We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit back to '90” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A bit back to '90”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Quite outdated but alright hotel if the price is right. Nice sides: 10-15 min walk from main station and 15-20 to downtown, couple of supermarkets around, tea/coffee facilities in the room. And one of the best Wi-Fi connections I had in hotels lately.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Andrey P,

thank you for sharing your comment on tripadvisor about your stay. We appreciate your positive feedback and decription. We hope we can welcome you soon in the future in Salzburg or in another Accor property.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    234
    113
    26
    12
See reviews for
93
218
27
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The location is a bit off-center, but at that price, I guess anyone can live with that. On the other hand, service is top-notch, personnel is most helpful - go to the bar for a bucket of ice, and they will offer you wine glasses. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Ricardo T,

thank you a lot for the positive words. We are more than happy to share them with our team!

It is a pleasure to read that we could welcome you a second time with us.

We wish you and your family Merry Christmas and a happy new Year.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in September while visiting Salzburg as tourists. I had looked up quite a few hotels in Salzburg and finally zeroed in on the Mercure - both from cost and location perspectives.

Our 'check-in' was not great - even though we arrived after the check-in time it was taking a long time for the room to get readied and allotted to us. After we complained a little, we were offered to have a drink or two 'on the house' in the bar. While that's okay, we still ended up waiting for an hour or so for the room to get ready. That was probably the only 'negative' about the stay.

The room was fine, a little on the smaller side but that was okay because we didn't expect to spend long hours in the room anyway. The room could benefit with better lighting inside though - it can get really dark and that's not something you want - especially when you're packing to leave.

From a location perspective, it's probably a 15 minute walk from the center of the city or to Mirabell gardens. There is bus connectivity as well so getting around to-and-fro was absolutely not an issue.

I would recommend the Mercure as a place to stay in for sure. Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guests from India,

thank you for the time to write your review about your stay at the Mercure Salzburg City.
We apologize for the inconvience that we have caused you at the beginning of your stay!

We are looking forward welcoming you the next time you are in Salzburg.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed only 1 night and had a good experience. Check in was smooth and trouble free.

Asked for non-smoking rooms. However, cigarette smell was present at the corridor on rooms level. Rooms seem to have been recently renovated, nice and clean. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was fine and everything in working order. Just like the normal Mercure standard. Welcome drinks vouchers given for Accor members.

Wifi was free and worked in the rooms as well. TV programmes mostly European and only 1 English news channel.

Location of the hotel is not very far from the train station. Walking instructions which took about 10 minutes given by the hotel is as follows:

- leave the main train station through the main exit
- turn left and follow the street to the traffic lights
- turn left at the lights and walk left through the railway tunnel
- keep walking straight "Gabelsbergerstrasse"
- the street makes a slight turn left and you will see traffic lights
- turn left at the traffic lights into Bayerhamerstrasse
- after 200 m you see our hotel on the right hand side

We found another short cut though. Instead of exiting the main train station, walk in the opposite direction which leads to a tunnel that cuts across the railway tracks and platforms above and exit by walking up a flight of stairs. Cross the road and turn left and walk along Lastenstrasse then turn right into Breitenfelderstrasse and walk on. Finally turn right and walk along Bayerhamerstrasse to reach Mercure on the left. Walking time to reach the hotel is about 5 to 7 minutes.

To reach the old town, turn left at the hotel and walk along Bayerhamerstrasse to reach Schallmooser Huaptstrasse turn right and walk straight ahead to cross the bridge into the tourist spots.

We paid slightly over 50 euro without breakfast per room for a night stay when booked early which was a good deal. Customer service was excellent too. A good Accor hotel to stay within easy walking distance from train station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guests from Singapur,

thank you for your detailed review!
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Salzburg and we will pass your feedback to our staff members.

We hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

When I travel for my work, I always choose hotels with a restaurant, because I don't feel like going out on my own in the evening. I realize I have to give in on quality, but I gain on convenience. Having said that, the low standard of quality at the restaurant of the Mercure Salzburg City was not what I bargained for. I gave my order for a drink. More than 15 minutes went by, the waiter muttered something about a group of Americans, brought me my drink (1/8 of wine instead of 1/4 and still water instead of sparkling). Then they brought my main course, forgetting about the starter. I ended up having my starter after the main course. When I brought this up with the waitress, she gave some sort of lame apology. The waiter, however, was apparently man enough to make mistakes, but not to come over and apologize. When I checked out and mentioned what happened, the receptionist said: Ï'll have to find out what went wrong". Other than that, room was fine, shower in the bath.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest from the Netherlands,

first of all let me apologize for the experience you have had during your stay in our restaurant.
Please be assured that this is not the Mercure standard that we want to represent in the F&B section. We will discuss your feedback with our team in order to improve our service!

We hope we can welcome you again to give us the second possibility to convience you of our service.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel
Accor Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg
Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel offers 121 comfortable rooms in the centre of Salzburg, the city of Mozart. Quiet and centrally located, only a few minutes walk from the historic old town. Take the Salzburg North exit from the A1 motorway. Restaurant and bar with terrace, airconditioned meeting rooms and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salzburg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mercure Salzburg City to your Saves list