We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Salzburg Central to your Saves list
Mercure Salzburg Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sterneckstrasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Dorint Salzburg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save
Ranked #43 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
St. Albert, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Mercure Salzburg Central is almost close enough to the historic center of Salzburg to be true to its name. While it is not in the boonies, it is still a good 20 minute hike to the historic centre. We believe this to be a hotel that is likely more suited to business travel and conventions than tourist travel. There’s no reason to believe that public transit isn’t as efficient in Salzburg as it is other European cities, but we didn’t investigate that option at all so I can’t speak to it. That all being said, on a warm day it is likely a very nice walk – in the rain, not so much.

If traveling by auto (as we were) the hotel is very easy to find, and access from the A1 is quite convenient – essentially only one turn after leaving the motorway. Parking at the hotel is available for a fee – I can’t remember the rate of the top of my head but 15 euros rings a bell. However, a limited number of free parking spots are available directly in front of the hotel within the white lines in front of the marked bus parking…if you’re lucky enough to get it. The hotel is surrounded by convenient amenities – not a lot of shopping, but a fuel station, market, and a few restaurants are all nearby.

The hotel was quite nice, a step above most other “Mercure” branded properties at which we have stayed. Although it is not a new building it appears to have been recently overhauled. The furniture was all modern and functional, the beds and pillows were comfortable, and the bathroom was modern. Overall we were quite pleased with the value of this property.

The tasty hot breakfast was to Mercure standards (which we believe to be generally higher than breakfasts served in other European hotels), with a very good selection of baking, cold cuts, cheese, fruit, cereals, and juices.

In general we were quite happy with our stay, and we consider the Mercure Salzburg Central to be quite good value.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the park was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guests from Canada,

thank you for your detailed review about your stay! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed Salzburg and the stay at the Mercure Hotel!

Hope we can be able to welcome you again in one of our properties.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    328
    149
    46
    24
See reviews for
191
322
48
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wyong, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We got a good deal for this hotel and thought we would have a bit of luxury in the middle of our 2month backpacking through Europe with our 10yo. Check in wasn't until 3pm and they wouldn't let you in early but the 2 mornings we were there the cleaning lady was knocking on our door at 8.30 in the morning. The first morning she came back 10min later knocking again. The day off check out you would think they would check with reception first or wait until check out time The room was nice enough but the internet was terrible, the worst of the whole holiday, even in the lobby it was so slow. Hotel was a bit of distance from anywhere but we were able to walk to train station and old city. There was also a couple of nice restaurants around the corner for a feed

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Salzburg Central. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your entire expectations.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We hope we can welcome you in the future again at one of an Accor Hotel.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We arrived to the hotel with higher exceptions, so maybe it's our fault to think that Mercure will be a better hotel.
The staff were great, very nice indeed.
But! The room was dated, pretty big though, very big bathroom.
The room had a very bad smell, some kind of air-freshener which the cleaning lady used everyday, and we opened wide the window to get rid of.
We got drinks for the bar on the house, very cool, although we were alone with the bartender.

Location - we walk VERY fast, and it took us 18 minutes to walk to the old city center, i.g the hotel is not centrally located, and from the main rail station it took us 10 minutes.

Overall, I would stay again becuase I like Accor, but this hotel needs renovation (And a better smell...)

(We had room 117)

Room Tip: Room 117 faces the back yard which is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your positive review on our staff which we will appreciate to pass this feedback to our employees.
The room category 117 is a standard room that has been soft renovated. Maybe the next time you can give our newly renovated hotel rooms in the superior category a change to try.

We hope Accor can welcome you the next time soon.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manger Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights. We had two rooms, one for us and one for our children. The rooms were next to each other with no adjoining door.

The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. Nice bathroom. Fridge in room was useful.

Parking is free directly in front of the hotel but there is only a few spaces otherwise you need to pay for the hotel parking which you enter at the side of the hotel. We were lucky and got a free space.

Salzburg is ten minutes away (walking) and I know what people mean about a 'dodgy' neighbourhood but really it wasn't that bad during the day. I don't think I'd like to walk far at night though.

We ate in the hotel both nights because we arrived late on the first day so it was just easier and then on our second day, after a long day sight seeing we didn't want to go out again and we decided we enjoyed the food on the first night so much we were more than happy to eat there again.

We used the gym during our stay. It was quite small with a running machine, a step machine (probably not the official name) and weights. There was also a water machine and a music player to use with toilets and steam room available.

I would recommend this hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your review and great to read you enjoyed our services, gym and room. It alwyas feels good to know when our guests had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday!

Hope to welcome you again in Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here for one night, and overall the place is fine. The room was big, with plenty of space for luggage, and a covered balcony as well. The staff was very friendly.
It's rather far from the city centre (about 15 mins walk) and the neighbourhood, near the station, feels a bit unsafe.
Breakfast costs 15 euros, which is rather expensive, especially if you just want some cereal and toast, so I skipped it.
The one big problem I had was that there was no shower curtain in the bathroom; only a glass plate (design probably....), but this didn't stop the water, so the whole bathroom floor was soaked, including the clean clothes I had left on the floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Saskia,

thank you for sharing your comments about your stay.
We will share the posiitve feedback with our staff at the front desk.
Please feel free to order a la carte breakfast if you are not in the mood to have a full american buffet breakfast.

We hope we can welcome you near in the future.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is your average hotel, could be a Holiday Inn, Mercure, or anything else in the 3 star segment. Nothing special. However, when looking around in Salzburg, we found that you can definitely find deals in a similar price range for hotels that are closer to the city center and where you get a bit more for your money. The parking garage was scary, as it was fully booked, and parking was for experts only (or small cars). Service was not too bad, but the bathroom was not clean when we moved in. Well, again, pretty average, nothing that upset us, but we found that for that price you can do better

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guests from London,

thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in Salzburg. We are sorry to hear that we could not fully meet your expectations regarding your stay.
We hope the Accor Chain can welcome you again in future in one of our properties.

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mercure Salzburg Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg Central

Address: Sterneckstrasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Dorint Salzburg)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#29 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg Central 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg Central is easy to reach by car or public transport, with Getreidegasse, Mirabell Garden, the historical center, Linzergasse and the main train station just a few minutes' walk away. This 4-star hotel in the city of Mozart is ideally located for cultural trips, city breaks and short stays. One of the reasons why the conference and seminar hotel is so highly rated among business guests is its proximity to the conference center, exhibition center and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Mercure Salzburg Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg Kapuzinerberg Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg Kapuzinerberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salzburg Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.