We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salzburg Mercure stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Salzburg City to your Saves list
Mercure Salzburg City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save
Ranked #43 of 136 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reading
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Salzburg Mercure stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Excellent location, fantastic service and quality of facilities, including the room.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    328
    140
    36
    16
See reviews for
148
311
39
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Reception was rude and extremely unhelpful
Beds are extremely hard (this is a standard for Mercure hotels)
Did not aford us a late check out they wanted to charge use even though we are both Aclub Platinum Members
Internet access was not available for the entire stay 4 days
Had christmas eve dinner there menu food was very poor quality and service again very bad they would take your meal away even if you had not finished did not bother to ask

If in Salzburg I would not stay here again
Thing to do in Salzburg
Christmas martkets a must
Brewery a must
Fortress a must
Silent night Chapel tour for Christmas Eve

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

I stayed at the Mercure shortly before Christmas. The lobby was decorated beautifully. The hotel was full and yet the staff was very pleasant and made the experience enjoyable. Both mornings we had a fantastic brunch in the restaurant with many types of breads, fruits, lox, juices, etc - it was a great way to start the day.

I definitely recommend the Mercure if you need to be in Salzburg; it was within walking distance of many locations and yet was quiet and peaceful inside.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edlinger, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments and your rateing! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and especially that you liked our breakfast offer.
We hope you will always remember this stay with a smile on your face and look forward welcoming you soon again in Salzburg
Daniela Edlinger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

The hotel had a very pleasant lobby. The room (room 115) was a nice room size and very clean.
2 single beds pushed together to make a double. In-room safe, mini-bar.
Bathrooms have shower/bath. Quite high to get into. Toilets are also placed on a difficult angle. Good shower pressure.
Receptionist was very helpful. She gave us a map and circled the best parts of Salzburg, explained the bus system to get to the city centre and even sold us tickets as a discounted rate.
Free parking was available or $11 a day for undercover parking.
It was about a 5 minute bus ride to the city, or a 15 minute walk.
Free internet available in the lobby.
Buffet breakfast available for €15, which was absolutely lovely. Everything you could imagine.
Free shoe shine machine also in hotel corridor.
Seems like a safe area, as is most of Austria.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edlinger, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Dear Tim&Kath,
it's great to read the impression we left on your stay in Salzburg! We are really happy to hear, that you enjoyed staying with us! Thanks for posting the pictures as well - I am happy to inform you that we have replaced the shower-curtains in all rooms this year.
We also have rooms with grand-lit, please let us know next time if you prefere this type of bed.

With best regards to Auckland
Daniela Edlinger & Mercure Salzburg City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

The hotel is about a 15-20 min walk from the old town centre in a quite part of town. There is parking at the hotel so it is useful for travellers with cars. It is also close to the hofbahnhof (about 10-15mins walk away). While the hotel is a little far from the old town, Salzburg is a small city and there are not many affordable hotels closer to the old town.

As expected from a chain hotel, the rooms are clean and a good size.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edlinger, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 27, 2010
Thank you for your comments on your stay.
Indeed Salzburg is small - still 15 walkingminutes can be alot for somebody being tired sightseeing! Apart from taking a cab to go back to our hotel (€ 7-€ 10) you also can take bus 21 stop "Paracelsusstraße" - You can get daytickets at our hotelreception!
Looking forward welcoming you again in the City of Mozart
Daniela Edlinger & Mercure Salzburg City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#44 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#65 of 136 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#38 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#27 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#29 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#29 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#30 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#32 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg City Hotel is situated in peaceful, leafy surroundings, not far from the hustle and bustle around Mozart & Co. Whether you're visiting the Salzburg Festival or the Red Bull Arena, the hotel is in the ideal location, easily reached bypublic transport or by car. Those who yearn for indulgence and peace in between soaking up art and culture or attending seminars and meetings will get what they are looking for in the Le Sel restaurant - prized for its cuisine and fine wine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salzburg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.