We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice long weekend in Salzburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg Central

Save Saved
You added Mercure Salzburg Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mercure Salzburg Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sterneckstrasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Dorint Salzburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice long weekend in Salzburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We spent three nights in the hotel. Our impressions were definitely positive from the beginning.
We got a quiet double room with a view to the Kapuzinerberg (That was our request at the booking.) with minibar, hairdryer, coffee maker, safe, and air-condition. (We booked the room with the cheapest “book early” option, but based on former hotel information, air-condition would cost extra 15€/night, so it was a nice surprise for us.) The furniture was modern, and the room was furnished choicely. Though a wing of the building is actually being renovated, it was not disturbing at all during our stay.
I think the location of the hotel is also adequate for tourists. - It takes about 10-15 minutes to get to the main station with the Obus line Nr. 2 or to the historic city center on foot.
The stuff was very nice and helpful, and we could buy our Salzburg Cards when we checked in the hotel.
Restaurant: We had only dinner here. The assortment of the menus was not very large, but the quality of the food totally compensated it. + The waiter spoke Hungarian too. :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear Bandus,
thank you very much for taking time for your rewiew.
We are more than happy to hear that wou enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you visit us again in Salzburg

The Mercure Team and Thomas Baliamis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    256
    119
    36
    22
See reviews for
141
245
41
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I spent five nights in this hotel in the beautiful city of Salzburg.

The staff in the hotel were helpful and courteous. However we would like to make a few observations:
1. The main disadvantage was the location in a semi-industrial area which was about 20 minutes walk from the centre of town and even further from the old town.
2. On our arrival we found that the basin in the bathroom was completely blocked. Eventually my husband managed to do a ‘plunging’ job which was successful and the blockage did not return.
3. The curtain rail in our room was broken: this caused the curtains to not fully close which let the daylight in in the morning
4. There was no net curtain or blind in the bedroom which caused a certain lack of privacy. The room was therefore either in daylight or semi darkness.
5. There was no public Internet access but wi-fi was available if one had a laptop.
6. The plates supplied for breakfast were very small so if one wanted a full breakfast one would need two plates or go for a second helping.
7. The selection of toiletries was somewhat miserly.
8. The toilet paper was very coarse like sandpaper. We would recommend supplying your own.

Apart from these factors we had a very pleasant stay and enjoyed Salzburg very much.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear Andrew and Jenny

thank you for your comments. We will take them into our considerations to improve our service. We hope you will visit us again in the future to give us the chance to present you our new hotel and the service.

Best regards to UK
Thomas Baliamis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Hi

We went to Austria in 2010 August, and we made our bookings quite early. So no doubt we got this hotel at non-refundable, but quite low rates (almost 2/3 of their original ones). So we were bit skeptical about their services. But.. wow, what a hotel... and what services! The rooms were quite huge, had an extra bed.. which we didnt use. They gave us a room with stunning views. The English breakfast was quite enormous.. with lots of variety. What better you could ask!

But the winner (and the reason we'ld like to stay in this hotel again) is this one - we had our train the last day of checkout quite early in the morning, so we couldnt have the breakfast on the last day. So we just asked them if they could adjust the same with anything else. They suggested a meal packed for the next day lunch, which we happily agreed as we were travelling almost the whole day - sightseeing, tours etc. And we were quite surprised what they packed - huge meal for 2, and some for our kid. Includes fruits, sandwiches, breakfast bars, chocolates etc etc etc... we had to finish them by diner :-). I was quite amazed by their hospitality, and even booking at such low rates we got more than something to cheer for!

The other benefit was the location, it was quite close to the local market and the spot from where all the tours depart. The only drawback I could see is, this is hefty 1 mile away from the station. So takes some time and effort if you are on foot. Neverthless, I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Salsburg.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear Jimmy

thank you for your great and detailed review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the service of our team. Hoppfully we can welcome you again in the future in Salzburg or in another Mercure Hotel in Austria

Best regards to Brussels
The Mercure Taeam and Thomas Baliamis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wassenaar
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Our family stayed for one night in Sazburg Mercure Hotel. Unfortunatly, our experince was really bad. We had four rooms in the first floor all of them have their window scenary to the garbage dumb of the hotel just down the windows. One of the rooms had a very bad smell from the carpet which was wet, and we asked for a replacement and the first staff person said that this was not possible because the hotel was full. NO sign of regret was shown. Then somebody higher in the reception desk came to the room and sniffed the smill and admitted it but also said that they are fully booked. After some talks, he offered another smaller dirty room with no mini-bar. We accepted that, but the big surprise was at 8:30 in the morning when drilling sounds started right in the next wall!! renovations!! Yes, but that was never mentioned before.Honestly speaking, we felt cheated at this hotel. Another surprise was that this FOUR stars hotel had no airconditioning while the weather was really hot.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg Central, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear Wassenaar,

we regret that we could not fullfill your expectations. At the moment are just our Executive rooms renovated. The Standard rooms have the classic look of Salzburg. After the renovation will have aircondition in the whole hotel. In Europe is Aircondition not a must for a 4* hotel.
We hope we will welcome you again next summer in Salzburg in our brand new hotel

Thomas Baliamis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Salzburg Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg Central

Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg Kapuzinerberg Hotel
Mercure Salzburg Kapuzinerberg Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg Kapuzinerberg
Mercure Salzburg
Address: Sterneckstrasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Dorint Salzburg)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#13 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg Central 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel offering 139 rooms. The Mercure Hotel Salzburg Kapuzinerberg is located in the north east of Salzburg, only 1.5 kilometres from the historic town centre and only 8 kilometres from the international airport. The hotel features a lounge bar, one restaurant, 6 meeting rooms, a parking garage, a sauna, steam bath and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure Salzburg Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salzburg Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.