We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find in Salzburg, Germany” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Salzburg City to your Saves list
Mercure Salzburg City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save
Ranked #43 of 136 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good find in Salzburg, Germany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Nice comfortable hotel in quiet location. Beds nice and bathroom well stocked (towels, soap, lotion etc.) Lots of closet space and bench space for suitbags, free wifi. Close to downtown - a brisk 10 minute or more leisurely 15 minute walk, also near bus line. We walked from the train station pulling our bags, a bit of a walk but very doable. Staff quite helpful with good restaurant recommendations. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests from Alaska,

thank you for your positive recommodations regarding the Mercure Salzburg City!
We will share your feedback with our team!

Hope we can welcome you again in the beautiful city of Salzburg,

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    328
    140
    36
    16
See reviews for
148
311
39
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
365 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at Mercure City as part of a group. Reception was clean and well appointed but nothing special. Our room was nice, clean, and the beds comfortable. The bath was nice, fairly roomy by European standards. All in all, very nice indeed. I am not a fan of duvets (I think they are too hot) but made do. I suppose I could have asked for a blanket, but we were only there one night.
Breakfast was very nice with a large array of breads, cheeses, cereals, and my personal favorite - croissants! There was hot food and it looked nice but we eat a simple breakfast when traveling.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear BoilerMarkerBob,

thank you for your positive review. We enjoy reading that you have enjoyed your stay within the Accor Chain!

We hope we can welcome you again in beautiful Salzburg.

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a standard room. It's a very quiet location, and our room overlooked the courtyard. It was less than 10 minutes walk to the town centre.

The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was adequate, and we had a small table & chairs in the bedroom area.

The staff were always helpful & courteous. And it was no bother to leave our bags with them after checkout so we could continue to explore the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guests from Melbourne!

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on tripadvisor! We are more than happy that our staff as well as the hotel could support a comfortable stay in Salzburg.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is certainly not the best hotel in Salzburg, but it has everything a traveler will need. Prices in the area are high in general, but the Mercure Salzburg City had a comfortable room at a reasonable price. While Mercure hotels are not known for luxury, the room was comfortable with plenty of space for our extra luggage. The staff were friendly and helpful, and even the wireless internet worked well. Breakfast was not included in the price or our room, however there are packages that can include it. We did eat breakfast our last day there, and the buffet included most anything one would want. The hotel is located about 15 minutes walking distance from the main part of the city, or a taxi will cost from €5 to €7, depending on traffic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guests from Florida!

thank you for your positive feedback about our Mercure!

Of course we will share your comments with our front desk staff.

We hope we can welcome you in one of our Accor properties again.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were fortunate to get parking out front for our stay free of charge. The hotel is located about a ten minute walk to the centre which was ideal for us. I enjoyed a couple of very pleasant jogs into the centre and down the side of the river. The hotel is a little dated but its clean and good value for Salzburg. We also checked out a local restaurant Die Weiss just a few minute walk from the hotel, great beer and hearty food!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guests from Dublin,

thank you for your positive review! We enjoyed reading that you had a comfortable stay.

Hope we can welcome you again in the future in the renovated Mercure Salzburg City.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel itself is clean and tidy, however it is centred around conferences and business visits. The location was terrible - a 40 minute walk from the edge of the old city which holds all the attractions and restaurants. If you want to go to a restaurant at night, you really need to take a taxi and the location does not really allow for you to pop back in during he day for a quick refresher and more sight seeing.

Train station is also approx 30 minute walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay in the Mercure Salzburg City.
The months of september and october are typical that business guests meets leisure guests in the hotel as within our brand we are not focussed on one partical segment of guests.
To be honest the distances you have mentioned to several points of interest in Salzburg are not quite correct. We do not claim that the hotel is located in the old part of the city but the train station is a 10 minutes walk as well as the Staatsbrücke is a 15 minutes walk. As well as we have a direct public bus connection in front of the hotel.
Nearby are several restaurants,within direct walking distances, that are offering Asian/ Austrian / Indian and Italian cuisine and are very popular even within the native Austrians.

We hope to welcome you in other Accor property in the future.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#44 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#64 of 136 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#38 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#27 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#29 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#29 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#30 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#32 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg City Hotel is situated in peaceful, leafy surroundings, not far from the hustle and bustle around Mozart & Co. Whether you're visiting the Salzburg Festival or the Red Bull Arena, the hotel is in the ideal location, easily reached bypublic transport or by car. Those who yearn for indulgence and peace in between soaking up art and culture or attending seminars and meetings will get what they are looking for in the Le Sel restaurant - prized for its cuisine and fine wine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salzburg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.