We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Salzburg City to your Saves list
Mercure Salzburg City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #48 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Horrible service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went to Salzsburg with a group of 22 people, I was the guide of the Tour Operator who accompanied them. The TO booked in advance at Hotel Mercure City, and 3 days before I sent an email to reconfirm that everything was all right. They answered to me that everything was confirmed.

When I arrived at Mercure City, with all the 22 people behind me with their luggage, I gave the voucher to the receptionist and for 10 minutes she kept saying she couldn't find the reservation. At the end she found out that they made a mistake and they booked us in the other hotel, Hotel Mercure Central. That's very ridicoulous because 1. they never mentioned the Central in any of their emails / confirmation / voucher and 2. I wrote them 3 days before and still they didn't mention that anywhere, they wrote from Hotel Mercure City and I still have the email. Anyway, I had to tell all the people to go back on the bus and drive to the other hotel. The hotel never apologized, when I asked them why they made a mistake and how that happened, they kept saying it was the reservation departmen's fault...

I don't know who exactly made the mistake, but that's unacceptable for a 4 stars hotel and especially considering that it was a group of a big and known Tour Operator!

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, 1 week ago
To whom it may concern,

we have noted your posting on tripadvisor even if you have not stayed in Mercure Salzburg City. Within this reply we do not take any position to answer any of your mention points. The group booking had been confirmed per written / signed contract for the Mercure Salzburg Central. The failure is based within your company and had been never admitted from your side towards your own guests.The way our staff in both Mercure Hotels, Central as well as City, had been treated is shown in your statement. We regret that you, as a part of the hospitality industry as well as a contracted partner use tripadvisor as tool to spread a certain opinion.

Kind regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    270
    125
    33
    13
See reviews for
120
260
32
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent hotel. Very friendly service. Very fast check-in and check-out. Within very easy walking distance of the Hauptbahnhof and the city center. Spacious clean bedroom with a very comfortable bed and bathroom. Good shower. Blackout curtains. Kettle in the room, so you could make your own hot drinks. Good Wi-Fi. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Anja S,

with pleasure we have read your review on tripadvisor. We really thank you for your rewarding words for our team member as well as our newly renovated superior rooms. These recommendations are very useful for all the other user to take their decision.

We hope you can welcome you again back here in Salzburg.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel, excellent service, very well located. In other words, the relation cost/benefit couldn't be better. It is at a walking distance to the Historic Centre, where you can find several stores, the Mozart House and good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Rehomen,

we appreciate reading your short and recommending review! We will share your comments with our staff and hope we can welcome you one time soon back here in Salzburg.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having only arrived in Salzburg, Mercure hotel staff were helpful with directions to the old city and available tours. Friendly helpful service makes for a pleasurable stay. The walk to the old city from the hotel is only 10min and the train station is located within the same walking distance. There are also supermarkets along the way.

Room Tip: All rooms would be good as the hotel is located in a quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear KittyTasmania,

thank you for the time to write your great review. We appreciate your recommendations for other users as well as the decriptions!
With pleasure we share your feedback with our team members and hope we can welcome you back one time soon.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for four nights with my girlfriend. Hotel is a short walk from the train station and has convenient bus stops that go to both the old town and the airport near by. However, it's a fair distance to walk into the town so the location isn't that convenient if you prefer to explore a new city by foot.
Staff were friendly and helpful when checking in/out and when booking day trips.
The room was clean and tidy but the hotel seems to be quite dated and some aspects are in need of renovation.
Only complaint I have from the stay was that the room was not made up on one day. Reception was very quick to send up fresh towels and apologise with a small box of chocolates though.
Overall, not bad but I would stay in a more modern hotel closer to old town in future.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road as it can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mcconneticut:111

thank you for your descriptive review on tripadvisor. With pleasure we will share your feedback with our staff and happy to hear that we could make your stay comfortable. We regret that we have missed to offer you an upgrade in our newly renovated superior rooms (15 € per night).

Hopefully you give us a try the next time in the renovated rooms.

Kind regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is good. Buffet dinner is good as well. Room is ok, but needs to clean the carpet. Bathroom is also ok. It is a little bit noisy if your room faces the road. It's a good hotel for its price. If you are not that picky, then this hotel is a good place to stay in.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Ed Oliver Y,

thank you for your short descriptive review on tripadvisor. We thank you for your recommendation for other guests. Maybe the next time you want to give our newly renovated superior rooms a try!

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel offers 121 comfortable rooms in the centre of Salzburg, the city of Mozart. Quiet and centrally located, only a few minutes walk from the historic old town. Take the Salzburg North exit from the A1 motorway. Restaurant and bar with terrace, airconditioned meeting rooms and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salzburg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.