We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel not far from train station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Save Saved
You added Mercure Salzburg City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel not far from train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed only 1 night and had a good experience. Check in was smooth and trouble free.

Asked for non-smoking rooms. However, cigarette smell was present at the corridor on rooms level. Rooms seem to have been recently renovated, nice and clean. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was fine and everything in working order. Just like the normal Mercure standard. Welcome drinks vouchers given for Accor members.

Wifi was free and worked in the rooms as well. TV programmes mostly European and only 1 English news channel.

Location of the hotel is not very far from the train station. Walking instructions which took about 10 minutes given by the hotel is as follows:

- leave the main train station through the main exit
- turn left and follow the street to the traffic lights
- turn left at the lights and walk left through the railway tunnel
- keep walking straight "Gabelsbergerstrasse"
- the street makes a slight turn left and you will see traffic lights
- turn left at the traffic lights into Bayerhamerstrasse
- after 200 m you see our hotel on the right hand side

We found another short cut though. Instead of exiting the main train station, walk in the opposite direction which leads to a tunnel that cuts across the railway tracks and platforms above and exit by walking up a flight of stairs. Cross the road and turn left and walk along Lastenstrasse then turn right into Breitenfelderstrasse and walk on. Finally turn right and walk along Bayerhamerstrasse to reach Mercure on the left. Walking time to reach the hotel is about 5 to 7 minutes.

To reach the old town, turn left at the hotel and walk along Bayerhamerstrasse to reach Schallmooser Huaptstrasse turn right and walk straight ahead to cross the bridge into the tourist spots.

We paid slightly over 50 euro without breakfast per room for a night stay when booked early which was a good deal. Customer service was excellent too. A good Accor hotel to stay within easy walking distance from train station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guests from Singapur,

thank you for your detailed review!
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Salzburg and we will pass your feedback to our staff members.

We hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    234
    113
    26
    12
See reviews for
93
218
27
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

When I travel for my work, I always choose hotels with a restaurant, because I don't feel like going out on my own in the evening. I realize I have to give in on quality, but I gain on convenience. Having said that, the low standard of quality at the restaurant of the Mercure Salzburg City was not what I bargained for. I gave my order for a drink. More than 15 minutes went by, the waiter muttered something about a group of Americans, brought me my drink (1/8 of wine instead of 1/4 and still water instead of sparkling). Then they brought my main course, forgetting about the starter. I ended up having my starter after the main course. When I brought this up with the waitress, she gave some sort of lame apology. The waiter, however, was apparently man enough to make mistakes, but not to come over and apologize. When I checked out and mentioned what happened, the receptionist said: Ï'll have to find out what went wrong". Other than that, room was fine, shower in the bath.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest from the Netherlands,

first of all let me apologize for the experience you have had during your stay in our restaurant.
Please be assured that this is not the Mercure standard that we want to represent in the F&B section. We will discuss your feedback with our team in order to improve our service!

We hope we can welcome you again to give us the second possibility to convience you of our service.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Comfortable modern and clean hotel max. 20 min. walk from centre of old town. Underground parking available for €11-/night, free wifi & adequate speed. We stayed in a small suite (room 212) which was big enough for 4 people (sofa extended to allow for an additional bed) with view towards the back, hence avoiding busy front side road. No smoking hotel. Breakfast was ample however a little lacklustre. Staff friendly, service OK. Good value considering location and timing. Will be back next time again. Had dinner in Bella Vita just around the corner which was an excellent choice if you are not in a hurry.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for your review on your trip to Salzburg. We are happy to hear that your stay had been enjoyable!

Hope we can welcome you in future in one of an Accor Chain Hotel.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mercure Salzburg City for 6 nights during a trip to Europe. It was one of the nicer hotels we stayed in during our trip and we enjoyed the experience. The room and bathroom were quite spacious, easily the largest we encountered on our entire trip. The employees were tremendously helpful in navigating the city and finding local restaurant gems. The location isn't ideal, but the walk to the train station and older parts of the city are still within 15 minutes. Overall we would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

great to hear that our team could make your long stay in Salzburg comfortable and enjoyable. We will pass your comments and they will be happy to read them!

Hope you will come to Salzburg one time again!

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manger Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel
Accor Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg
Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel offers 121 comfortable rooms in the centre of Salzburg, the city of Mozart. Quiet and centrally located, only a few minutes walk from the historic old town. Take the Salzburg North exit from the A1 motorway. Restaurant and bar with terrace, airconditioned meeting rooms and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salzburg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.