We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good convenient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Markus Sittikus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Markus Sittikus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Markus Sittikus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Markus Sittikus Strasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good convenient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This was a nice hotel, close to the railway station and the Mirabell gardens. We had one of the themed rooms which was lovely.
Breakfast was good but expensive - we regretted booking it as for less money we could have had breakfast at the Hotel Sacher overlooking the river.

Room Tip: Definitely worth asking for a themed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review. It is always good to hear when guests enjoyed their stay. We would be pleased to welcome you again in our house.

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    119
    55
    22
    15
See reviews for
31
94
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Spent a week staying in the Markus Sittikus during my stay in Salzburg. I would describe this hotel as very average. We stayed at the hotel just after it had been closed for refurbishment, although it didnt appear to have been 'refurbished' very much. On arrival at the hotel, there are steps that you have to climb to reach the hotels reception- this is quite awkward when you have to lug a heavy suitcase up and doesnt seem to have been very well thought out.

I found the hotel to be quite dated in terms of decor, especially considering it had just been refurbished. We stayed in a twin room and the beds were quite small, which did give me the impression of more of an upmarket hostel rather than a hotel. Having said that, the room and the bathroom were both very clean and couldnt be faulted on that level. I think it would also be an idea for the rooms to have tea/coffee making facilities.

The Staff in the hotel were very friendly and were always on hand to answer any questions etc. I also think that you get a good choice for breakfast.

I think that although I felt this to be an average hotel, you do get what you pay for. However, I do feel that there are a wide variety of other hotels to choose from so if I was to return to Salzburg, the Markus Sittikus would not be my first choice of hotel.

As an aside from the hotel, for anyone who is travelling to Salzburg who is a fan of The Sound of Music, I would definitely recommend 'The Sound of Music Tour', which we went on through Panoroma Tours. This was a lot of fun and was definitely worth it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Markus Sittikus, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel and for pointing out the friendliness of our staff.
The hotel was partially refurnished in February and so not all rooms shine in new splendour. The twin rooms were refurnished three years ago, are thus not brand new, but - as you state - clean. Actually the beds are standard size in Europe (90x200), but we will try to consider this aspect for the next renovation.
We are aware of the fact that the steps leading up to the reception are a bit impractical, but the hotels history dates back to the 19th century and a barrier-free entrance is constructionally not possible.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and just wanted to inform you that tea and coffee is available 24 hours: either you ask at the reception or, at nights, you find tea and coffee free of charge in the living room on the ground floor.
We would be glad if you stayed in our hotel again next time you return to Salzburg and then we will guarantee you a newly renovated room.

Best regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl/Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Hi

I just got back from austria and I just wanted to say to people that go there ...make sure you get in WRITING ...what their charges are ...because they told me i would be charged for any tea i wanted during the day which was fine and it would be 2 euro 30 cents and they told me that if i use my OWN TEA BAG then there is no charge for water and the sugar and the cup they provide at reception BEFORE 10PM ...also AFTER 10pm all the tea and sugar etc is FREE ..! That all sounded fine to me but when i came to pay the bill for the hotel stay they charged me 2 euro 30 cents for tea i never had and then they said to me that i used the plate and the water etc ..In the end they didnt charge me but i think they seem to make their own rules which to me was quite unfair ! SO CHECK UP ON ALL THIS AND GET IT IN WRITING !! I did feel messed about because they need to put that in writing to all the people there.

The hotel was probably more a 3 star plus than a four star ..I would say the crown plaza which was round the corner was more a 4 star plus for sure !! The rooms were very small and compact but were clean and the heating was very good too ! The location was very good too 10 mins walk from the main centre and I would say it was ok in price too ...you dont want to pay too much for a place just to sleep there for a few hours ..but thats an independent choice.

The breakfast was the same each day the cornflakes the breads the cheeses etc ...but that was ok with me ! The lift was very tiny but there was access to stairs if you are claustrophobic. After 10pm there is noone at reception but if you dial *91 then it connects you to the next hotel which takes your calls !The hotel is a bit hidden as its on a side street so its not a busy area which some people are ok with but some not! The place does look like the pictures and its a safe location ..single women will be fine there !I would define it as a cheap budget hotel type ...good for saving your money and getting an ok service!

