We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Salzburg City to your Saves list
Mercure Salzburg City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save
Ranked #44 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for three night and found the hotel very satisfactory. The reception staff as well as the housekeeping staff were polite and very obliging. The room was very clean and the room had all the necessary appointments including tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel was a short stroll to the Old Town and an even shorter stroll in another direction to the train station.
There are few restaurants in the immediate vicinity, but there was a well patronised Thai restaurant opposite.
Breakfast was buffet style and came with a more than adequate selection.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the street may be quieter, but it seems as if people 'go to bed with the cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    293
    130
    35
    15
See reviews for
132
281
37
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here back in December 14 for a long weekend, and was very pleased. We arrived quite a bit earlier than the allowed check in time, but the staff were very helpful and allowed us to check in as our room was ready.

For us the location was great, about 10 - 15 minute walk to the main attractions of a beautiful city, the room was clean and tidy. Hotel staff were great and very helful

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Darren S,

we thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor and will share this with pleasure with our team members. For them it is an outstanding reward for their work.

We hope we can welcome you back in the summer time in Salzburg.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helier
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A Friday,been out all day to come back to a Hotel with the BAR closed and also the RESTAURANT...what type of hotel is that...a CRAP one !!..excuse is there is another Mercure around the corner that is open...its raining so a great option!!.
The room needs redecorating, the shower is useless and the breakfast overpriced.
CAUTION...stay at this hotel at your peril.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear guests,

we thank you for your time taking to write your review on tripadvisor.
We regret that you have not felt comfortable during your stay last weekend. In Mercure Salzburg City we have standard rooms as well as superior rooms that are renovated and can be booked with an extra charge of 15 € / night. As the last weekend the Mercure Salzburg City had no reservations in its restaurant we have opened the restaurant in Mercure Salzburg Central for our guests. We apologize that this had been not an option for you.

We hope Accor can welcome you back in one of their properties around the world.

Kind regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Though the rooms are spacious but service/bathroom/wifi is just not good. The shower is so slow that you can use it. Wifi is free but unbelievably slow. Breakfast for vegetarians is not enough and if you ask to get something they would straight away say no to you, will not even try to get something which they can manage easily.
The propert is also old and little out of the tourist destinations, one should opt for this hotel if they are coming for a business trip or if all the hotels are full.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear JaiD,

thank you for your time writing you review on tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that we could not meet your expecations on your stay here in Salzburg. Furthermore let me apologize that our service team in the restaurant could not fullfill the requirments you have had on a vegetarian breakfast. We will talk to our F&B Manager to find solutions on this topic.

We hope Accor can welcome you back one time soon in one of their properties.

Kind regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This modern hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the railway station and 15 minutes to the centre of town. Rooms are modern an bright, as is reception area. Breakfast room a little chinzy, but OK. Staff were friendly enough, however my main gripe about this hotel was at check in. We had booked through Expedia, and chosen a superior double room with breakfast. However on arrival my wife and I were told that there were only twins, and our booking was subject to availability. However we could upgrade to a graden view double for 10 euros per night. It was only after protesting and showing my email confirmation booking from Expedia that we were given the double without further payment. We were in a group, and several others had the same experiene. So watch out for this. A shame really, because otherwise the hotel was not bad, The room was OK but not enormous, and the whole hotel was rather hot, with the A/C turned off, therefore we needed the window open, which meant it was a bot noisy.

Room Tip: Don't be bullied into upgrading for what you have booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Martinidoc,

we thank you for your review on tripadvisor and appreciate reading that you after all enjoyed your stay with us. At Expedia the bedding type in our superior category is upon request and we always try to do our best to fullfill all the whishes of our guests. We are sorry to hear that we could not meet your desired bedding type at first.

We hope you still could enjoy Salzburg.

Kind regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#24 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#30 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel offers 121 comfortable rooms in the centre of Salzburg, the city of Mozart. Quiet and centrally located, only a few minutes walk from the historic old town. Take the Salzburg North exit from the A1 motorway. Restaurant and bar with terrace, airconditioned meeting rooms and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salzburg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.