We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Markus Sittikus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Markus Sittikus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Markus Sittikus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Markus Sittikus Strasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Odessa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very nice hotel in a great location. Love to stay there again. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Hotel is near the train station and many sites. Very well run hotel. Cozy bar and cafe as well. Kind of Old World which I really love.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Inhaber at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a positive feedback for our Hotel Markus Sittikus. We are pleased to hear that you had such a great stay. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    105
    47
    19
    14
See reviews for
32
94
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a visit to Salzburg. The hotel is very close to the train station only about 10 minutes walk. Rooms are smaller but clean and look to be newly remodeled. There is a breakfast in the morning consisting of various meats, cheeses, cereal, and juices. The hotel also offers free wi fi which is a plus.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay in our hotel Markus Sittikus!Thank you also for the statement of the cleaness our rooms and our rich breakfast buffet. Our staff tries everyday their very best to make your stay as perfect as possible. We are very pleased that our service met your expectations.
We would be glad to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

There were a few reviews I read beforehand that made me think twice about booking here, but I found very little wrong with this hotel. The room carpet had been well used and ageing and slightly tatty decor possibly are a problem for some people. There are two doors to enter each room which meant I could hear no noise from the corridor and with a comfortable bed, I had very pleasant sleeps. There is a 10 minute walk to town but this is balanced by being closer to the bahnhof. I couldn't find a suitable restaurant close by on a Sunday night so ended up going back into town centre, but this was a fairly minor problem. I would stay here again for sure if returning to Salzburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Inhaber at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the nice and positive feedback you gave us.
But in case our guests couldn´t find a suitable restaurant our staff would be glad to assisst you for finding the right choice. We would be happy tp welcome you again in our hotel!

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had a really good stay here, the staff were so helpful. Only gripe that I had was that the bed was too soft for me, but that is just a personal thing!
The breakfast was very good and offered a huge selection to set you up for the day, we skipped lunch most days answered had such a large breakfast!
The only other complaint was that their Internet is incredibly slow! Apart from that the hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a larger room as we were staying longer than their average guest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time giving us such a nice and positive feedback. You are right, some rooms of the hotel were remodeled last year. Thank you also for mentioning our diversified breakfast buffet. Normally the internet is pretty good, next time please tell us when there is a problem with the connection, so we can solve the problem right away.
We would be pleased to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and the staff were very friendly and very helpful with local restaurants and maps. The breakfast is delicious also.
It is very close to the train station, Salzburg hbf, approximately 800m by Google maps, about a 10 minute walk. Central to all the main locations in town and has fantastic WiFi in your room! It's extremely fast and free.The bathroom is very clean.
The beds however were not that comfortable.
Definitely recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben unser Hotel so positiv zu bewerten.

Wir freuen uns, dass Ihnen der Aufenthalt so gut gefallen hat. Danke auch für die positive Hervorhebung unseres freundlichen Personals, welches stets bemüht ist Ihnen den Aufenthalt so angenehm wie möglich zu machen, sowie die Sauberkeit unseres Hotels.

Es tut uns jedoch leid zu hören, dass für Sie unsere Betten so unbequem waren. Wir bitten Sie uns Ihre konkreten Wünsche bei der nächsten Reservierung vorab bekannt zu geben damit wir Ihren Aufenthalt so angenehm und bequem wie möglich gestalten können.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Geschäftsführerin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in the spring. Great location. 10 minute walk to train station or you can catch bus. Very friendly, helpful staff. Room lovely decorated but small. Ultra clean. Very nice breakfast. Many choices for breakfast. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for taking the time writing this positive feedback for our hotel. Thank you also for pointing out the things you liked particularly. Our staff is always trying to do their best making your stay as comofrtable as possible. In case the room was to small, our guests have also the possibility to book a double room for single use.
We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The only best thing about this hotel is its staff. Ms Jutta, Mr. Gerrad and other gals at the reception were very helpful and efficient. But believe me the staff was only the good thing about this hotel. I booked this hotel since it was rated as a 4 star hotel on Trip Advisor. But there is nothing which was 4 star or forget even one star. The Trip Advisor showed photos of hotel which made the hotel look grand and big but there was nothing grand about the hotel. The hotel is a group hotel of Villa Carlton but it was like a country motel or highway inn. The rooms were badly furnished and too small. The bathroom was tiny. Quality of toiletries was bad. The bar and lounge were well furnished and very cosy, wish they had furnished the rooms the same way. Anyways, thanks to the staff (especially Jutta) my stay was not very uncomfortable. Had it not been for the good staff, I would have checked out. Special thank you for the staff.

Room Tip: If possible avoid this property as its not worth a 4 star rating. If u r looking for luxurious 4 sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Inhaber at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in our Hotel Markus Sittikus! We feel very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay and would like to take a stand on a few points. It is correct that not all of our rooms has been renewed yet. The Markus Sittikus Hotel has been partly refurbished last year and the other part is going to get refurbished in the near future as well. We would like to inform you that our hotel is never been indicated in any official hotel description as a big hotel, because we are a individual, small and cosy place. Our sister Hotel Villa Carlton is designed in a totally different way, very modern and stylish. We appreciate very much that you pointed out our staff. Our whole staff is very keen to support good service and make the stay of our guests unique and comfortable. Concerning your complaint about the amount and qualities of our toiletries we kindly inform you that there is a variety of different articles available at our front desk, if requested. All in all we thank you for your time to leave this comment, because we take complaints of our guests very seriously.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Markus Sittikus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Markus Sittikus

Address: Markus Sittikus Strasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Markus Sittikus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
air condition: No fridge in room: No bike rental: Yes ironing: Yes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Markus Sittikus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markus Sittikus Hotel
Markus Sittikus Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Markus Sittikus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.