like Accor, but this hotel needs renovation (And a better smell...)

(We had room 117)

Room Tip: Room 117 faces the back yard which is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your positive review on our staff which we will appreciate to pass this feedback to our employees.
The room category 117 is a standard room that has been soft renovated. Maybe the next time you can give our newly renovated hotel rooms in the superior category a change to try.

We hope Accor can welcome you the next time soon.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manger Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights. We had two rooms, one for us and one for our children. The rooms were next to each other with no adjoining door.

The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. Nice bathroom. Fridge in room was useful.

Parking is free directly in front of the hotel but there is only a few spaces otherwise you need to pay for the hotel parking which you enter at the side of the hotel. We were lucky and got a free space.

Salzburg is ten minutes away (walking) and I know what people mean about a 'dodgy' neighbourhood but really it wasn't that bad during the day. I don't think I'd like to walk far at night though.

We ate in the hotel both nights because we arrived late on the first day so it was just easier and then on our second day, after a long day sight seeing we didn't want to go out again and we decided we enjoyed the food on the first night so much we were more than happy to eat there again.

We used the gym during our stay. It was quite small with a running machine, a step machine (probably not the official name) and weights. There was also a water machine and a music player to use with toilets and steam room available.

I would recommend this hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your review and great to read you enjoyed our services, gym and room. It alwyas feels good to know when our guests had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday!

Hope to welcome you again in Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Salzburg Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg Central

Address: Sterneckstrasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Dorint Salzburg)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#19 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#25 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg Central 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel offering 139 rooms. The Mercure Hotel Salzburg Kapuzinerberg is located in the north east of Salzburg, only 1.5 kilometres from the historic town centre and only 8 kilometres from the international airport. The hotel features a lounge bar, one restaurant, 6 meeting rooms, a parking garage, a sauna, steam bath and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Salzburg Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg Kapuzinerberg Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg Kapuzinerberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salzburg Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.