The location is the most attractive quality about the hotel ...its 10 mins away from the train stations ..20 mins from the airport and you take the number 2 bus straight outside the hotel and the bank is on the opposite side ...and the cheaper food if you want to save money too was near the train station and its probably a quarter the price of the food in the centre so its well worth saving the money as i found the food to be expensive in austria !

You must see austria ..its really beautiful ... its a shame it wasnt multi cultural as other countries it gave me the impression they didnt like foreigners too much after watching their tv and not seeing too many foreigners there or they didnt want them to overstay in the country .. but the mountains and the places were beautiful for sure...! :)

Room Tip: in order to choose a good room DO READ THE TRIP ADVISOR ...its really worth reading about it before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Claimed to be four star. Only rates two stars to us. No staff after 22.00 hrs. Use your room key to get into Hotel !!!!
Room was a shock, enough to spoil stay, not what we expected. Very old furniture, Toilet unstable. Noisy central heating and plumbing.
Overall poor value. Breakfast extra and 12 Euro (did not partake).
Would not use again or recommend. Staff were very pleasant.
Should not be listed on websites.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribbean
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

this hotel was uncomfortable overall, first, we arrived with our luggages and we had to climb a stair to reach the front desk, then one elevator super tiny, they gave us two twin beds that made it really uncomfortable for us to sleep, the bed had a wooden frame that was overlapping the bed to the point that I came back with bruises all over from hitting myself constantly, staff at least is nice, breakfast is average, is okey, location is good, but you have other hotels nicer in the area like the crowne plaza is right in the corner, is close to the departing point for the tours, which is mirabell platz, parking is like four blocks aways, so uncomfortable, they close the front desk at night so you have no service in case you have any problems, i requested an iron and was told i needed to go downstairs and iron it there but could not take the iron to the room, they didnt changed the bedsheets the next morning and it even had a hole, bed was like sleeping in concrete, I put a comforter below but the girl that cleaned the room took it away next morning, including and extra pillow there was, pillows were a nightmare too, came out with neck pain , when we arrived the girl gave me the key to the room but when i went upstairs it was not ready, so had to leave the luggage there with the girl cleaning it because i had to leave on a tour right away, nice restaurants in the area too, staff was always very nice and helpful,, that compensated a bit how bad the experience was with the hotel, wont stay here again, they arranged our tours, that was nice, they were there ontime picking us up at hotel, we had to pay in cash the tours because it was another company, we couldnt pay with credit card, that was a downfall, but after that it was fine since the tours were well worth it, but if we go back to salzburg we wont stay there again, although location is good because is a 10-15 minutes walk to the old part of the city, bedsheets were dirty next day, they didnt change it and if they did the other ones were dirty, no ammenities in the bathroom, just a small soap and small bottle of shampoo

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

The eponymous Markus Sittikus named for the archbishop, is located very close to the Mirabell Palace and Gardens. Was one we booked once we reached the train station in Salzburg. We felt it was a great find for us. The staff spoke English, which helped since my German is not very good. The room was very nice. The bed, being in the European style of a lower bed frame, would be a bit challenging for anyone with difficulty getting up from a crouching position. The owner/concierge/front desk person gave us a great recommendation for a restaurant a block away. The breakfast, part of the room price, was a good typical German style "Frühstück".
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Unfortunately the week we stayed at this hotel the day temperature was in the mid 30's and the rooms were very uncomfortable to sleep in at night. We had to ask for a fan.
No airconditioning of refrigerator in room. They are really not set up to handle the hot weather.
The room was small but adequate. We had a big problem with the shower as the water was slow to drain away. We reported the problem and they attempted to fix it the next day but were unsuccessful and so we had to endure this for the balance of our stay. Room was reasonably quiet . Very tiny lift. Free WiFi. No tea/coffee facility. Staff were accomodating. We only had breakfast in the Hotel on one occassion which was basic but we preferred to eat in cafes two streets over which was fantastic. The hotel is situated about a 25minute walk fron Railway station and 5 minutes from the Mirabell Gardens and 15-20minutes from old centre. Plenty of eateries and restaurants in old area. Mid price range Hotel for area.
Would be much better in cooler weather.

Room Tip: If its hot ask for a fan before they run out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Markus Sittikus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Markus Sittikus

Address: Markus Sittikus Strasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Markus Sittikus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
air condition: No fridge in room: No bike rental: Yes ironing: Yes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Markus Sittikus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markus Sittikus Hotel
Markus Sittikus Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Markus Sittikus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.